Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Saturday In House Gists - One Chance Experiences

Saturday, September 11, 2021

Saturday In House Gists - One Chance Experiences

One chance experiences are horrible to remember  but it is good to recount them as there might be tips therein to help/save someone else from walking the same path....

Once chance experiences vary from taking the wrong transport to love to finances to friendships et al....

Did you have any one chance experience that is worth sharing? Or you heard one that is worth sharing?
Let's gist!

45 comments:

1. I was in my 3rd year in the university. I was very sick that day and decided to go home and treat myself as I was staying alone off campus. I boarded a bus from the campus to gariki in Enugu (for those conversant with there). At gariki ,I was looking out for buses going to town but I couldn't flag down one as I was very weak. Suddenly a taxi stopped infront of me,it had the driver,a bleached out lady in front and another guy at the back. I asked the driver if he was going to town mentioning my route,he said he was..though it wasn't his route but since he wanted to take his car to his mechanic around my route,he decided to pick people..I entered. People were flagging him down but he refused to stop but he was busy looking out for passengers o. Soon he picked another man infront of Royal palace hotels there in gariki and we moved. Not long the last occupant began the normal story,how his stingy boss in Abuja,who he is a driver to was hit by a car and he escaped with his carton of goods in the booth. I was following the story in my mind but I wasn't contributing .so he said he still had the goods which would fetch big money at a warehouse around ziks avenue,and that he had something for all of us if we supported him. Immediately the driver flared up,telling him did he know if he(driver) was a police officer that he divulged such information to him? He feigned anger(I didn't know) the lady infront started begging that we should consider him as he is one of us easterner who just escaped from the north. So the driver told the narrator to show him where the carburetor in a car was so he would know he is indeed a driver.he pointed somewhere around the gear(me kuku no know where that one is located 🤣🤣). The driver said ok he got it right. They now face dme and said I have heard all the guy said so what was my take,I said I was sick and all I needed was to get to IMT bustop full stop. They said they would pass that route but atleast 20,000 for each of us won't be bad,I said,I just want to get home. They changed directions and headed to the so called warehouse.
    The lady decided to go with the narrator as they didn't trust the other man while it remained I,the driver and the other guy. When they left,the driver turned to me ND asked what I thought,that making 20k was not a bad deal,I said,all I wanted was to go home that they should do whatever it was they were doing and drop. All these while I never knew they were fraudsters. I believed that story naively. Soon,the other man said the narrator and the lady were wasting time let him go and see what was holding them and left. At this time,we were parked along the road I just told the driver I was no longer waiting and left cos my body was blazing hot. That was how I escaped oo. I innocently was gisting my mom the incident when she shouted and told me they were fraudsters ooo. I.thanked God that that was how it ended though I had with me 1000naira note,u didn't part with it by God's grace.

1. Mine was many years ago. I was on my way to church. Evening Mass. I was trekking. Not too far from the church, a guy approached me asking for a particular area (cant remember now). He said he was from cotonu and that he came with plenty salon equipment for someone but cant reach. He said if I helped him, he will dash me hair dryer and other equipment. I told him I didnt know the place and left him. Almost immediately, another guy approached me and asked what the guy wanted. I explained. He said he knows the place and that we should help the guy, he will give us salon things. Fear of not attending Mass that Sunday helped me. (my dad was very strict about Sunday Mass) I told the guy I couldn't afford to miss church and that if they could wait for me, after church i will follow them. After church, i was using style to look for them. I felt I had miss an opportunity. It was many months after I got to know they are 419 and that was the new trick in town.

2. I also remember those days of 'pastor looking for the address of a particular sick person', and even after describing the supposed area to them, they will still insist you take them there. My sister and I escaped those ones many times.

