Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria Bans Travelers From India, Turkey And Brasil

Monday, May 03, 2021

Nigeria Bans Travelers From India, Turkey And Brasil

From Tuesday May 4,2021 Travelers with non-Nigerian passports and non-residents who visited Brazil, India, or Turkey within 14 days will be denied entry into Nigeria..

This decision was part of the decisions reached by the Presidential Steering Committee on COVID-19 following increasing cases of COVID-19 and fatalities in some parts of the world.
The committee’s chairman, Boss Mustapha, disclosed this in a statement titled ‘Travel advisory for passengers arriving Nigeria from Brazil, India, and Turkey.’
According to the statement, the travel advisory shall take effect from Tuesday May 4,2021 while it shall be subjected to review after an initial period of four weeks.
The guidelines read in part, “Non-Nigerian passport holders and non-residents who visited Brazil, India or Turkey within days preceding travel to Nigeria, shall be denied entry into Nigeria.
“This regulation, however, does not apply to passengers who transited through these countries.
“The following measures shall apply to airlines and passengers who fail to comply with I and II(a) above: airlines shall mandatorily pay a penalty of $3,500 for each defaulting passenger.
“Non-Nigerians will be denied entry and returned to the country of embarkation at a cost to the airline.

from @punchnewspapers

10 comments:

1. Yamu🙄, all na wash. with our porous borders and high level of corruption, anything can enter Nigeria.

2. My question is what happens to folks who departed such locations less than a week ago to return to Nigeria? They return to without going on self isolation. Example,Wanneka ,who was in Turkey,she returned some days ago.Abeg ooo! This new strain of Covid is more brutal. Safety first!

3. I hope it is not too late for this decision.
    The virus in India has mutated and is killing people in high-speed. Don't forget Nigeria have similar hot weather just like India.

Y'all should stay safe and protect yourself

4. Story. When they banned China, I know a Chinese that came into the country. The airport officials told him to go and quarantine in his house.

Indians will find a way...all they have to do is bribe.

5. With my experience last week on my way back to London, Nigeria cant change. The officers were either asking or begging for bribe and if you don't give them, they find a way of delaying you. They even accepted transfer/POS for illegal money. By the time I went through all those checking points within the airport, I was sweating,tired and upset. When are we making progress as a country?
    This will not work if they bribe them

1. Na you dey give them....i dont look at dere side; i always face front.
      One was telln me she likes my necklace,its like i will drop it for her. Just smiled and didnt say a word. My husband smtimes dashes dem but if its me alone,u cant see a kobo of my money.

6. Una try

Next time be faster

Also the corruption at the airports defeats this new rule