Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Mrs Dee's Corner - When Thought Of Your Former Boss Crosses Your Mind...

Friday, May 07, 2021

Mrs Dee's Corner - When Thought Of Your Former Boss Crosses Your Mind...

When you remember those whom you were employed to work for, does it bring fond memories or do you heave a sigh of relief that those dreadful days are finally over?

I've had quite a number of good bosses who genuinely cared about me, created an enabling environment for me to thrive and never took undue advantage of me.

Some others may not have had pleasant experiences and remembering all they had to go through leaves a bitter taste in their mouth.

I still remember one of my friends whose immediate boss turned her to an errand girl. She was in charge of washing up used plates even though the company had cleaners, buying food for her boss everyday, withdrawing cash from the ATM for her and accompanying her to the market even on weekends. It didn't just end there, she was constantly verbally harassed, threatened with a sack at any slight opportunity and made to feel like she was being done a favour by working for her boss.

She endured all of these because she really needed the money and a better paying job was not in sight. She was always filled with fear at the thought of going to work and I know how she became a shadow of herself because of this boss. Thank God her boss was later transferred to another department and she had some semblance of peace.

It's hard to imagine the deep wounds some bosses have inflicted on their employees and until they learn to do better by being kind, encouraging and empathetic, they'd be unable to harness the full potentials of their employees.

I remember my last Boss and the feeling is bitter sweet............

39 comments:

1. All i have worked with no nice rara.

Including the present one🚶‍♂️🚶‍♂️

1. I had such a bad boss. I became a shadow of myself and I lost weight heavily. Became depressed. Started falling ill frequently. That was when I resigned. A very wicked and verbally abusive woman, a mother and wife at that. I left her to God, because only He knows what she derives from being wicked.

2. The worst boss I ever worked for was a woman, the best a man. My gender, why?

2. The wicked bosses I had have only made me stronger. Many cannot do their evil without their sidekicks, usually other colleagues.
    Power is addictive and I’ve met people at all levels and positions in life abusing power.

1. "Many cannot do their evil without their sidekicksite, usually other colleagues" you are so right on your submission .
      I went through hell in my last job simply because the Branch manager had her own candidate for my position but the bank didn't listen to her and placed me there.she recruited the help of the csm, that one took it upon her head to be troubling her life not me.I had to leave the job for my sanity sake. They succeeded in pushing me to a better place. Very bitter women always talking down on people, even customers were not excempted from their madness

2. Bitter insecure and angry women forming covens in offices

Tufia

3. As i remember my former boss and my three months unpaid salary na to curse am deh do me

4. Mine na witch!!! I dont want to remember sef

5. Dating my former boss, started dating after I left.

6. Thinking about my last Boss gives me sleepless nights. You have money, connections, married and unmarried,young and old as side ike okuku yet someone cannot say no to your demonic advances in peace. First it was conspiracy for things l know nothing about. Then it was a sack letter. How can you conspire and sack an innocent woman because she refused to sleep with you. I have worked with different nice bosses Never had a query in my fifteeen years of working in this company till you were employed three years ago. It is better for a mad man to sleep with me in a market square than for you to put that your public dirty prick on me. God will judge you. May your sins not be visited on your children and innocent wife. May you live and suffer for your own sins. Amen. For all the midnight tears. May tears of sorrow never go out from your eyes. Amen

7. I remember the last job i had ,it was a job as a merchandiser, had a supervisor who i was older than but respected as per work things, this girl shouted at me every opportunity she had up to the extent that she tried sacking me but she couldn't so i guess she wanted to frustrate me out of the job, remember the day she was shouting at me and a customer had to confront her ,when it became too much i had to inform my contact,lo and behold it was my contacts son that helped her get the job,he called her and warned he to stay off my case.
    That's how all the shouting stopped

8. My former boss took advantage of me and I started dating him not to feel bad for myself Nigeria is a really horrible place

9. Ms Dee its like you know what I encountered this week...My last job I had a terrible manager and HOD...This lady was a very toxic person, badly behaved and uncouth...The workplace was toxic so I had to resign and move to another job...UPDATE: She was downgraded to the position I occupied when I was there and this lady has been trying so hard to reach out via Linkedin and Telegram..I declined both request is made..I won't lie I was hurt and speaking with her will make me hurt more so I chose to ignore her...

My first job I worked with a very professional boss..She was never bad to me, we did our jobs and we have a very cordial relationship at work..She know when to play and when to get the job done...Thank you Busola I will never forget you...

1. She wants to apologize. She knows her demotion is karma for what she did to you. If you are cooler now, accept the requests and chat with her.

How are you and preparation for your exams?