3. I have encountered this twice in Abuja. The first encounter, I was picked up by Area 2 shopping complex, second was on my way to Nyanya, I boarded a cab by Area 1 Conoil filling station. Thank God on both occasions, I had heard of this mode of trick by con men. They always move with male and female occupants that way you will not suspect. Thank God too I sat at the entrance seat in the car, first had had the inner door handle removed, as soon as they started the story, I didn't say a word and quickly looked towards the door as they engaged were in telling the story, I just quickly opened the car door amidst the car moving so, they had no other option but to stop and I got out cos they could see I already caught up to them. The second one too they stopped at a bus stop and I just opened the door and got out. They sped off only to go picking up another victim just a few meters from me. I wanted to scream thief!! But something held me back.

4. This same thing happened to me in ibadan.Evil people.

2. This Stella is a deep blogger with great contents.. na sit-down I dey read comment.. one chancers over to us lol..

3. From Okporo road to 1st artillery taxi's were scarce so I got one that has only one space at the front seat, when I got in the other passenger said the seat is too tight I should put my hand and adjust it , later they said they will not reach where I was going, no worry no pay. I was like thank God I can just trek cos it wasn't far again. They removed my 16k when i was busy adjusting the seat.These people used a very old trick on me. I was even ashamed to tell people. Few days later I entered another one again , one man in front came down and handed a foreign currency and started telling that Cotonou story. I jejely came down. That was in 2017

4. I have never boarded a vehicle with one chance but entered the ones with fraudsters severally. For starters, I don't enter private vehicles again. Secondly, I enter buses at their car park and not along the way. Although these are not foolproof, it goes a long way to ensure that one doesn't fall victim of one chance operators.

5. My mum experienced them along Peter Odili road, in PHC.
    They picked her phone from her bag from where she was sitting in front with the driver who asked her to swap seats with someone behind, that he is finding it difficult changing the gears in the car. When she stepped down, they zoomed off.

Thankfully, we were able to block her bank account.

I am also thankful they didn't kidnap the poor woman

6. Na only God dey save Commuters for Lagos. I entered one during my IT days it was a rainy day no bus at the busstop was late to work already so patience was running out, i boarded a wrecked cab (very unusual in lagos) going my route. They started the usual story of money in the booth of thier car. The money was stolen from a boss who wanted to use her and her baby for blood money, after so many supposed miscarriages as claimed by her, sge decided to part with his cartons of money. I just dey look them I was silent through out, when I realised they were 419 I just told them to drop me immediately before it becomes story that touch.

7. Hmmm.. mine was Keke o.. from rumuokoro you needed to see how foolish of me I believed and assisted them only for them to take me to onne and I lost my way started asking people where I can boatf taxi going to apajo.. wen I narrated my experience to my people they just thank God nothing happened to me..

8. Another one was at main gate after second mass.. the way they sweet talk me again I can't tell.. thsts how I psrted my school fees of 14k which wasn't complete sef and said my brother was going to make it as a big Man. Mehn the story long in all I was grateful I came back complete.. imagine them telling me that igbedion has price for me.. they blew 500# into the thin air and commanded it to go to d bank n bring 1k mehn at thet point I was scared and said I wasn't helping again thst am tired.. in all these I was asking myself how I went this far with them

1. Twice! And they got you both times. You are very greedy.

9. My niece who schools in the East experienced them last week.She was on her way to Unizik when they came with the usual story of looking for a popular hotel.She tried directing them but someone who was listening to the conversation begged her to assist them since she seemed like a good girl.My niece entered the car and that was the last thing she remembered.
    We were surprised to see her at home later in the afternoon,she came into the house,picked her mum's phone to make calls and told us the number wasn't reachable.She took her brother's phone to try the number she was calling and that was how she left with the two phones,the money her dad had at home,mum's savings at home and her jewelleries.
    We got a call in the evening that she was found drawing things on the ground close to Unizik junction in Awka.A man who sensed she wasn't in her senses poured cold water on her and she regained her senses.We finally got to know that she handed over phones from her lodgemates,her dad's salesboys, a large sum from her dad's shop and emptied her account.They dropped her at Unizik junction and told her not to speak to anyone or she will die.We are still paying for people's phones even as I type this.

