Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: UK Govt Seeks Clarification On The Re-arrest Of IPOB's Nnamdi Kanu

Thursday, July 01, 2021

UK Govt Seeks Clarification On The Re-arrest Of IPOB's Nnamdi Kanu

The British High Commission has said it will engage the Nigerian Government over the rearrest of Nnamdi Kanu, leader of the Indigenous People of Biafra, IPOB.

Dean Hurlock, a spokesperson of the British High Commission, disclosed that the commission is “in the process of seeking clarification” from the federal government over Kanu’s rearrest.

In the message, Hurlock said the UK Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office “stands ready to provide consular assistance”, TheCable reports.

The IPOB leader, who has a British passport was arrested by Nigerian security agents and extradited to Nigeria on Sunday.

Kanu was extradited to continue his trial before the Justice Binta Nyako-led Federal High Court sitting in Abuja.

The IPOB leader is facing trial for committing treason.

Kanu’s brother, Emmanuel had disclosed that the IPOB leader was picked up in Kenya over the weekend.
from dailypost.

41 comments:

1. I wrote yesterday it was Kenya he was intercepted but some persons came under me to spew thrash. Truth is that some of us knew what went wrong and the governors in the East responsible in this, but in the right time it will be lay bare for all to see their doings.

If you sell your brother, your buyers Won't trust you either.

The UK are in order since he's a citizen. Let's see how things goes.

1. Why do you believe the brothers statement?
      Teejay, your president is finished. I'm sure you know this.

2. Anonymous 08:31, it's not all about Kanu but Nigeria on its precipice. We don't know what may come out of this but all I will say is that caution shouldn't be thrown to the wind.

3. Those of you who still believes in prayer just like I do, should pray fervently for the cloud is very uncertain. Just like I said before, Nigeria is on its precipice and the government is fast playing into the hands of its destruction.

Just last night Sunday Igboho's house was attacked by the military. People were killed property burnt and destroyed. Very soon there will be a nation wide unrest all over the country. The government is setting a keg of gun powder that sooner or later will explode. I want to ask, who are the advisers to this government?

4. Teejay Nna, there is no precipice. See ehh, MNK starting losing popularity by the happenings in Owerri. He became a dictator to most people. Releasing those prisoners from jail was a miscalculation. They started attacking the people and whether you like it or not, it affected him. He is not a good strategist, just loud and uncouth, threatening the catholic Bishop, Bishop Obinna, in Owerri, a predominantly Catholic city ? People are even going about their businesses like nothing happened. One said he should show then his connection na, bring Israel to come and bomb Nigeria. Ike gwuru

5. Anon 10:43, I quite agreed with you that Kanu have his own faults as human and may have acted hastily in some aspects. I for once will never applaud the killings of anyone or destruction of properties like was seen in Owerri and some other part of the South. But understand that, there was no such things before now. What led to it.

If the government didn't fail in their duty and role, we won't be here today witnessing all this. Why is it difficult to genuinely address the agitation? Why attack people whose only crime was exercising their constitional right for self determination?

6. Teejay, the only thing coming out of this is consequences for his actions. UK can’t do more than that press statement and providing consular services to him.

7. Teejay also include the families of all the innocent souls that were killed by this terrorist group in your prayers.

8. Yeah teejay def an African country

Anon 10: 43, I think Nnamdi Kanu has his flaws and I found some of his tactics and mannerisms questionable but you cannot take away the issues he was on about. The issues that birthed a man like him. Those issues are real and present. Even after he has been arrested, those issues remain and they will not disappear with his arrest.

2. Correction!! Kanu was not extradited to Nigeria as there is no evidence of his extradition process anywhere in the world. Rather, Kanu was kidnapped by Nigeria with the help of a foreign actor and brought to Nigeria. That act alone is a crime perpetrated by Nigeria.
    Kanu's haters should not sing Alleluia yet. Uncertain days lies ahead for both Nigeria and Kanu. Nigeria might have gravely miscalculated.

1. Its Kanu that miscalculated, as long as theres no grievance between Nigeria and the country where kanu was recaptured. It was a very smooth and calculated operation.

2. Exactly. It's an extraordinary rendition and a violation of international law. All I pray is that, things should be handled properly so as not to give room for counter reactions capable of destroying this country that's already on its precipice. All we want is a peaceful dissolution.

3. No matter how peaceful and smoothly it goes, Kanu will do serious time behind bars

4. Which international law, when Kanu jumped bail and seemed refuge in UK, where did that international law card come into play?

5. Teejay, Mazi has really brainwashed you people o. Which International law? Do you ow nknow US and UK engage in such rendition? As long as the country he was intercepted in comply’s with the country that wants him, chikena!

6. Teejay, it is also against international law to raid police stations to kill and maim officers and innocent bystanders like boko Haram used to do back then.

Kanu, a former fraudster and no job or investment prior to his fake grandstanding, can't account for the hundreds of millions of naira that were donated to him years back when he was touring the United States. The first time he was caught, it was in a hotel room with a woman who is not his wife. He hastily converted to Judaism when the law was closing in on him and again, he was lured for whatever reason into Africa. I hope it won't be because of another woman or wads of cash he was hoping to embezzle once again.

This man looked at a certain percentage of fellow Igbos who he claims to want to save and decided that those ones would serve as collateral damage. That is where the party ended for him. Kanu has no single investment in Nigeria. He takes turns with his Igbo sisters only to call them prostitute on air after he has had his fill. He is not the first to promise Uhuru in Africa and deliver hell. We've had the Mugabes, Mobutus and Gaddafis. Samuel Does and that pilfering idiot from the Gambia. So many if them gave promised Naira and dollar 1:1 Lori iro over here too. Wetin we see. Go and look for any positive impact the Niger Delta militants had in any of their villages except personal mansions. No be today good people begin fall mugu. Cut your losses and call it a day. At least, you are yet to bury your relatives or lose your shop.

