Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Couch Convo - Nigeria And Soaring Food Prices..

Wednesday, September 29, 2021

Couch Convo - Nigeria And Soaring Food Prices..

Food items in Nigeria is reportedly so expensive now that some people cannot afford to buy a full tuber of yam anymore but buy the ones cut in pieces as circled in the photo...

Do you know that Bens is now cheaper than rice?

Are there particular states where you find food items cheaper is this an all round thing?

59 comments:

1. Stella its all around oh...I went to the market over the weekend and spent 6k to buy small soup and stew things...I just dey vex, to haggle prices sef wahala...I just tire....Beans is big man food now...On Monday, price of bread don increase..I am just tired of complaining...

Yam is now sold by slices....I just pray we are not in the time of people killing their children just to eat like in the bible...Chineke nna zoputa anyi o

1. I am never lucky with beans in this Abuja. I am always buying the ones that will spend 3 hours on the fire, yet will not be totally soft. I dont really like white beans.

2. My own question is what concerns foreign currency with Nigeria local food items?

2. This is so heart breaking, I'm trying hoping things would get better.

3. Beans cheaper than rice where?

4. Nooo! Beans is more expensive than rice. A derica of sweet beans here in Lagos is #700 while long grain rice is #500

5. Stella I think you meant to say beans is costlier than rice. Who would have thought.
    Gas is now #700
    Everything is on the high. No need to complain again

That was how I was craving yam the other day and went to buy. Very small tuber of yam that's not even enough for three people they told me 1000. I kuku Waka comot.
    Yesterday evening my mom and I we harvested three stands of our yam
    I cooked it this morning before I will end up eating it in the dream.

Even in the dream sef, hardship has caught up with winches that they no longer give food too🙄

6. My hubby and I were having a discussion one time and he said he was surprised to see cut cut yam for sale and asked if I’ve bought before,I answered YES Na,when we’re managing here,he gives me money for food and what I do is try to make the money sufficient for the month cos me I’m tired of complaining to him for an increase
    It’s well!

7. But why will they cut it into tiny pieces like this na? It dries out and you need to cut off the surface before u can cook it thereby reducing the size again. What happened to cutting into halves or quarters? It's Good that will save us in this country. Don't know when last I even ate meat and fish cos of the cost.

1. People do buy it.. most times the cut yam are from partially spoiled yam, they cut out the spoilt part and selling the remaining good parts in pieces.... Country hard some people still finds it difficult to afford the pieces yam.

8. I bought a carton of 450g Golden morn at #8,000 on 3rd of August. Today, it's #9200.

1. Na kuku measurements I dey buy... Paint of spaghetti be 1k

2. @toxic please which type of spaghetti do they sell in paint rubber..

3. There is o, pasta, milk, spag usually broken ones and noodles too. It's all the market.

9. Stella, do you mean rice is now cheaper than beans?

10. The cost of food items in Abuja has made me develop shopping trauma.I sent my helper to the market for the first time because I cannot deal abeg.
    What I know is 'WE WILL ALWAYS HAVE FOOD TO EAT BY GOD'S GRACE'

I always think about the very low to no income earners. God!

11. There's no amount of money you send back home now that is ever enough. I don't blame them tho, everything is Nigeria has doubled or tripled in price and not just food oh.

Gas
    Light bill
    Fuel
    Transportation
    Clothes etc

May God deliver Nigeria.

12. It is really bad,even smoked fish some use to augment beef is a no go area,what do want to say about egg,or is it cooking gas?According to our chef Goute,he says and I quote "God will make it a way".

13. Beans is now more expensive thanGos rice you meant? God will help us

14. To cook with meat and fish now is another thing! Too expensive to buy

15. Food is so expensive now that you wonder how people get to survive with the same salary pre 2015
    Its so sad that Nigeria might never go back to pre-2015 again because whatever goes up doesn't come down in Nigeria.

16. And someone is sitting comfortably somewhere in the comfort of his cubicle aka office hailing his boss as the best president Nigeria has ever had. I pray they soon join the queue in purchasing these. #wickedmuch 😒

1. What is your state doing to support farmers ? Blaming Abuja while your redundant governor isn't doing anything to improve agriculture in your state doesn't make sense. I don't see myself criticising the president over the cost of food items. We have 3 rice belts where rice can be cultivated commercially to feed millions of people. But my state governor is only interested in white elephant projects. We punish ourselves unnecessarily , bus drivers woke up last week and arbitrarily increased fares in Benin city, there was no increase in fuel. Companies using local content for production are increasing the cost of their products biweekly. The cost of yam no bad reach to be buying pieces in Benin city.

2. Dont be thick , don't you know that the exchange rate controls everything?
      If prices of things are expensive in the market, I'll also increase the price of the commodity I'm selling to survive. Its common sense. salary earners suffer the most during inflation

3. Anon Dee help me sound it to oga Alexander o!!
      Bros Alex, prices of everything will definitely increase because these bus drivers for instance go to the same market you go to purchase stuff, if they continue offering their services at the same price, how money go balance? It's common sense na.

17. Abeg..make we no talk this issue again..the thing tire me ooooo...

To cook soup now,fear dey always catch us..felt like eating pounded yam, if you see the yam I bought,,infact, too expensive..

I never use am pound sef,I kept it in the kitchen..when ever I look at it,I wonder why such is sold for 1k

1. Abeg if you don't want to eat it, please send it down. I love yam eh, it's a pity it's now unaffordable.

18. I bought meat of 6k and it was just in small waterproof bag like that. Last year I used to buy half goat for 6500 or 7k.

19. Every time igo to the market,na vex mood i dey use return

20. Gas to use in cooking the said food is also expensive.

21. I remember those days where this period you could still get yam at 700-800.Now ehn it's 1200 upwards.Imagine what it will be early next year.Na God be our provider so we will not lack..Beans own nahim vex me
    Pass..

22. The seller dey vex, the buyer dey vex. My own now is that which is the best to cook with now looking at how gas has skyrocketed? should I just continue using my hot plate with prepaid? I dont know the one that is more economical again. where are we going from here God come to our rescue.

Please vote out APC and PDP come 2023

23. 4ltrs of Kings oil that was sold for 2,500 is now 6k.
    I now buy the ILtrs in Satchet,it used to be sold for 900,but presently 1,200.and the quatity has reduced.
    A pack of star Maggi is 600, against the 350.Mudu of Egusi is 1,500 against 800.only God can help us in this country.

24. In fact Stella am tired of complaining oh
    Beans is even more expensive than rice, everything is just so expensive in the market.
    Which way Nigeria?

25. Last time I chop meat was at my wedding and yesterday at my sister's place.
    I buy 5pieces Pomo for 200 each for cooking.
    I can't kill myself or my husband on top feeding

26. Yam and plantain is cheap here now, I bough 6 PCs of medium sz yam here 2k, and a bunch of plantain 700, so now na yam n plantain will be our watch word for the month,na as e take,we go dey give am

27. Na to dey enter bush for shopping be that

28. The way things are going up,I don't know how Christmas will be,I pray something happens soon,it scarry

29. Ehn?!!....so Dem Dy cut yam like that sell?😳😳

30. ChopWell Foodmart Ph29 September 2021 at 22:18

As a grocery merchant I always try to bridge the gap between my customers. I bought yams today plus transportation for 54,000 for 100pcs. I'm selling 10pcs for #5,800 The sizes are mixed but the least size I sell in my store is #600 -#650 for those who cannot afford 10pcs.
    I do bulk buying for families it's way cheaper and economical too