Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: NBC Orders Media Outlets To Stop Revealing Victims And Details Of Terrorist Attacks

Friday, July 16, 2021

NBC Orders Media Outlets To Stop Revealing Victims And Details Of Terrorist Attacks

The National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) has ordered television and radio stations in Nigeria to desist from revealing “details” of the activities of bandits, terrorists and kidnappers in their reports.

NBC made this known in a statement titled, ‘Newspaper Reviews And Current Affairs Programmes: A Need For Caution’, which was signed by the Director, Broadcast Monitoring, Francisca Aiyetan, on behalf of the new Director-General of the Commission, Balarabe Ilelah on Friday.

“Headlines of most Newspapers on a daily basis are replete with security topics. While bringing information on security to the doorsteps of Nigerians is a necessity, there is a need for caution as too many details may have an adverse implication on the efforts of our security officials who are duty-bound to deal with the insurgency.

“The Commission, therefore, enjoins broadcasters to collaborate with the government in dealing with the security challenges by;

“Not glamourising the nefarious activities of insurgents, terrorists, kidnappers, bandits etc

“Advising guests and/or analysts on programmes not to polarise the citizenry with divisive rhetoric, in driving home their point.

“Not giving details of either the security issues or victims of these security challenges so as not to jeopardise the efforts of the Nigerian soldiers and other security agents.”

“The broadcaster shall not transmit divisive materials that may threaten or compromise the divisibility and indissolubility of Nigeria as a sovereign state.

“In reporting conflict situations, the broadcaster shall perform the role of a peace agent by adhering to the principle of responsibility, accuracy and neutrality,” the statement read in part.

From dailypost

*Good move

18 comments:

1. That’s how North Korea started.soon we won’t even be able to say anything anymore.

2. Kill and hide
    Is that the new modus operandi?😳😳😳😳

3. I know it will come to this sooner than later. The government is trying too hard to hide their incompetency over the monster they created. They shouldn't report the activities of Boko Haram, northern banditry, kidnapping and 'herdsmenism' but they should report when it has to do with lies being peddled about peaceful agitators in the East.

Just yesterday, a military major was killed my this terrorist. Had it been it was in the East, it would have been labeled IPOB and ESN.

Truth is that, Nigerian government knows what they are doing and at this point, they are trying to gag the press. We shall continue watching but very certain, the chicken will definitely come home to roost.

1. You will never see anything good about the government. But you see all that's good in Ipob and ESN.

2. I hope they also hide the victims of the so-called ESN attacks. If you expose the victims of ESN and hide that of bandit and boko haram terrorists, then it is triple standard. I know this is coming after we all mocked them after the emir was abducted in Kaduna with his family! They cannot hide their incompetence. Instead of fixing their mess, they are looking for a way to hide its consequences. Well the blogs are there to expose them!

3. The bandits are graduating to bigger victims and the powers that be are embarrassed at what is going on, now the solution is to cover the victims and the crime so that the world will not know. They have slaughtered a general in Abuja! What ever they sow, they will reap!

4. God will punish every evil leader in Nigeria.

5. They don't want us to know what is happening around us and whom it's happening to😏

1. They want to hide from the international communities the killings of indigenous people by their kinsmen. Unfortunately, it's pretty too late.

As the fourth estate of the realm in the society, the media and press shouldn't be gagged. They serve as a tools in the reportage of government rascality. Unless we have gone back to the dark days of the military.

2. They can't hide anything, the blogs and the social medias are there to expose them! The bought over mainstream media can cover for them, but the social media will keep exposing their evil.

6. I like this, it was becoming very disturbing. News outlets like Sahara reporters report security issues as if they are celebrating the activities of insurgents, separatists and bandits. For those who see only what is wrong with government, NBC didn't ask broadcast media not the report the truth. Government is simply saying do everything in moderation. Do not glamorise killings . When you invite the so called analyst, make sure you don't allow them to be divisive . At some point the press in America was giving excessive publicity to individuals who are arrested for terrorist activities and those who kill . But today emphasis is on the crime committed not the person who committed the crime

1. You guys have no place to hide your mess. Better fix your mess rather try to fix it. The social medias and foreign based blogs are there to give it to us hot hot. Una never begin shame, na now una wan cover your mess.

7. I don't even know whether to say this is a good idea no not πŸ€”

8. Not giving details of either the security issues or victims of these security challenges so as not to jeopardise the efforts of the Nigerian soldiers and other security agents.”

This is the main object of this notice. They don't want media houses to give details of activities of bandits so they can cover their crimes. How will people be security conscious if they don't know what is happening around them?
    This is a very bad policy that should be rejected by all media outlets. This irresponsible government is really out to gag the media but they won't be here forever. God will judge them for all the atrocities committed to against the πŸ‡³πŸ‡¬ people. They came in using media propaganda and now are looking for every opportunity to gag the same media.

1. Exactly... They want to be covering up for their complicity in all of this. They don't want people to know what their kinsmen are doing.

9. They should be reporting o. Weak govt.

Tomorrow Mr. Lair Mohammed will grant interview that they have crushed terrorists, bandits, herdmens, etc if they stop reporting.

You can't eat your cake and have it.