Please forgive my typos

1. May God judge the fraudsters for putting the innocent girl in so much debt.

10. I recently experienced it myself and up until now I'm yet to recover from it.

Is it the migraine or panic attacks I experience when it comes to mind again.

One thing we should always look out for is:

Unless it is a trusted person, please no enter anyhow Siena car/private cars(especially for those of us working along the VI/apapa axis). Na their famous route be that ooo

Buses aren't left out.
    Mini bus/van(kowopé) aren't left out either.
    No because of say woman or one fine girl sit down inside the motor/ bus you feel its safe,(if I hear)hmmm. That's the reason why they're there to attract unsuspecting passengers.
    If you happen to be a victim, please 🙏🙏🙏, DON'T STRUGGLE WITH THEM.
    Just cooperate with them jejely else you'll be dealt with seriously.
    A friend was stabbed and they took part of his blood away for only what God knows what!!!

If you can do without your ATM cards, please keep them at home. If you're an Android phone user, you can hide/freeze your mobile banking app. This way you loose nothing except for your phone and maybe other accessories that maybe of value to them.

This people have POS machine with them ooo. This is to know when you give them wrong pin and if you indeed gave them a wrong pin, the beating and blow that follows 😭😭😭😭 no be here.

Don't forget to lock your phone.

Most importantly please trust your intuition and be very prayerful.

Going out this days is enough risk on its own.

If possible please arrange with someone you feel you're comfortable with.

1. I beg you in the name of God, kindly explain how to hide/freeze apps. Thanks.

2. So sorry about this.. I pray you get over the trauma

11. Bad experience ever in my life...

I was on my way to Oshodi from my house some years back but the traffic was much so I decided to make it fast by getting to isolo from jakande gate through Marwa, I highlighted at Isolo, then hopped into another Marwa to under bridge (laspotech) close to express linking Cele express.

I never knew it was a one chance keke,the guy came down n I went in making sit in between,on getting to laspotech,they showed me the ENGLISH (no 4)..I cold jeje, and aboliki was applied on my face. They took all I had from me then dropped me close to that abiola garden beside laspotech.they told me not to shout,else,they will shoot..I jejely stood there until a man came to my rescue.

Bad experience,👀 eyes don red and swollen

12. Mine happened recently and i am still trying to recover from it.
    happened at ikeja under bridge lagos on my way to work, it wasnt even too early around past 7am. i was supposed to enter a bus to Naco from there but i was in a hurry because we had Audit that day, so i decided to enter 'one of the airport cars' that i saw. this was a SIENNA same color as normal airport taxi. The driver was shouting 'AIRPORT', so i entered but i noticed there were all guys, this i even voiced out. i guess i didnt follow my intuition because even inside the car i was still uncomfortable but my whole mind was just on the audit we were expecting that day. there were 3 guys in the car plus the driver, one sitting in the front with driver, one sitting with me on the second seat and another at the back, i was close to the door.
    they drove abit and diverted and i asked why, it was even the guy behind me that answered and was like the brake is having an issue, i found that odd, like how did you know that?
    i then asked them to drop me so that i can go and board a bus but before i could finish that, the one behind help my neck and covered my mouth, the one beside me pulled me to the floor of that SIENNA. I started struggling trying to scream for help, trying to hit the glass, maybe someone would see me and help. the more i tried the i was been strangled and beaten with rode. i was almost strangled to death because i kept fighting. i fought because i thought they were ritualists, i just didnt understand what was happening to me. it felt unreal. i just felt there going to kill me or something.
    at some point they started saying 'We are not ritualist or kidnappers, we will take your money and leave you', so i started to beg them to please my money and leave me. as all these was going on the driver was just driving as if nothing was going on.
    eventually they took my new phone Samsung A32 AND my ATM CARD and withdrew all my last months pay.
    they drove to one isolated place poured something into my eyes and pushed me out of their car.
    im just happy to be alive.
    i just had to share it might save someone out there ....
    i didnt proveread so sorry for the errors .

