Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Twitter Reacts To Suspension Of It's Operation In Nigeria

Saturday, June 05, 2021

Twitter Reacts To Suspension Of It's Operation In Nigeria

Twitter has expressed “deep concern” after Nigerian government announced on Friday that it was suspending its operations in Nigeria.

Sarah Hart, Twitter’s Senior Policy Communications Manager for Europe, Middle East and Africa, made this known in a statement which said the company is investigating the development.

“The announcement made by the Nigerian Government that they have suspended Twitter’s operations in Nigeria is deeply concerning.
We’re investigating and will provide updates when we know more,” the statement said.

39 comments:

1. Clueless, mentally deranged bunch of idiots...

2. πŸƒ‍♂️πŸƒ‍♂️πŸƒ‍♂️πŸƒ‍♂️πŸƒ‍♂️πŸƒ‍♂️πŸƒ‍♂️πŸƒ‍♂️

1. Who the hell is Nigeria Govt fooling! The same Twitter that suspended the most powerful country President as in Donald Trump and nothing happens is here making mockery of themselves suspending Twitter that gives no rat about their stupid and senseless nonsense decision

3. My Twitter app isn’t working anymore πŸ™„

1. Download any VPN app from playstore.

2. Airtel is still on for some strange reasons 9mobile 2.

4. Twitter has been down for hours. Now we all know the extensive powers of the presidency. Deleting the president's tweets and leaving that of those who use the platform to preach about violence in the south east was wrong. Moreover, there was nothing wrong with the president's tweets. The tweets were simply addressing the burning of police stations and INEC offices in the south east . The killing of policemen , immigration officers and the invasion of prison. Those who pretended to be blind to the violence sponsored by Ipob, those who sat on the fence and said nothing, even south elders who are afraid of Ipob suddenly regained their voices when it came to criticising and condemning the president. Pathetic

1. There isn't any difference between you and the people you are accusing because you have also chose to turn a blind eye on what your presidency has been doing thereby promoting disunity and inter tribal clashes within the country. When you point one finger at someone, the remaining 4 points back at you.

All of a sudden the presidency is innocent of allegations 😏.

2. What stupid power? Twitter has nothing to lose but Nigerians and their country does

3. Your leaders have been sponsoring this evasion in the SE by calling them unknown gun runners. How can our leaders be so wicked. The same thing they did to peaceful endsars protesters. This is senseless.

4. So how do u know they are IPOB? Which ones have u tried in open court?

5. You're obviously the pathetic one cos it's obvious where you get your news from.

You named yourself after a philosopher but na Philo you be.

6. It's appalling that you're using VPN to defend Buhari. Yes I know you've downloaded the app. I hope this ban is sustained until after the elections let's see the tool 'APC govt' will use for campaign. Noncheche

7. If you say that tweet was not wrong, its either you did'nt comprehend it or chose not to.

5. This Twitter ban still dey vex me. If Jonathan had acted this way when APC was in opposition, would they have been in power today?

Lie Mohammed and his goons are the real propaganda machine and they are the problem we have in Nigeria today.

Small by small, they'll take the rights of expression from Nigerians abi UARians and we'll be like North Korea.

1. You very irrational dear. Jack came out to openly support the ENDSARS protest in October 2020. Months after Buhari's tweets were deleted ,but those of the coward called Kanu who used his handle to preach violence, praise those killing policemen and destroying federal properties were not deleted. If the government wanted to stop free speech ,they would have taken down the internet

2. Jack knows the truth that's why he's doing what he's doing. Anybody will disregard any president who ignores banditry, rewards boko haram and killer herdsmen, but quick to threaten and kill people who are seeking to secede. Jack knows that it is not good to hold a person trapped in a failed country against their will. It is called fighting for the defenseless!

3. The white..hugging you right here✔️

6. Even if Twitter apologize, they have sent a positive signal to Buhari government. You can not talk anyhow or do anyhow.

1. Apologize thunder! Jack and his gurus apologize to imbeciles for going against their rules? Did they apologize to Donald Trump? It is now bunch of old smelly dumb pigs that they'd apologize to? For? Because? Akuko Mike Ejeahga!

Please my fellow youths ojere, let each and everyone of us take it as a sole responsibility to help our fellow brothers and sisters that doesn't understand how the VPN app work access their various Twitter accounts, we owe ourselves that, we owe Jack that, remember how he assisted us during the end Sars protest? We must return the favor and let him know that we are still the stubborn Nigerian kids Twitting from US, Canada, China et all. These imbeciles thinks they can silence us with their silly old and worn-out backward mindsets? Kor possible ra ra! We are one million miles ahead of them. We movee darlings, we move oo.

2. They should apologise to Donald Trump too ba?

A whole sitting US president.was banned indefinitely. Who is Buhari???

Nne...nkogheri gi a is too early.

7. Please suspend it Buhari. Me I am tweeting from Germany. I don leave UAR for una 🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣

8. The only and greatest achievement of Buhari's government, suspending twitter. Hope Nigerians those who voted buhari are proud of the change they brought. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan God will continue to bless you. Nigerians know your worth now

1. What worth? Smiling like someone in a toothpaste commercial, while ppl under him would be stealing the country blind? Abeg, leave that thing.

2. All of them are bunch of useless leaders, buhari oh, Jonathan o. Their 'uselessness' are just masked in different packages.

9. Augustus Ceaser, ask your friends how vpn works. The goverment has no real powers over Twitter. There are ways around it. What he tweeted was not good and it contained threats of violence against people, referencing a previous war which he took part in without shame. He was a govenor ehen I was 5/6 yrs old and is still I’m power when I’m 52. Geriatric sedated comatose morons in power

10. Good luck Jonathan did say when he leaves you guys will miss him. You didn’t know then that sufferhead in truck loads was coming. I’m glad I left the country just after GEJ’s time. Na laugh I dey laugh now at the people who said I’m going to do slave work in the abroad. Change has come to Nigeria. 419 change. I only did so called slave job for a while and I’m earning six figures in dollars now. Una just start. Let 2022 come in readiness for election. The real side of Buhari is just beginning

1. Jonathan was no better. He had his own 'ish'. The true leader is yet to emerge in Nigeria.

2. Atleast Jonathan respected your human rights. This one is directly stripping you of it asin ...in your darn face and you can't do nothing about it...incapacitated is the word. Go figure

3. Thank you o. At least he respected rights of citizens. The abuse and insults this man received, he never banned social media. Facebook and Instagram ban is coming next. Then you guys will really see crazy. How much was bag of rice and exchange rate to the dollar in 2015.

4. Human rights as in collapsed institutions, skyrocketing inflation, lack of infrastructure, unemployment, unpaid salaries/pension...? Which infraction of human rights pass those ones? No be d living dey do Facebook?

5. ...lol Now sum up the above areas you just listed and be sincere if they haven't worsened since this dispensation...lastly Add lack of human rights too. Dont be myopic Anon. 'Facebook' and 'Twitter' is a source of living to some. Always know when to surrender my dear Anon. I really hope you come back and read this comment