Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Dr Freaks Journal - Stop Playing 'God' In People's Lives...

Thursday, August 26, 2021

Dr Freaks Journal - Stop Playing 'God' In People's Lives...

This is a must read!!!

2006:

It happened in my Law School year.

Before an intending candidate can get called to the Nigerian Bar, it is a condition precedent that he must be "sponsored" by two (2) members of the "Body of Benchers/Life Benchers".

The Nigerian Law School ("NLS") is one of the most organized institutions in Nigeria! Barring all unforeseen circumstances, the NLS's calendar is "cast in stone", but due to the importance of the "Sponsor's Form", we were given two days off to enable us to access these highly revered members of the "Body of Benchers/Life Benchers". May the good Lord rest the souls of my two (2) sponsors who willingly sponsored me.

A call-mate was not as lucky as the rest of us. I would say that he "was troubled from the home" (remotely controlled) as of all the colours in the world, he chose to go before this particular "larger than life" Life Bencher in a RED shirt! 

At the material time, even up till this moment, most of us were/are encouraged to wear "sober" colours during official hours. The revered legal icon found this offensive and "gladly" commented on his form that he was NOT "fit and proper" to get called to the Nigerian Bar (that is the greatest misfortune that can befall an intending member of the Bar). Coming from this "tin god", that was a verdict! 

All his pleas fell on deaf ears. The old lawyer called the NLS and "directed" that the young man should not get called to the Bar that very year, (maybe the year after and in the Legal Profession where seniority meant everything, that would have dealt him a heavy blow).

The young man came back feeling so dejected. The officers in charge of the process were helpless because one of the "Baba Isales" (Grand Masters) of the profession had spoken and his voice carried so much force and authority.

Fast forward,

Few days to the Bar Part II Examinations, tragedy struck and the nation was thrown into mourning mood! A legal icon had just been given up the ghost! Lo and behold, it was the highly revered "Life Bencher". May his soul continue to rest in perfect peace. Few days after, the most senior officer in charge of the process invited the young man into her office, broke the news to him and gave him a fresh form which he eventually took before fresh Benchers for requisite action.

Today, the young man is sixteen (16) years old at the Bar and I'm sure the gentleman is doing great.

Take Away:

︎This piece does not seek to mock or speak ill of the dead;
︎Neither does it seek to encourage non-compliance with the laid down rules and regulations;

︎However, it seeks to preach flexibility and leniency. Even The Maker of Man and the Creator of the Universe is a God of second chance;
︎Stop playing god in people's lives, because you are not God!

You are a mere mortal.

Dust!

Its Kunle!

37 comments:

1. I hope some people will recognise that they are not God but mere mortals who are not here to stay.

1. Hmmmm

If we start to talk about our legal career journey ehnnn...

Is it Uni days we had to dress down so they won't walk you out or raise one nonsense query for you to answer?

Or the fact that my colourful hairstyles had to rest for plain boring colours?

Or licking lecturers ass before somebody will go and declare you unfit for the bar because you are fine

Or is it male lecturers that pressures fear fear girls to fuck them?

Or making you bring Oba of Benin to beg them to forgive you for missing attendance; meanwhile you came o. But they kept you outside

Mehnn they messed up my fashion love with their boring clothes.

That time me sef no dey hear word because e dey do me like say na my papa force me because me wanted to become Genevieve no 2. But now I am soo happy with myself and law career jare.

2. I think when you are in a certain position ,you will be more careful how you deal with those that are yet to get there,if not whatever you do will be tagged pride or you playing God even when they are at fault.I have learnt a lot from people around.

2. Hmmmmm! Thanks for the reminder. We all need to be humble especially when we are rising to higher positions. Imagine bringing down someone because of color of shirt. How petty! I'm sure that wasn't the first time he was doing something like that.

1. Be humble but don't be stupid.
      I have seen someone feeling rejected not because of whatever condition, but his bad behaviour is not acceptable.
      Make sure you do what is right and hope on God.

3. May God bless the most senior officer in charge of the process who remembered the young man.

4. YOU WRITE LIKE A LAWYER THAT YOU ARE. VERY BRILLIANT. I LIKE

5. Like what I was discussing with my colleague this morning that I hate to see one bragging that they will deal with you , threatened to kill someone or wishing that bad thing happens to someone.
    The question I will first ask ,what if you slept and did not wake up?

We can never compare God with mere mortal,Don't place hope on human being.
    Man is not God.

6. Please tell this to the Godfathers in Nigeria politics

7. Hmmmmm life, I remember g getting to campus few years ago ,to hear that a lecturer who vowed to make my life miserable and fail me in his course has passed on just few days to exam, it was a sad incidence as the man is a young vibrant guy, but I was sad about his demise ,but then I also looked at the bright side, may God forgive me

8. Hhhhhmmmm,food for thought.

Lovelace

9. Wow wow...nice piece...This is so deep...

10. There are mere mortal evil souls I heard they threatened to kill me.Not like I know them from any where, I laugh because God is way bigger than their evil plans.
    As they wish,that's how it will go back to them in thousands folds.

11. As in..... alot of Nigerians like to play god in some positions they find themselves

12. Well written and very educative.

13. It's Mr Kunle again 😃
    As usual,this is a nice and educative write-up.
    Hmmm..Stop playing God's in people's lives because u aren't GOD".👌

14. The fear of not being fit and proper then.

15. I pray God will teach humans more lesson on this, it's really too much in this part of the world.

1. He sure the greatest.
      Do anyhow he will humble you.

16. A very big lesson for us all. A little flexibility can change the future of someone.

17. A very big lesson for us all. A little flexibility can change the future of someone.

18. Hmmmm,t=uly this world is deeper than we think,l always look forward to your post, keep doing this good work sir

19. Lawyer kunle... Always on point with his keyboard

20. I love your write up, very educative and entertaining. We should not be too quick to judge someone.

21. Mr. Kunle has never disappointed with his write ups. Very educative, informative and hilarious 😁

22. Thank you for this wonderful piece, it's reminder that we should always do good to our fellow humans, may God help us to be good

23. Hmm.... Reminds me of one mamalawo in my area. She disguised her mamalawo activities in the form of a white garment church. She was find of threatening to deal with people - boasting that no herbalist, pastor or alfa will be able to deliver anybody she deals with. It was a great shock when we heard that she died suddenly without prior sickness. People were happy ehn, but they couldn't show that they were happy before her family members will start saying another thing.

1. Powerless powers
      When your life is in God's hands.

24. This life eh... they should continue playing God bless they won't know the one that will fill the cup

25. This comment has been removed by the author.