1. Wow 😮 chaiiii sorry. Please follow your intuition next time. So sorry.

2. I could just imagine your struggles with them.So happy you came out alive,I was so scared reading through.

3. Thank God you came out alive.

4. I thank the Lord for ur life

13. 1 almost got me but I scammed the scammer.

So it happened that while growing up, I had this job you resume as early as 6am. That day, was a bit late and in a hurry. I was about crossing the road when one old man in a rickety car kept calling me. I didn't want to answer but the call was persistent. I looked he was old, old car and the town was not know for fraudsters. So I answer him.
    The old man now started story that he is from Ivory Coast, a pastor and he was looking for an hospital along that way to pray for a woman. He said he has been asking others but they don't know. He said he came to the state on special invitation by the govt house to come pray for the city.
    Well I innocently asked the name of the hospital and later told him that I don't know too and that I was in a huge hurry to get to work. As I was about zooming off, he called again that I should hang on one min to talk to a guy that was walking by maybe I could understand more. Miraculously, this guy said he knows the hospital but they've relocated. The new guy said it is on his way and can show the old man.

As I tried to walk away again, the man now told me thanks that let him say a quick prayer for me. I said ok. He did quickly and now said if he could drop me in my office since he has taken my time. I said yes because frankly, I was almost late. So I hopped in with the other bros at the back.

Immediately we drove off, the old man started praying again and asking what I do and where. He also asked how much I earned. I lied about my pay and was like shebi he said him be seer make him see my real pay. All this while, I never suspected a thing.

My antenna went up when he turned in to a road that it's only locals that know about it. Infact, I wanted to direct him when he made the turn himself. I became alert. So I also noticed he was moving without any one directing him . This was strange for someone from outside the country. But I was still battling with myself that it maybe nothing because na old man and the city is very peaceful and you hardly see such.

So he drove me to my other office as my company has two branches. He asked for my contact, I gave him because over the cause of the journey, he said powers have toiled with my destiny so he advised I give a token to motherless home immediately I get paid but he needs to pray over me and the token to bring about open doors. He said it's over the phone and we don't need to meet up.

When they left, of course I went to work and told a colleague. She said it was nothing. Another said so too. Those kind of stories are very rare in the town but something kept pushing me to find out the truth. Let me quickly state that I actually grew up in a town that it happened almost everyday.

Anyway, I resolved to know the truth. I did not call him but he called after two days(day our salaries were paid). I told him no pay yet but I have been paid. I now asked his name again and country so I save his contact as I could not the other time as I was in so much hurry. He called another name and said he's from Ghana. I leapt for joy as my suspension has been confirmed. Told him thanks and I would call soon.

I did call after much taught 2days later that an Uncle residing in Europe just reached out to me after several years. Told him my dad helped this uncle but for15yrs, he never said thank to dad. I told him my uncle wants to send me money that would be like 500k equivalent of naira. Was jumping up praising him, calling him a true man of god. He said I should not tell anyone even my family of the call till money land my account. I agreed. I shaa told I have to open a bank account that will take up such currency as na only naira account I get. Say I need like 5k deposit to open the account. Last last, man send recharge card of 6500naira. I load am.

Next day, man of god call to get update, I use Igbo finish am. Tell am never to call my no again. My dear people, this man use Igbo too come dey reply me. Hahahaha.

Funny man die, cunny man bury am!

1. 😁😂😂😂😂 you are one smart cookie, God was really protecting you cos they could have harmed you in the car for instance.

2. you taught him a lesson he won't forget in a hurry

3. Lol.., na you come even chop am

14. One chance, fraudsters or plain evil people are ingenious now especially in these end times, an ancient book says wicked men will advance from bad to worse! mine was phone they took.

Secure ur phone and sensitive phone apps with passwords, remember your identity,intellectual properties can also be stolen. Enable google find my device, get these anti-theft apps and keep them running, meanwhile backup your details in another device.

