Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Couch Convo - Nollywood's New Generation Actresses

Monday, June 21, 2021

Couch Convo - Nollywood's New Generation Actresses

Who do you think are Nollywood's new generation actresses?

The ones set to make big names like the Veterans Genevieve Nnaji, Omotola Ekeinde, Rita Dominic, Monalisa Coker et al..

67 comments:

1. 1. Bolaji Ogunmola - she gets it right every single time.

2. Bimbo Ademoye - sometimes over acts, but she is good!

1. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

2. Bimbo is not really a good actress to me. She has same personality in all the movies I have seen her in. She’s always that bubbly friend. I think that’s just her personality. She still hasn’t learned how to step out of herself and step into a different character and become it till people can’t separate ‘you’ from the character in the movie.

3. 14.01 shame on you for being tribalistic. I'm not yoruba for your information. And whilst you are it, what stopped you dropping your own comment? Rubbish

4. Yvonne, have you seen her in Looking for Baami, and Backup wife? Those were very local roles but she delivered.

5. 3. Nancy Isime - is also quite versatile but I don't see her in so many movies, probably because she has other side gigs.

6. Thank you Yvonne
      Thank God someone said it.
      I totally love tope olowoniyan

Watched her for a long time and she has totally improved
      She takes her craft so seriously.

Thank God she's getting the recognition she deserves.
      She reminds me of a young Omotola

7. Push up, would anyone have beaten you if you said it? Why una dey fear.

2. Phonetics will not allow them to bring out the real acting in them

1. Phonetics overshadows the acting

2. That's not true. Mention names if you are referring to someone specific, don't just lump them all together.

3. Linda Osifo
    Nancy Osime
    Bimbo Ademoye
    Beverly Osu

4. Omowunmi Dada
    Bolaji Ogunmola
    Jemima Osunde
    Sharon Ooja

Felicity

5. Good afternoon Stella.. No new generation actress will ever be as big as Genevieve or Omotola... You know why?

Nollywood has divided. We now have Asaba Nollywood and Lekki/Cinema Nollywood. Asaba Nollywood controls 70% of the movie market in Nigeria while Cinema Nollywood controls 30% of the movie market.

The only new generation Nollywood actress that has the star power currently is Destiny Etiko.. She's talented and very controversial. She literally owns the Africa Magic Epic channel on DSTV/Gotv... Africa Magic Epic is the most lucrative DSTV channel, it is everywhere. Asaba Nollywood movies might be below quality but they are the movies moving in the market.

Zubby Michael is the most popular Nollywood actor in Nigeria currently. No Cinema Nollywood actor comes close.

The Cinema Nollywood actresses are only popular in Lekki, that's where the popularity ends... Destiny Etiko beats all of them in star power.

1. Deatiny etiko, welcome ma. No be only beats all of them in star power, this is about acting ma not yansh.

2. You are right. Zubby and Destiny will surely replace those ones. Cinema Actress and Actors are for some class of people. Asaba Nollywood Actors are more accessible to low income families, and is widely viewed than the former.

3. This comment is the truth in a way.

4. 14:17 jealousy no go kill you. What 14:01 said is the truth. You think is by copying foreign actress in mannerism will bring out the best in them, let them continue with their fake accent.

Bolaji Ogunmola and Somkhele for me are a delight to watch.

Lovelace

5. I have seen Destiny etiko in some ROK movies, she is good but there are better ones in my opinion.

6. Africa magic epic that just shows village village films. Very boring to me.

7. You couldn't have said it any better. 🍾🥂

8. True that! Asaba controls the market. Once anything is out from Asaba stable, see people rush and by the time you count 1, 2, 3 ,,,,you will get about 5 hundred thousand views in few days from all a over the world.. It all tells me that people are tired of watching all these so called foreign accents and "sophisticated" actors. They find those village movies thrilling, especially Nigerians who live abroad and are home sick and people from other countries who are interested in learning other cultures. It's Destiny for me. Destiny and co are grilling it.

6. Please give me Destiny, Etiko and Uju okolie, anytime any day

7. Sharon Ooja
    Jemima osunde
    Somkele

1. Somkele and jemima are naturals
      Even mis dsf is a good actress ...it comes effortless.

I can't say same for Sharon sha, she doesn't fit into every role

8. I dont even know any of them except on blogs..
    Everyone is now an actress ma oke ma ngwere..umu dorty!

1. Hahahahaha you don't disappoint. Which one is umu dorty.

You and Droyalty are just my favorite

2. If those are your favorites,Yori Yori I put it to you that you're not a Christian.

3. Umu dorty 😂😅😂😂😅
      Can’t remember the last time I heard ds word.

4. Thank you Linda. I don't know most of these new actresses even on blogs. I only started recognizing Destiny etiko, chizzy Alichi last month July. Never knew them.