3. UK government is low key happy Nnamdi kanu is not on their soil, I can see their imaginary hands behind the curtains on his recapture. Their "seek clarifications" is just the usual procedure and dialogue when a holder of a British citizen passport is apprehended.
    Kanu will not escape the claws of Nigerian government. Hes toast.

1. He may not escape the claws of the Nigerian govt. but a storm is brewing...if I were you lot I will not rejoice ooo!

2. Which yeye storm?
      Hes being charged with treason, hes already a sinking ship, anyone around him will go down with him, even his followers are beginning to see the fraud he is.

3. Which storm? The only storm is that, tour people will kill n burn each other's houses n properties in the east. You cannot cross to Aso rock and do shit.

4. I am not really in support of nnamdi KANU but these clowns in government house are evil.I pity people supporting them.bandits do all sort of things in the north but you ignore them.they are religious bigot and they don't hide it.

1. The government has failed woefully on the issue of security but imagine the horror of being killed like rats by the touts of a tout claiming that those killings will liberate you. Them dey liberate for inside grave?

5. Oh so he is a British citizen causing problems in Nigeria. Una never see anything. Shebi una say Buhari dey clueless.

6. It is well with Nigeria. God Almighty turn around the situations for us. We need peace and goodness in this country Amen.

Those killing this country, may they forever receive confusion and destruction in their lives Amen

7. Nnamdi Kanu thought that because he is a British citizen, he's untouchable. How mistaken he was!

1. That was his fortress.
      Imagine how naked he feels.

8. The media perpetrating lies will be the downfall of this country..
    misleading headlines everywhere, NL inclusive

9. Something is wrong with their "Ultra-Secret Intelligence Mission’ "if they are desperately testing waters with the release of these their useless information leaving political analyst to give their opinions on the matter so that they can use it to rewrite their faulty script! This government is utterly shameless if they are this desperate about Nnamdi Kanu but not about Fulani herdmen, the whole country has been complaining about which led to the ESN picking up arms. Has the federal government till date addressed the issue NO!!!They are also pure scammers if they can apprehend Kanu in this manner but cannot apply the same"Ultra-Secret Intelligence Mission’" to bring an end to banditary and kidnapping ravaging this country for years now!...
    Copied.

1. Thanks for saying it for me. They have all it takes to 'apprehend' the likes of Nnamdi yet they couldn't apprehend Shekau. Herders and bandits are still walking free, causing collateral damage in Nigeria and their 'intelligentsia' can do nothing. Rubbish!

10. Happy new month beautiful people.
    May God fix it for us.

NK, Okechi ga emere gi amara. Tukwasi Ya obi.

11. What clarification are they seeking for? Nnamdi Kanu is done. He will end up dead in and nothing will happen. Offending in Fendi while telling his followers to take up arms against the state, stupid, misguided ignorant lots. Imagine him dressed in Fendi on the streets of owerri calling on his people to take up arms and fight, will you listen to him? He is callous, greedy, a cheat, uncouth, wicked, selfish and uncaring about the plight of the Igbos. He has put the Igbos to shame, the Igbos have been defeated and will remain defeated for as long as Nigeria remains an entity. If anyone among his followers has any iota of purpose in life, should denounce him now and move on with his or her life, there will never be a Biafra, the Biafran agitation is dead and buried with Nnamdi Kanu’s arrest and eventual death in detention and nothing, I reiterate, nothing will happen, I’m outtie

12. The British embassy gave him a new passport to escape from Nigeria. The government of Nigeria should ignore them. Though they have denied issuing a new passport to the coward, the managing director of THISDAY newspaper asked them to explain how Kanu got the passport to escape and askd them if their home office would give a new passport to anybody who is undergoing trial for treason and his passport deposited with a court. The British embassy hasn't provided answers

1. You see.
      Those UK ppl are like a double edge sword. They can sell and buy

13. I wish Kanu remain low key with the ESN and fulaniherds, it would have been better.
    But this man was turning to a dictator, insulting, threatening people, if you refuse to follow or do his wish. Many of those policemen killed were innocent, am not disputing the fact that we have the bad ones.
    5 or 6years time can he maintain the ESN? Next is another round of boko haram raised in the east. Kanu you have a lot of supporters Nna, but the way you going about it is a no no.
    You should also be here as a true leader. They should make him come to National Tvs and apologize and talk sense into all the boys he has brain damaged. Then peaceful talk with the government.
    There is a reason water is used on fire. War, War, when it starts, how many of us can fly our families out. Make una chill for this country.

1. Anon God bless you. Some of these people shouting war! War! are young people. Some of them were not even born during June 12 crisis when we were closing down our businesses and packing all our living and non living things trying to run back to the East. Lots of people died on the highway in the process. Imagine if it was real war, come on Covid lock down people came out like savages looting Semo and noodles. Let’s all continue to pray and strive for peace, good governance in our land. God bless you all.

2. You made sense. If this ESN was targeting criminal bandits and beefing up security in the south east, Kanu would have been a political God to the Igbos. Instead of that, what did he turn to? A dictator leading am army of home-grown bandits who kill and Rob their own. Killing innocent policemen and people just trying to feed their families. How would such an Abacha incarnate lead a people? He should continue his aluta from the prison yard. At least, he will better understand the plight of those his boys have been terrorising.

14. What of Shekau? Was he just "killed" to avoid extradition as well? This is obviously ..."very clear to all" now.

1. If you are in the front like wearing rags and fighting you will get killed. If you are gallivanting all over the world and dripping in Fendi you will get arrested. Capiche?