Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Mrs Dees Corner - Watch What You Eat !!!

Friday, June 18, 2021

Mrs Dees Corner - Watch What You Eat !!!

A lot of chronic diseases are prevalent in our society today and those who suffer from these sicknesses are still perplexed on how they contracted it seeing that some of them took care to avoid alcoholic beverages, do not smoke nor do hard drugs and don't live a reckless lifestyle.

It is worthy to note that they may have not deliberately brought this upon themselves, but they have been unwary about the foods they consume. I'll explain in a bit.

I have a customer I buy frozen foods from. She sells frozen gizzard, chicken, turkey, fish etc. She travels across the border to Cotonou to purchase her goods and one day she advised me to stop buying frozen chicken or turkey because they are all preserved using harmful chemicals, and allegedly the type used in embalming dead bodies. I was shocked to my bones.

She mentioned that some of those who have kidney diseases, cancer of various types and other ailments today are probably victims of eating foods filled with dangerous ingredients.

Another sad one was when the woman who makes my hair and is also into making drinks and pastries opened up about what goes on in the bakery where she cuts her chinchin. 

She noted that some of those who come for mixing do not use butter for their dough, they only pour used brown oil that had been earlier used for frying into the dough and add grounded pepper as ginger spice with most of the bags of flour infested with rat shit.

She cautioned me to stop buying snacks and fruit drinks outside as most of them are not hygienically prepared and also contain poisonous substances.

I still remember watching a TV program and the invited health expert mentioned that apples should be replaced with any of our local fruit because apples are usually waxed and this enables it to stay good for a few weeks but is also unhealthy for the body.

Nigeria still has a long way to go when it comes to its regulatory bodies doing their jobs in ensuring that the foods we consume are safe and healthy. It's best if we begin to stop buying certain foods or grow them ourselves in order to avoid ingesting what will be harmful to our health and wellness.

*No you don't stop eating apples, you wash well with water before munching on it...We all know that they are sprayed with something to preserve it but its not only apples, its all fruits

46 comments:

1. It is really well oh, cos I'm tired honestly, only God is keeping us especially in this Nigeria

2. This same food that is so expensive in the market?
      God help us o

2. Anytime I read such articles, I ask myself so what do we eat? The other time, I saw a video of a woman craping the Titus fish she just bought. That it was coated with something for preservation.

May God save us.

1. Good question..Every food in Nigeria is so compromised..Sadly no regulatory body is doing anything about it...Na wa

3. What I have resolved to do is control what I can control when it comes to food.

Especially when it comes to fruits and perishables.
    The other option I have is to farm them myself and I sincerely cannot.

So so far I am buying, I wash well and hope for the best.

4. Problem is this applies not just to Nigeria but to the world in general. Most foods grown commercially have come in contact with harmful materials either when planting, nurturing, storage/preservation, etc. Watching documentaries on actions big food companies take to increase crop and animal yield and attractiveness just made me weak.
    Bottom line is if you can, buy organic, well fed (not just grain fed) meats and organic grains, fruits and vegetables. If you can’t, put in your best efforts in washing everything purchased, i.e wash with the intention to remove poison! Not just washing to remove plain dirt. And then detox routinely.

5. I just try my best not to worry about what I really cant control..

Same way I bought cucumber some months ago while returning from work and forgot it in the nylon it was in;only to see it after close to three weeks;opened it and it was still fresh and not rotten..

I studied Agric so I know it's not possible to stay that long without any sign of getting rotten;and in an enclosed space like a black Nylon? Never...

I was weak;cant even buy cucumber after that cos each time I see it;I remember what happened..

It is well;welldone Mrs Dee..

@MARTINS

6. Hmmmn if we want to go by the don't eat this and that then we will not eat almost every food and fruit not planted by us because they're being planted by fertilizers and preserved with chemicals.. let's not even talk about the protein we consume, na another person house you wan take rear animal? How then do we cope? Na just God dey protect

7. Just read on aproko Doctor page about how semi rotten tomatoes cause liver disease.

Wetin we go do for this hard country.🙄🙄

8. A snail farmer on IG complained of increased morbidity of his snails when he feeds them watermelon recently. So if the batch of watermelon he bought for his snails killed them, only God know what harm it may do to us.. I think we should all go back to the farm/Gardens. You control your quality of food and reduce cost at the same time cos things are really expensive. Even if you have space for just 5 heads of yam.. Plant it. It will bring you joy.

1. I have about 22 heads of yam growing in bags in a space I created in my cmpd, the yams dey give me maximum joy😄😄

9. All local fruits o, even bananas. They are preserved with harmful substances. What I do is to never eat fruits without washing with salt and clean water. I don't eat them in traffic, I take them home and wash well

1. How will you eat them in traffic when they are not washed. Those of house who buy cut fruit I so pity you.

10. Only God can save us oh

But in the mean time, wash and parboil your meat and fish before cooking.