9. From the list I saw from that magazine, it's sha definitely not Beverly Osu

10. Chioma Nwosu is my favorite. She delivers any role she plays, from mama to illiterate. She always looks her part or better

11. Frederick Leonard, Ninalowo, Kunle Remi and the likes, all they act and appear in are copy and paste movies lifted from abroad, edited or embellished and straight to our screens in the name of love dramas or films.

Natural or near natural scripts are laced with vernacular or out right comedy.

This is why all the Lekki actors have is their posh and Instagram.

1. Ninalowo is more versatile than the other two.

2. Picture Perfect (both the movie and series) made me see Ninalowo's talent, very impressive.

12. Evan Okoro aka Doctor Maria. That lady is really good. I watched her movie yesterday "Ozioma the dirty girl" and I was blown away by her acting. She's really under rated.

Another good actress is Bolaji Ogunmola. Babe is good

13. I may be the odd one out but I personally don't see with Omotola or Genevieve as fantastic actresses. Infact, some of these new generation actresses will beat them hands down.

14. I don't know which generation she falls into but Nse Ikpe-Etim is 👌

15. Uche Nwaefuna
    Mary Lazarus

16. This post will have many actors commenting anons mode.

1. Think Destiny has already dropped hers up there 👆

17. Chioma Nwosu, Bolaji ogunmola, bimbo ademoye's movies are always as interesting as Genevieve nnaji's

1. Chioma Nwosu is very good.

18. This post will have many actors commenting in anons mode.

19. Uche nwaefuna both asabawood and Lagos/cinema section
    Sharon ooja.. she's good though features in mostly 'Lagoswood"
    Nancy isime; very versatile actress, in local or polished roles, she's sure to deliver
    Bolaji Ogunmola

They are alot of actresses now, we have them in asabawood, instragram
    And Lagos
    And unfortunately majority of the cinema actresses are only for a particular class of consumers and doesn't have a wide range like the asabawood so would be difficult having another Omotola or Genevieve cos of the disparity

Btw, I heard asabawood pays more than the cinema roles
    That the cinema roles gives you the platform to slay and cash other from endorsement or other side gigs

20. Uche Nwaefuna..that babes acting is top notch. She is a screen goddess indeed.

1. I've seen Uche's movies, she is a pretty girl but I find her acting just okay, that screen appeal is lacking.

21. Mary Lazarus. I honestly don't keep up with this new actresses because I don't watch movies like I used to.
    What happened to Bola Ige? That lady used to overact but I liked her lips

Mum Glow

22. Mary Lazarus acts well but she's not a new actress; 'just features in new productions.

23. For male actors it's in this order
    YUL EDOCHE
    FREDRICK LEONARD
    KUNLE REMI
    DEYEMI OKALAWON.

FOR FEMALES

JEMIMA OSUINDE
    ABISOLA
    SOMKELE IDAHLAMA
    SHARON OJAH

the ones wen dey try again
    Bimbo ademoye and others.

1. You're right on point with the male category.

24. Destiny Etiko
    Chinenye Uba
    Nancy Isime
    Bimbo Ademoye
    Somkele
    Beverly Nanya

Zubby Michael
    Nina Olowo
    Jidekene Achufusi
    Stan Nze

There will never be another,

Genevieve
    Omotola
    Stephanie Okereke Linus
    Rita Dominic
    Ini Edo
    Uche Jumbo in Nollywood. They'd forever be the Nollywood we all know and talk about and the irreplaceable icons of the industry.

1. There will never be another of any individual including yourself, no one is a god so please stop with this constant idolatry.

2. Stan Nze 👌

25. Chinenye Nnebe and Sonia Nnebe

26. Rita Dom
    Victoria inyama
    Fibresima
    Rita Nzelu
    Sandra Achums
    Nzeribe
    Omotola
    Lilian Bach
    These ladies delivered like maaaaad especially Nzelu n Inyama,shege jagwa.

The few I know if the new generation,
    Destiny Etiko
    Osifo
    Anita Joseph
    Gina Ibeh
    Sharon Ooja
    Bisola
    Linda Ibrahim
    Gina Daniels
    These ones are trying. They try to deliver but shaaaaaaaaa still de am ☺️.

1. Ibinabo fibresima,lilian bach......huh??

Jokes.

2. I follow shock, Lilian bach good Actress? Are we selling soap here

27. Rachael Okonkwo and Bisola Aiyeola, how did I forget these two amazing acts.

28. Queen Nwokoye