Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Govt Condemns Southern Governors Plan To Ban Open Grazing

Tuesday, May 25, 2021

Nigerian Govt Condemns Southern Governors Plan To Ban Open Grazing

The Nigerian government has condemned the Southern Governors’ proposed plan to enforce the ban on open grazing.

A statement released on Monday by the Presidential Spokesman, Garba Shehu, the Presidency said the plan by the governors to ban open grazing in the Southern part of the country is of “questionable legality”.

The statement reads: “The President had approved some specific measures to bring a permanent end to the frequent skirmishes as recommended by Alhaji Sabo Nanono, the Minister of Agriculture in a report he submitted and the President signed off on it back in April, well before the actions of the Southern Governors Forum which attempts to place a ban on open grazing and other acts of politicking intended by its signatories to demonstrate their power.

“It is very clear that there was no solution offered from their resolutions to the herder-farmer clashes that have been continuing in our country for generations.

“But the citizens of the southern states – indeed citizens of all states of Nigeria – have a right to expect their elected leaders and representatives to find answers to challenges of governance and rights, and not to wash their hands off hard choices by, instead, issuing bans that say: “not in my state.”

“It is equally true that their announcement is of questionable legality, given the Constitutional right of all Nigerians to enjoy the same rights and freedoms within every one of our 36 states (and FCT) -regardless of the state of their birth or residence.

“Fortunately, this declaration has been preempted, for whatever it is intended to achieve and Mr. President, who has rightly been worried about these problems more than any other citizen in consultation with farmers and herders alike, commissioned and approved an actionable plan of rehabilitating grazing reserves in the states, starting with those that are truly committed to the solution and compliant with stated requirements.

“With veterinary clinics, water points for animals, and facilities for herders and their families including schooling – through these rehabilitated reserves, the Federal Government is making far-reaching and practical changes allowing for different communities to co-exist side-by-side: supporting farmers to till their fields, herders to rear their livestock and Nigerians everywhere to be safe.”

37 comments:

1. Oh God.
    Why are they so interested in cows and grazing and what have you?
    Is there something else we should know?
    This is no longer normal. Why aren’t they interested in pepper sellers or spare part dealers or potatoe sellers.
    I want to believe at this point that there’s another agenda.
    This cow rearing is a private business FGS.

All your agenda shall come to nought. Garba shehu, Presidency, President (do we even have a president ) and miyeti allah.

1. I think it's more of planting their people everywhere... The herders could be terrorist or spy. God help us

2. When we were saying it before now, people thought we were insane. Happenings always have a way in vindicating what we had foreseen and warned.

3. @mama Cee ameeeennnnn

4. Who is the Nigerian govt?
      Are those governors not part of the Nigerian govt.

We say we no do, is it by force, use the remaining land in Nigeria now.

2. Mr Bahari do not see anything wrong with the fulani herdsmen killing nd raping our women in name cow/castle rearing ,am not not surprise after all he is one of them,wicked man

3. In this 51st century, these people still think this! It's obvious and confirmed that Nigeria's underdevelopment is championed by them. Can't they think modern? Even Dubai that is their heaven on earth, do they see cattle roaming the streets?

I would have told them to F off but it's still early

1. There is time for everything under the sun, a time for peace and a time for war, the time has come for War, the time has come to defend our land, our forefathers stood up to the task hence we are here today, we too will stand up to our challenge and our children will be here tomorrow. Enough of these uncircumcised fulanis Enough. The time has come to send them to their 70 virgins, a fallacy they crave for all their lives, for cowards die a hundred times before their death, and we are no cowards.
      The time is here to send the uncircumcised gentiles/fulani to their land, Enough of your threats, man to man, intellect to intellect, we shall Never give a foot of our land to the infidels /uncircumcised fulanis.

4. I see trouble looming on this aspect. You can't dictate to us what to do here most especially when it concerns security threats to our life. They can't ban open grazing but the useless hisbah police in the north are banning and destroying southerners business in the north. Who's fooling who here?

The north and presidency, how many herders carrying AK-47 have you arrested and prosecuted? You people should be ashamed saying this, that in a modern day civilization, you still can't make use of ranching in your locality but to destroy people's farm produce.

Make thunder fire all of una there opposing the southern resolve. Whatever you people want, you will get this time around.

1. We are used to the word "condemn," after all zaddy Buhari has been using it when boko haram/bandits kill people and that didn't make them STOP the killings. To me, they only used the same word "condemn" but that doesnt mean that the plan to ban open grazing will STOP.

Thank God they ban it. FG can continue their cry, if their tears fill up a tank, they should sell it to Niger Republic, Buhari's country.

