Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: The Adventures Of Oko Ashawo The Uber Driver - 81

Saturday, June 19, 2021

The Adventures Of Oko Ashawo The Uber Driver - 81

If others are trying to bring you down, it only shows one thing – You are above them

I have a friend who used to mock and look down on me because I chose to drive when things went bad for me. He was really doing very well for himself but lost his job last year during the pandemic. He sold his 2 cars to provide for his family and start a business but lost everything. Eventually, he has joined me in the Uber business with a car he got on hire purchase and seeks my advice from time to time.

While in traffic a few days ago, I observed how the hawkers hustled to sell their wares. This reminded me of my past struggles especially during those days I didn’t know where the next meal would come from. Indeed, there is dignity in labour and I applaud all those who do all it takes to eke a living legitimately.

A woman in a bus beside my car in traffic attempted buying Gala from one of these hawkers but the boy didn’t have change. At that moment, the most unimaginable thing happened. This woman threw the Gala on the floor and as the boy tried to pick it up, an oncoming car ran over it. This boy ran after the bus but the traffic had cleared in front and he couldn’t catch up.

I saw how this boy cried and cursed the woman who made him lose his precious commodity. I beckoned on him to come and I gave him N1,000 Naira. I saw his face light up and his countenance changed as he thanked me profusely. I was glad I added value to someone’s life on that day.

As for that woman, she does not need any curses as she is cursed already. I hope she realizes in future that it is her wickedness that is acting against her when she experiences problems sooner or later in life.

*As you don dash the boy money mean say you go curse the woman?
you be God? car must have been moving and the boy ma have been slow to reach her.. Do you know if she did not get the kinda gala she wants?
I have bought something before in traffic, egg roll, when i opened it i saw a fly and rotten egg.

18 comments:

1. I'm super proud of you Oko Ashawo. You did the right thing by giving that boy money.

If truly that woman purposely threw the Gala on the floor, that's really bad.

I understand the vehicle may have moved and the woman had no choice but throw the stuff on the floor.

OA, why you dey join curse the woman?

2. A little act of kindness goes a long way , people are really struggling to survive.

3. I taya for this life, I'm always careful how I treat people but.... If you do me anyhow eeee, chai .... I swear down, you go collect anyhow. Na so we see am.

4. Too bad of that woman to trow the gala on the floor. Thanks for helping the boy.

5. I’m going to play devil’s advocate and say that the woman wasn’t trying to be wicked when she threw the gala on the road.

You said the boy didn’t have change so she had to return it and I’m sure the moment the bus started to move, the woman had no choice than to throw the boy’s commodity back at him. She probably didn’t have the chance to hand it back to him in his hands and she didn’t want to keep what she didn’t pay for. It’s very plausible that was the case. It’d only be wicked if the bus had been stationary and she just threw it on the ground.
    You did good by giving the boy N1k but you’ve just rubbished that good deed by disparaging that woman.

1. Thank you Snarker. Well said ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿฟ

2. Spot on๐Ÿ‘

3. Most of those boy especially the younger ones are heartless. Give them higher denominations to get balance for you & the will disappear with your money leaving you stranded.

One boy on traffic at Aba sold bread that has mucous because I was pitting him from running & when my brother looked at the loaves of bread & found out that one was bad , do you know what he told in anger " look at you see how a small boy played you" I looked foolish before my brother. Since then what I'll do to them is what that woman did,once you don't have change keep your items. And I must
      scrutinize your items very well before I make my purchase no matter how long or how far you run along because I can't be fooled again.

6. God bless you OA for helping out the boy. None of us should look down on the next person, really; no matter our station in life. It’s foolish to conclude on a living breathing human. This life na turn by turn.

Okay, am I the only one that looks forward to Stella’s bashing of OA? I think she keeps it real for the young man. El Oh El ๐Ÿ˜€

7. St Elsewhere Phoenix19 June 2021 at 14:05

๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ @fly and rotten egg. Oko Ashawo you did well o. That woman no try one bit. Thank God the bus ran over the gala not the gala seller. Kindness is an important virtue

8. How much be the gain sef? How you go throway the thing for ground?

I understand that the vehicles always move but she could have made extra efforts to tell the driver to stop while she returns the Gala to the poor boy.

Anyway, if she was wicked on purpose, she'll receive her reward

1. How do you know she didn't ask the driver to stop? Were you the fly perched on the window? Do you think Lagos Danfo drivers are Uber that will stop and start for you because you chose to do shopping in the middle of traffic? Try it na, lmaoooo.

Oko Driver, thank you for giving...1k given freely.it will come back to you in multiple ways. That is the eternal of sowing and reaping.

Not all these tight fisted greedy characters that are always looking for ways to take take take take. Irritating.com.

9. Well done oko ashewo, God bless you

10. You did well oko asewo, but I believe the woman didn't do that intentionally.

11. Stella dear, your response feels more like an attack ...
    Don't forget Oko Ashewo was the one there .. Just as Yoruba will say "Pele Ni all, O ni abo (there is a sorry that bringeth peace , and a sorry that calls for war)"..

Thier vehicles were side by side, so if she had done it out of kindness, he wouldn't type what he type..

You mean because she didn't get her gala type gives her the right to act wicked?

Seeing a fly on your snack is different from the story given here.. ma fi Ku we orun (don't compare sleep with death)..

I have gotten things in traffic before and cases of no change has occured with traffic almost clearing up, if I don't have a choice but to throw it, I will in my loud voice let the seller know I am about throwing in my kindest of voice with I am sorry ..

If the woman was kind, it's the car that crushed the gala the boy would have laid a curse on, not the woman . It's a very logical something....

You can't say you've not seen some actions that has moved you to lay additional curse on behalf of the victim ..

God bless you Oko Ashewo..

1. You go fear analysis nah ๐Ÿ˜Š
      Really, you spoke well๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿฟ
      I also think since the boy laid curses on the woman and not the car, it's most likely she's the one at fault.
      It cuts both ways. We have bad hawkers and also have bad passengers. Passengers have given hawkers incomplete monies before, even mutilated notes while some hawkers mix good and bad products to sell knowing that there's no time to scrutinize.
      Sometimes, these products are expired. That's how I almost bought expired biscuit in traffic one day.

12. Even if the boy likes he can curse the woman for the rest of his life it will only go back to him. Majority of those hawkers are heartless

13. That's very good of you but I don't think it's right for you to curse the woman.