Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Bill Cosby Has Been Released From Jail As Court Overturns Sexual Assault Conviction

Thursday, July 01, 2021

Bill Cosby Has Been Released From Jail As Court Overturns Sexual Assault Conviction

Bill Cosby walked out of a prison in Pennsylvania as a free man on Wednesday June 30,2021 after nearly three years behind bars when the state’s highest court ruled that he was wrongly convicted of s#xually assaulting a woman.

Cosby’s release was a sudden and shocking turn in the saga of a man who had once been one of America’s most beloved entertainers but who has faced dozens of assault allegations in the past two decades. His conviction in 2018 followed one of the most high-profile trials of the #MeToo era.

In contrast to the tumult that surrounded his trial and conviction, Cosby was released from a state prison in Collegeville, Pa., shortly before 2:30 p.m., with no members of the news media in position yet to record it.

“I have never changed my stance nor my story. I have always maintained my innocence,” Cosby tweeted Wednesday night. “Thank you to all my fans, supporters and friends who stood by me through this ordeal. Special thanks to the Pennsylvania Supreme Court for upholding the rule of law.”

The Pennsylvania Supreme Court ruled that a prosecutor’s decision in 2005 that he would not pursue a criminal case against Cosby prompted Cosby to utter self-incriminating statements at his civil trial — which a subsequent prosecutor then used to convict him. That violated Cosby’s Fifth Amendment rights, wrote Justice David Wecht.

Wecht said that Kevin Steele, the current district attorney of Montgomery County, Pa., was obligated to stand by his predecessor Bruce Castor’s promise not to charge Cosby. The court deemed Steele’s violation so “vast” that it ruled his office may not put Cosby on trial for those charges again.

Cosby was brought to trial in April 2018 after at least 60 women had accused him of drugging and sexually assaulting them. The allegations dated back as far as the 1960s, when Cosby was a rising young comedian and Emmy-winning co-star of the TV program “I Spy.” Cosby’s early stardom made him a breakthrough figure, one of the first Black performers to achieve mass popularity.

He went to star in a long series of humorous television commercials, write best-selling books dispensing fatherly advice and headline other TV shows. The peak of his national acclaim was between 1984 and 1992, the years in which he appeared as Cliff Huxtable on “The Cosby Show” on NBC. The sitcom dominated TV ratings and helped revive its ailing network.

His trial centered on allegations by just one woman, Andrea Constand, who accused Cosby of assault in 2004, when she worked for Temple University, Cosby’s alma mater. She testified that Cosby, who served on the Philadelphia school’s board of trustees, had given her a pill that made her unable to control her limbs, and that he violated her at his Cheltenham home.

from the Washington post.

16 comments:

1. It is well with you jare....

We all should be careful about this sexual assault oooo especially we men,,no one want to if you are innocent or not..u go reach court before anything oooo

2. Awon MeToo people will not like oooooo

3. Congrats to him. He still do the time he was in

4. I'm glad he didnt die in prison

5. Good for him. I hope they also overturn his reputation that they've shattered!

1. Who shattered his reputation??
      Did you not read when he admitted drugging one of the victims?? He was guilty of that and still is.

2. Don't believe everything you read. A lot of people in America confess to lesser crime (that they mostly didint commit) so they won't get 300yrs prison sentences.

Your comment shows you don't understand criminal justice system in USA and it's hostility against black people.

The allegation against him was by one person...yet he was brought to court in chains in both hands and legs. Yet They didn't do same thing for weinstein (who was confirmed to be a sex offender).

If you are black. A man. And you live in America...you are twenty times more likely to be jailed for an offence you did not commit and even if you commit...more likely to get ten times harsher sentence.

3. @Anon 10:36. Really nice of you to reply @Anon 10:18. I generally let such folks wallow in their ignorance. No time!

6. I'm happy for him. He did the time even though not too long. I'm glad he came out of it alive. Congratulations Mr Cosby!

1. He didn't do any tangible time for such crime.

2. Thank you Eka Joy for believing in Bill Cosby for 4 consecutive years.na strong woman you be.

Had to read old posts. He has a special Thanksgiving with his creator.

7. To his family, it's a miracle.

Mercy just located this man.

We move

Men world I guess...

8. Oh bill welcome back.
    Say no to Rape
    The society deserves responsible and contented MEN

9. He got off on a technicality. This ruling proves that he did it but got a get out of jail card. Money was talking but luckily, he also talked and now we know. Enjoy freedom Mr rapist.