2. 𝘈𝘨𝘢𝘪𝘯, 𝘺𝘰𝘶 𝘢𝘭𝘭 𝘢𝘭𝘭𝘰𝘸 𝘺𝘰𝘶𝘳 𝘦𝘮𝘰𝘵𝘪𝘰𝘯𝘴 𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘸𝘩𝘦𝘭𝘮 𝘺𝘰𝘶 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘣𝘦𝘤𝘰𝘮𝘦 𝘪𝘳𝘳𝘢𝘵𝘪𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘭. 𝘠𝘰𝘶 𝘤𝘢𝘯'𝘵 𝘣𝘢𝘯 𝘰𝘱𝘦𝘯 𝘨𝘳𝘢𝘻𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘸𝘪𝘵𝘩𝘰𝘶𝘵 𝘩𝘢𝘷𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘰𝘱𝘵𝘪𝘰𝘯𝘴. 𝘚𝘰, 𝘺𝘰𝘶 𝘣𝘢𝘯 𝘰𝘱𝘦𝘯 𝘨𝘳𝘢𝘻𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘍𝘶𝘭𝘢𝘯𝘪𝘴 𝘮𝘰𝘷𝘦 𝘣𝘢𝘤𝘬 𝘵𝘰 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘯𝘰𝘳𝘵𝘩 𝘸𝘪𝘵𝘩 𝘵𝘩𝘦𝘪𝘳 𝘤𝘰𝘸𝘴 𝘪𝘮𝘮𝘦𝘥𝘪𝘢𝘵𝘦𝘭𝘺 𝘰𝘳 𝘸𝘩𝘢� 𝘸𝘩𝘢𝘵? 𝘞𝘩𝘢𝘵 𝘩𝘢𝘱𝘱𝘦𝘯𝘴 𝘵𝘰 𝘴𝘢𝘺𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘌𝘥𝘰 𝘴𝘵𝘢𝘵𝘦 𝘸𝘪𝘭𝘭 𝘱𝘭𝘢𝘤𝘦 𝘢 𝘣𝘢𝘯 𝘰𝘯 𝘰𝘱𝘦𝘯 𝘨𝘳𝘢𝘻𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘪𝘯 𝘖𝘤𝘵𝘰𝘣𝘦𝘳 2023. 𝘛𝘩𝘪𝘴 𝘸𝘢𝘺 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘰𝘸𝘯𝘦𝘳𝘴 𝘰𝘧 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘤𝘰𝘸𝘴 𝘸𝘪𝘭𝘭 𝘩𝘢𝘷𝘦 𝘦𝘯𝘰𝘶𝘨𝘩 𝘵𝘪𝘮𝘦 𝘵𝘰 𝘦𝘪𝘵𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘨𝘰 𝘣𝘢𝘤𝘬 𝘩𝘰𝘮𝘦 𝘰𝘳 𝘭𝘰𝘰𝘬 𝘧𝘰𝘳 𝘮𝘰𝘯𝘦𝘺 𝘵𝘰 𝘣𝘶𝘺 𝘭𝘢𝘯𝘥𝘴 𝘧𝘰𝘳 𝘵𝘩𝘦𝘪𝘳 𝘣𝘶𝘴𝘪𝘯𝘦𝘴𝘴. 𝘞𝘩𝘢𝘵 𝘩𝘢𝘱𝘱𝘦𝘯𝘴 𝘵𝘰 𝘊𝘉𝘕 𝘨𝘪𝘷𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘰𝘶𝘵 𝘭𝘰𝘢𝘯𝘴 𝘵𝘰 𝘣𝘶𝘪𝘭𝘥 𝘳𝘢𝘯𝘤𝘩𝘦𝘴 𝘫𝘶𝘴𝘵 𝘢𝘴 𝘵𝘩𝘦𝘺 𝘢𝘳𝘦 𝘨𝘪𝘷𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘭𝘰𝘢𝘯𝘴 𝘵𝘰 𝘧𝘢𝘳𝘮𝘦𝘳𝘴. 𝘊𝘉𝘕 𝘩𝘢𝘴 𝘨𝘪𝘷𝘦𝘯 𝘰𝘶𝘵 350 𝘣𝘪𝘭𝘭𝘪𝘰𝘯 𝘯𝘢𝘪𝘳𝘢 𝘭𝘰𝘢𝘯 𝘵𝘰 𝘧𝘢𝘳𝘮𝘦𝘳𝘴 𝘴𝘪𝘯𝘤𝘦 2016. 𝘞𝘩𝘺 𝘢𝘳𝘦 𝘵𝘩𝘦𝘺 𝘯𝘰𝘵 𝘨𝘪𝘷𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘰𝘶𝘵 � 𝘭𝘰𝘢𝘯𝘴 𝘧𝘰𝘳 𝘳𝘢𝘯𝘤𝘩𝘦𝘴.

5. At this juncture I declare that it is time every Southern pick up sword to defend themselves because these Northerners are evil and there mission to wipe out the Southerners just so they could get permanent hold of The oil without any challenge is never going to end until they accomplish their mission.

They keep quiet while their herder terrorists terrorize, maim and kill the Southerners. They laugh it over drinks feeling satisfied.