1. U mean there are people who don't wash and parboil their meat and fish before cooking?
      Mtchewwww

2. 😂🤣🤣🤣🤣😂🤣🤣 wash and parboil before cooking 😂 chisos.

3. So what happens to the water used in parboiling? I use the water to cook, hope it is safe

11. For fruits I soak in vinegar for five minutes and rinse thoroughly with water, in the absence of vinegar, soak with salt.
    I prefer green bananas so it gets ripe at home rather than the one they pour derivatives of carbide on to ripen.

12. Apples are waxed. There are local fruits that can contain more vitamins than apple.

13. The fErtilizer is also a problem. The pesticide is a major problem hence why vegetarians prefer to use manure (animal dung) as their only source of fertilizer. My cleaning lady told me recently that in the north, they spray SNIPER mixed in water in the plants during farming season to keep away pests and insects. Imagine the nonchalant attitude towards the health repercussions.

14. Even beans don't grow weevils like before. May God show us mercy.

15. I hope Zartech don't put harmful chemical in their chicken oh.

16. They said some of the cabbage we eat is plastic! That one shock me.

17. The importance of watching where and what you eat can't be overemphasized. There is a popular bakery in Abuja, where they mix all their leftover bread and dough in their dough turning machine to make new loaves of bread the following day. Any leftovers will be used for the next day and so on. There are no disposals, they just keep recycling and reusing.
    I don't do smoothies anymore, especially veggie smoothies. It's no wonder cancer is on the rise in this country. I take extra care to wash with salt and white vinegar whenever I summon the courage to buy fruits and vegetables

18. For me, I eat what I am watching.
    I make most of the snacks in my house; with the ingredients I choose.
    No refined sugars. Most people do not know that that does to the body; everything
    alcohol does and more.
    No soda, bottled drinks that has refined sugar, no junks.
    Yes, I eat what I watch being prepared; by me or loved ones.

19. Hmmmmm... if you want to check everything you eat for safety before eating, you will grow paranoid and that is the truth because 'agwo no na akirika'!!

Way forward, wash fruits and veggies with salt and good water, BLESS the "food" and eat.

"..if they shall eat any deadly thing, it shall not hurt them". This promise was made by Christ to who? His Believers. I didn't say those that practice religion, but those who truly BELIEVE IN CHRIST JESUS. Do you??

20. This called silent food pandemic.
    Seedlings, fertilisers, pesticides, preservatives, and the plants themselves are all junk.
    If you have space in you home try to grow your own veggies or fruits.

21. I travelled for a week and left an apple on a tray at home. This was as far back as 2016. For some reason I didn't eat that apple, it was just there looking fresh for almost a month, I didn't touch it.

I threw it away when I realised that the apple had no intention of disintegrating.

That is the last time I have eaten an apple in the country.

I don't eat fruit salad or vegetable salad that is not prepared by my hands.

Sometime in 2012/2013, I read of someone who went very early to an eatery. He said he saw one of the attendants inject something into the pieces of chicken for sale. I don't know how true it is, but be careful with everything you consume. Wash and rewash, parboil, soak with vinegar etc etc etc.

Most of the meat being sold are from cows that are from cows diseased.

Instead of the meat to be red and fresh it will be greyish black.

I also know of sniper for beans,
    Omo for fufu.
    Red colouring for palm oil.
    Ororo for honey.
    And ofcourse the fake coke and Pepsi flooding market.

22. I travelled for a week and left an apple on a tray at home. This was as far back as 2016. For some reason I didn't eat that apple, it was just there looking fresh for almost a month, I didn't touch it.

I threw it away when I realised that the apple had no intention of disintegrating.

That is the last time I have eaten an apple in the country.

I don't eat fruit salad or vegetable salad that is not prepared by my hands.

Sometime in 2012/2013, I read of someone who went very early to an eatery. He said he saw one of the attendants inject something into the pieces of chicken for sale. I don't know how true it is, but be careful with everything you consume. Wash and rewash, parboil, soak with vinegar etc etc etc.

Most of the meat being sold are from cows that are from cows diseased.

Instead of the meat to be red and fresh it will be greyish black.

I also know of sniper for beans,
    Omo for fufu.
    Red colouring for palm oil.
    Ororo for honey.
    And ofcourse the fake coke and Pepsi flooding market.

23. Even ugu the woman i buy ugu leaves from told me to wash it very well with salt to remove the chemical in it. It's really terrible what is being sold in our mkts.

1. Ugu that some people squeeze and drink the fresh juice?

24. What of garri, any leftover garri will start smelling horribly and if you try touching it, it will draw like okra.

25. Well done, Mrs Dee. Very interesting topic.

26. I wash all my fruits with soap and water. I also wash my veggies same. I stopped buying Ogbono and Egusi blended. I also wash those with soap and water. Those ones are so dirty ehn!!!! DIRTY and filled with pesticides.