Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Singer Britney Spears Asks Judge To End 'Abusive' Conservatorship That Gave Her Father Control Over Her Finances

Thursday, June 24, 2021

Singer Britney Spears Asks Judge To End 'Abusive' Conservatorship That Gave Her Father Control Over Her Finances

Popular American singer, Britney Spears, has asked a judge to end the conservatorship that's given her father control of her finances and legal decisions for more than a decade.

In explosive and detailed remarks, Britney Spears on Wednesday passionately condemned the legal arrangement that has given her father and others control over her personal finances, asking a judge to put a stop to it.

“I’ve told the world I’m happy and OK,” Spears told a Los Angeles courtroom. “I’m traumatized. I’m not happy. I can’t sleep.”

Since 2008, the pop star has been under a conservatorship, a formerly little-known legal tool to protect the finances of a person deemed mentally unfit to handle them. In recent years, public awareness and criticism of the arrangement have mounted, with fans ― often using the hashtag #FreeBritney ― asking why a successful professional woman should not be allowed to control the money she makes.

Spears spoke for about 20 minutes Wednesday, at times very rapidly, explaining that she was not previously aware she could ask the court to end her conservatorship.

This is the first time Spears, 39, has publicly spoken about the situation, despite press reports indicating she was unhappy with it. Addressing the court remotely by phone, she railed against her family and lawyers, painting a picture of herself as a woman imprisoned within her own life. The conservatorship, Spears said, is “abusive” and prevents her from living a “full life.”

“I’m so angry, it’s insane,” she said.

Spears asked Los Angeles Superior Court Judge Brenda Penny to end the conservatorship “without evaluation.”

“I haven’t done anything in the world to deserve this treatment,” she said.

At one point, Spears accused her conservators of refusing to take her to a doctor to remove a birth control device so she could get pregnant.

“I want to be able to get married and have a baby. I was told ... I can’t get married,” she said. Her boyfriend, Sam Asghari, had posted a photo of himself wearing a #FreeBritney T-shirt to social media earlier on Wednesday.

“This conservatorship is doing me way more harm than good,” Spears said. “I deserve to have a life.”

Spears also said she was prescribed lithium against her will, and that it was so strong she “felt drunk” and could not carry on a conversation “about anything.”

“They had me with six different nurses,” she said, according to CNN.

Spears’ estate has been placed in the hands of her father, Jamie Spears, who serves as joint conservator alongside her attorney, Jodi Montgomery. The singer wants the court to permanently remove her father from the conservatorship, leaving Montgomery at the helm. But on Wednesday, she said that even Montgomery was taking her role “too far” in overseeing Spears’ life and money.

The extent of the restrictions on Spears’ life was laid bare this week in The New York Times, which reported that her father has the final say even over minute details, such as whether she can paint her kitchen cabinets. Jamie Spears reportedly referred to his daughter as “a racehorse who has to be handled like one.”

A documentary produced by the Times, released earlier this year, also highlighted the pop star’s bizarre situation.

For Britney Spears, the road to the conservatorship began with a series of mental health crises in the mid-2000s. She was involuntarily hospitalized twice in January 2008, following a difficult custody dispute over her two children with ex-husband Kevin Federline, who was granted sole custody by a judge.

Since then, Spears has embarked on four worldwide tours and completed a residency in Las Vegas, where fans bought 900,000 tickets for nearly 250 performances.

In her remarks Wednesday, the singer said she had sometimes felt forced to perform.

Vivienne Thoreen, an attorney for Jamie Spears, said in a statement that her client “is sorry to see his daughter suffering and in so much pain.”
Mr. Spears loves his daughter, and misses her very much,” Thoreen said.

The former teen star ended her remarks on a plaintive note. “I wish I could stay with you on the phone forever, because when I get off the phone with you, all of a sudden I hear all these no’s — no, no, no,” Spears told the courtroom.

“I feel ganged up on, and I feel bullied, and I feel left out and alone,” she said. “And I’m tired of feeling alone. I deserve to have the same rights as anybody does, by having a child, a family — any of those things.”

From Huffington Post

What is this? free her please, its been too long...why will they dictate that she cant make more babies? this is sick!

18 comments:

1. Make babies as in marry and give birth or ...

I guess she couldn't control the fame then.

1. If you listen to her songs in the early 2000s you will understand that she has been crying out but we were bumping our heads..Listen to ''Overprotected, Stronger than yesterday, Am not a girl not yet a woman'' so much subliminal messages there..They should free her abeg....

2. She had a nervous breakdown back then but she is over it now for years. Has released many successful albums. Her dad took advantage of her situation because he is cashing out big by being in charge.
      I doubt he has ever worked anywhere since he was made administrator of her finances.
      For fucks sake, she is almost forty years. Can she have her life back please

2. I don't know why but would like to read comments from those that are knowledgeable about her situation

3. Baba Spears should have let go of her finances since na. She's an adult, 39yr old woman. I trust my Naija people, the children will manage ghier money themselves. Trust wizkid is managing his finances himself even though he may have a banker or financial advisor.

1. You didn't read the part explaining that her dad and lawyer were empowered by the courts to take over her finances following mental breakdowns that have not resurfaced for many years. It is not about your favourite musicians and where they are from but legal loopholes that turned this particular human being into a slave and cash cow.

4. Let’s even assume she’s mentally unstable.
    When did the courts start deciding how a mentally unstable person can spend HER OWN money.
    Whose business is it? I have never heard of something like this before.
    Hian.

1. She's an American,things actually work that way there.If your money is causing you more harm than good,your family and the law can actually do something to tame you and your expenses.

2. Simply put,her money was intoxicating her,she was wild and overspending all she had on irrelevant things that could harm her so her father and lawyer took charge of her life and earnings until she was forced to be a better person but even at that they don't still trust her mental health,she might go rogue again.

5. Years ago Britney's Fame and money was causing her more harm than good,She had a mental breakdown at some point and was even hospitalized,shortly later she was devorced and the ex was given sole custody of the kids,she broke down again and was using drugs,The family and the lawyers intervened and took charge of all her incomes and monitored her expenses.But years has passed and she has fixed her life and things have changed and she's better now but the law is yet to be adjusted so yes! She deserves to take charge of her life and money#freeBritney.

1. The courts should have her assets and accounts audited. I don't think the conservators were any better than Britney in squandering the money. At least, I'd she was buying drugs for herself, she would be enjoying her money and not working for those who are still pilfering it.

6. Before someone shouts #freeBritney has there been any confirmed report(s) that her father, family or lawyer has been taking either advantage of her situation to mismanage her finances or other aspects of her live.

1. Whether or not the father is taking advantage isn't the issue. The question is " Is there still any basis for the conservatorship to still exist?" Is she still at risk? if the answers to these are no, no matter how good her dad has managed her finances, she should be allowed to live her life free of interference like we all do in Society.

2. She has a contraceptive device in her body against her will. Bruh, let her squander it and be bankrupt than have another professional rape carried out on her by a medical professional. She won't be the first or last singer to go bankrupt. The Braxtons also recovered from financial recklessness. She'll be fine.

7. Oops I did it again๐Ÿ’ƒ๐Ÿ’ƒ

8. Maybe she takes drugs

9. Thank you anon for your response