To think that they cannot even stand Southerners in any way be it by hand, weapon or whatever way if we decide to fight back.

Even me that's a woman I know what my strength and mind can do where it comes to that not to talk of my male counterparts that their mental level pass the skies.

Las las it's war that'll end this madness because that's the only thing that can put these Northerner idiots to their place.

Only if Biafrans wasn't forcing other states to join them. I would have been in full support of their movement with their 5 Eastern states.

Everyone should go their way in this country.

1. You that aligned with north since 1967 what's your gain, how your body be??

2. But we did warned you all about these happenings you see today. What did we get in return? Insults and mockery. Sometimes it's good for things to happen for people to understand better all we have been saying.

3. You Amacastle and Teejay, what was Adaka Boro's agenda before Ojukwu countered him and a year later he was fighting for same course and you expect us to support you?
      You refused us fight our fight but you want us to support your own agenda?

Who's fooling who here?

4. Amacastel...good question LOL.

To the Anon...no one is forcing anyone. Update yourself before commenting on stuff you obviously know nothing about.

5. Sometimes, Experience is Not the best lesson as it's costly and lives lost in this cases. Prevention is better do we need restrategizing and restructuring for Nigeria

6. Anonymous 10:25, how much do you know of Adaka boro? I guess you really don't know what played out and how he was released, brainwashed and used by the Nigerian government to fight the Biafrans. Hope you know how he died? From the same people that used him. So also was Ken Saro Wiwa. I have never seen anyone who served the caliphate that didn't end up in regrets. I would have loved to lecture you on Adaka boro but a lot on my hands now. Some other time.

6. This might not go well ooo,bcos they too may want to troubling the igbos and their businesses and that will bring slot of trouble in the country. May God help us.

7. You all should go and watch the interview of Mu'azu Magaji granted on Channel TV. "Amalgamation of Nigeria has expired" he said the true problems of Nigeria. He's one northerner with a good sense of reasoning and judgement.

8. This goes to confirm all the conspiracy theories flying around.

The Nigerian government doesn't really care about the atrocities these herdsmen commit.

9. If you say “cows” on the internet the presidency will respond with the speed of lightening, but farmers have Ben crying, their crops destroyed, their children kidnapped, rapped and killed, but presidency sees nothing wrong with that. But immediately they hear cows, a response in favor of the cows will be issued ASAP.

10. When they came up with their Sharia laws, we didn't interfere.

These guys have something else up their sleeves. Imagine the Attorney General of the Federation comparing cattle grazing with Igbo spare parts sellers

11. Other serious nations of the world are talking of STEM. Nigeria is still discussing about cattle rearing in 2021. What a useless government. God have mercy

12. Let them start their proposed intentions of ventinary clinic, water reserve and others in the north. Are those cows not being owned by someone?. Is it not a personal business?. Their only reason for disagreeing with the ban on open grazing is because they want the Fulani to have their own community in every state. Haaa. We have gone pass this mentality. Buhari has succeeded in creating serious enemity between the North and other regions. We were not like this before his regime. Seeing a Fulani around you these days sends a negative signal.
    The more they try, the more they fail. One thing is sure. Buhari will not be in power for ever.

1. My sister, you just spoke my mind I swear.

13. My people na wa oh. I don't think Nigeria is a secular state oh. I learnt yesterday that part of a project by the Ministry of Agriculture is to build a new mosque with government funds. God please have mercy

1. We are not my dear. Buhari registered us as a Muslim state years ago.

14. The southern Governor's had better take a stand now to protect their states and not shift ground on the intended ban on open grazing.

Why is the presidency so concerned about cow's? What is their motive? To plant their sucide killers/ bombers in every state hence enslaving us in our own country.

15. The funny thing is that we think all the cows belong to the fulani. Igbos own cows oo, at least my Uncle is one. The stingy man don even turn Alhaji. The southern governors are playing to the gallery. Instead of proffering concrete solutions, they want make we clap for them for social media. As for the federal govt, una dey insensitive. Talking anyhow , when una suppose talk, una go go mute. Infact sometimes I wonder if its their secret wish to break up this country sef. I still stand by weakening the center and giving more power to the states, Let each state take charge of their resources and liabilities. Make peace reign. Nigerian is too large a country to run like this.

16. This hausa govt want to be Saudi Arabia so bad...instead of promoting education and technology which is what their gods in the UAE are doing,they brought cattle rearing...in 21st century!

Never seen a bunch of illiterate delusional set of abokis this dense.

17. Hmmmmm... Truly like someone said, since this administration began, there has been an invisible wedge growing wider between the north and south.
    Why all this dragging? southerners and northerners engaging in war of words on social media platforms while the rot that has already begun is eating deeper. I really hope something or some measures will help to turn things around. We are one Nigeria for goodness sake, nobody is better than the other, we are all dust