2. This comment has been removed by the author.

3. This comment has been removed by the author.

4. Jechix dearie I know but I don't need it from her..She has even done worse to other people before me so its her cross to carry..I am preparing it well...Thank you

10. This comment has been removed by the author.

1. My first boss was toxic and I was really traumatized working with them. She used every opportunity to demean and harass me. I was very hardworking but this woman always pushed me to the edge. I see her on Facebook now praising her own kids and I just shake my head. My second boss was male and very nice but some employees took him for granted. I never did cos I knew it was a privilege having a nice boss.
      Left Nigeria and my first boss for my first professional job in diaspora was female and very very toxic. It just made me feel that females are not nice to each other and instead pull themselves down. All the people working with her had the same experience.
      Females just don’t like each other. I am getting a new boss next week and I pray she is a good one.

2. Amen to your prayer Anon 15.35

3. Women hate women.
      I wish you all the best Anon.

11. I have had some bad bosses, one tormented me so much that I thought I had a learning disorder, I started seeing a psychiatrist and after some medication and observation told me I am reacting to highly stressed work environment, he left eventually, the other one kept setting me up with all the higher bosses until I had to resign. I still have to deal with one very vicious lady that keeps attacking me though I can pinpoint what exactly I did to her though God used some restructuring to hide me from her.

On the other hand, I have been blessed with some good bosses and wonderful helpers. I believe that God allows some of these negative experiences as a training for the future. If Joseph remained an "omo daddy" with coat of many colours, he won't have attained the heights he did in that length of time.

12. Some subordinates can be very silly too. They can push their employers and bosses to misbehave. It's a two way thing. Let's not forget that.

13. So many 'role model' bosses in Naija are so TOXIC and recruit fellow "slaves" sorry colleagues who think competition and politics is key to the top. So even when the boss is 100% wrong, they remain loyal, preferring to throw their own under the bus to be on the "winning side" and get ahead. What they don't know is that what they do to others is multiplied and comes back to them.

14. Honestly I can't even complain, I have been lucky to have wonderful bosses ever since I started working.
    The last airline I worked with was absolutely lovely. When I left them, I was paid my full salary with benefits even though I left impromptu and didn't work for the rest of the month..although I had made them understand when I started with them that I had other plans in my career, they were extremely supportive...covered up for me when I had to go for trainings and all that.
    The new place im at, very great I'm so excited. MD is great too along with my co workers....but i'm new so im still watching lol.

15. I had an indirect boss that won't let me be. Any time she wants to raise her ugly head, God always moves ten steps ahead of her by raising voices for me in my absence...

The last she did I just told God to handle her like Haman's case. The way it happened was shocking to everyone. She was disgraced and had no choice than to resign....

16. The very first place i worked was so great,our boss treated us like brothers and sisters and even took us for lunch when we make awesome sales at the company

Relocated and got another company to work in at Sabo Yaba,it was a Parfait restaurant, the manager a lady called Princess frustrated the living daylight out of me until she made sure the management sacked me,fair beautiful girl,but she was just so full of hate for me
    A colleague then told me she was intimidated that was why she was doing all she could to make sure i get sacked, even as she was my boss then as d manager that she was,she doesnt dress well at all and she has very few cloths

Me on the other hand,i invested in my looks ,on several occasions i had caught her looking at my cloths with envy in her eyes and if i turn to look at her direction she quickly removes her eyes and pretends to be doing something else

This is a lady am older than,but she was d boss, she will never open her mouth to greet u first,i have always been d one greeting her

Beautiful, tall ,Fair lady but very nasty behaviour,i pity d man that will marry her

17. My own former boss, will make you feel as if you are nothing just because you are working for her. Infact the mere thought of her irritates me.

18. Am I the only one that hardly remember the Past,Focus more on the Present, But don't forget the good??
    Some things never cross my mind,I don't know why.

1. You are so like me.

2. Good for ya'll. Hoping you never have a very traumatic experience.

3. 21:51, it's about letting go. What's the point of dwelling on a traumatic experience?

4. Even when you let go things, people, incidences, places, words etc can remind you in a minute. So it's not necessarily that one wants to dwell on it. This post for instance brought back some unsavoury memories.

19. This is great, almost everyone here is employed or has worked somewhere. My present boss is one hell of greedy and selfish person. Lots of petition against him. The issue is where next to post him, CEO is tired and confused self. GREAT ANON

20. Fond memories of a boss I almost gbenshed. We kissed twice and made out but no gbensh...was planning the gbensh in my head when my transfer came. Dude is tall and cute and very generous, just my spec. He was polite to a fault, would thank me after a kiss and still transfer money to my account. His gbola size was very good, long and had girth...his fragrance had a magical effect turning me on from 0 to 100. I sucked him once and loved how clean shaven he was. I'll fuck him before the world comes to an end sha.

21. My former boss was my half sister( same mum not same dad) she no do me well at all ,she doesn't pay on time, the amount is sooo poor and I overwork the amount I get paid for.Anyway we thank God so far so good

1. Sometimes working with family can be trying...........but glad you are good.

22. This post brought back bad memories, but you see this God, he is faithful! Abba Father my story is too long and it makes me cry even remebering it. I was treated very unfairly, no payment did menial errands but here i am today. Vengeance is yours oh Lord and you will repay! I know you will. Thank you Lord. I am in a much better place! I will tell this story one day, because I know God is taking me very far in life!