Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Couch Convo - The Marriage List.

Wednesday, May 12, 2021

Couch Convo - The Marriage List.

In some tribes in Nigeria, when you want to marry a wife, there is a Marriage list that cannot be overlooked.

This list is shocking . what!!!

25 comments:

1. God forbid such marriage. Even if the bride is Dangote's daughter, I'll gladly pass

🚶‍♂️🚶‍♂️🚶‍♂️

1. Yinmu, u go pass dangote daughter cause of huge marriage list? U this almanjiri, anywhere bele face, u will rather sell your father house to marry her, but I don't think you can ever cone 100m close to his daughter with your dirty,poverty shriken self

2. In my town, the marriage list is totally negotiable. The most important thing is to have parents that are alive and are not greedy. If not, ur groom fit hear am.

3. It will take a long time to change list like this, if you can afford it, pay and marry your bride and if you can', hire purchase is sure for you, within 10years you will complete the payment.

4. This is the reason why many are still single.... And if you talk, they will say it's tradition and it must be respected.

Again look at the people who are always demanding for this items to be meant, their daughters or sons are not legally married but instead just having kids.

Its time this these tribes review the list and remove irrelevant items that goes to people who dont even know if the child exist or ever contributed to her up bringing.

I love my Bini people, no time for too much list. Do what you can do and take your wife home.

1. Any single person that told you list is the reason he or her is single, the person is a BLOODY LIER. Reason being that in those communities, even among the Umunna that produces these lists, there are paupers and very poor villagers who marry with a token. You won't even hear they are getting married sef. No wedding, just the core rites between the families and they proceed with their lives and they are very legally married.

As large as my extended family is, I have only witnessed 4 of my cousin's wedding but at 3 girls are given away every year that we don't hear about. If you ask they say it's because they are poor. When it was time for mined all their eyes shine insisting on list content.

5. All these village guy men elders them,this is their own pension allowance.
    Practising yahoo in traditional style.
    They should start arresting them.
    Making things hard for eligible young men to marry.

1. Lol no be small Yahoo Yahoo and they will secretly give out their children for free

6. You don't need to pay everything, just negotiate with the bride's family and where your hand get to just hang it there and move. Forget those bringing the list cos most of them cannot spend such money.

I believe all that matters is agreement between both families.

7. Bride price lists are always negotiable except the girl's parents are greedy. Again, it's usually the elders of the family that writes the list and not the girl's father. And those ones are always greedy set of prople

8. Umunna and umuada needs to be scrapped out of tradition.

People that will not train ones child but will eat more than the child's parents.

Na this kind of wicked marriage list will make a man to stop his wife from visiting her family or village after marriage.
    The husband will even ignore his wife's family after marriage.

We Igbos have to do something about their lists and stop being wicked and greedy....

This is one of the reasons that made me hate tradition, umunna and everything about village

9. I saw "ego chere"
    Hahahaha.

Please I'm an Ada Ide, I don't know what you talking about,what list?
    There's provision for some items not this lonnnnng list.

Haba mana.

1. Ada ide ibem 🥰😍🤩.

2. I laugh when I see this kind of list. I'm Ada Ide too. My list was a few items o. Bride price was returned. Took out 5 naira only and said that we were not selling our daughter. My driver from Akwa Ibom brought his marriage list, part 1 to part 4, fear catch me.

10. Na me use my own hands to write my own list,my father is late and no uncle that I know of, na me n my mom sit down write wetin we wan collect

1. What tribe are you from ??? Would like to know.. Coz I've not heard of such.

2. Jojo day there,dey follow tradition. This year go make my marriage 16 years

3. BTW,I'm yoruba

11. This comment has been removed by the author.

12. It's negotiable,especially if the bride's father is still alive.

13. Stella the list is negotiable except the bride has greedy parents like my mum. When hubby came for list,my mum told them to make everything double after all I'm her only daughter so make she collect double.she thought that after collecting the double items,she will take the extra and give the other but the joke was on her as women no gree,they said they'll share everything equal.come see quarrel that day,when I found out what she did I was disappointed.i just maintained so that hubby and his people won't find out.my dad was just SMH for her. U can imagine buying 100 tubers of yam in April o.And my hubby bought everything on that list.thank God he didn't find out.

14. This list gat nothing on my list....
    My village people are just unnecessarily greedy, that's why women from the South South don't marry early!
    Thank God for His provision

1. Point of correction: Not all women from the South South.