Don't chat on d go and don't receive calls on the go, make all the communications before you move and only when you're in a safe environment.

Some folks prefer to hold their phones by hand while boarding puplic transportation, but it may not always be foolproof when there is small dragging and phone falls down and cracks or inside gutter Eeewww! Besides seeing ur phone alone can make you an easy prey for bad boys.

Bank apps should be kept in hidden folders, ATM cards should not be kept in wallets, and why must you go about with ATM card, Bank app, Ussd, only you! Choose one means of payment and plan ur finances well enough to avoid impulse expenses bcs that's the whole idea of these bank people,forget the convenience they preach,they'll never tell you this part! Device any way to make sure no jupiter sneaks into the location of a phone in your bag. Keep phones in the oddest of places and suspect everyone in a public transport, especially women bcs they use them to lure people into thinking they're safe, they are not a complete team without a lady, take note.

Board taxis from the park, or nearby the touts loading the cabs, (you're safer with them bcs they're after the driver's peny not you lol) enter a taxi only after examining that you can open the door from within & outside without assistance(suspect any cab with hooklike strings or anything other than a proper car door handle) Avoid telling a taxi your route, rather ask theirs, theives go anywhere you say you're going. Avoid the already filled cabs & the ones without plate numbers or tinted glass. Avoid those people with big bags inside a cab,most of them are traps to make the sitting tight which gives enough room for pick pocketing. Never do any favor for any driver, once you suspect anything fowl, pretend you want to change either from back to front or from front to back or act like you forgot something important while your aim is to come down and japa oh!

Bags, keep the zipper locked always and facing front. Once you are out, hug your bags tightly and make sure those fancy bag sub-pockets are empty. Wrap your phones or money inside ur bag and hide it deep within.

Try to avoid getting angry when leaving your destination and don't rush into or out of any vehicle,plan your activities to avoid rush. Do not accept help to open any cab door, do it yourself or clinch tightly to your bag if someone has to do it for you, u see that little squabble and shuffle? your mind will be so fixated on where you're going and that's when they strike!

Last but most importantly, pray before you leave,commit ur plans to God and he will make your way successful..,shine your eyes while at it bcs wisdom protects its owner alive.... If you've been hit by the sudden loss of possession to thieves, you might check this article.
    https://www.jw.org/finder?docid=102014250&prefer=lang&wtlocale=E

1. Thank you very much.
      You have covered everything.

15. 2011, I wanted to buy new shoes for my uncle's wedding, I've been saving the money o, only for me to get to the market and I was told the particular shoe I priced some days before has increased in price, it was now 6500 instead of 5500. I went from one shop to the other, same thing.

I was standing by myself thinking of how to scope my mum for the remaining money when one grown up guy came to ask me for directions to YEMKEM, and that was their known trick in Ekiti and Ondo State then.
    Out of anger and frustration, I told him to move closer, then I told him angrily that the trick is known by everybody already, that they should go and look for a new and better one. He told me thank you and left me.

When I got home and told them at home, they said I was lucky because answering him alone would have charmed me, but God knew I was frustrated already.

1. 🤣@telling him to move closer just to inform him to upgrade

16. 2011, I wanted to buy new shoes for my uncle's wedding, I've been saving the money o, only for me to get to the market and I was told the particular shoe I priced some days before has increased in price, it was now 6500 instead of 5500. I went from one shop to the other, same thing.

I was standing by myself thinking of how to scope my mum for the remaining money when one grown up guy came to ask me for directions to YEMKEM, and that was their known trick in Ekiti and Ondo State then.
    Out of anger and frustration, I told him to move closer, then I told him angrily that the trick is known by everybody already, that they should go and look for a new and better one. He told me thank you and left me.

When I got home and told them at home, they said I was lucky because answering him alone would have charmed me, but God knew I was frustrated already.

17. Went for all night with a pastor friend on my way back in the early hours of the morning entered a bus just the driver and conductor they later picked one other passenger. When we got to oshodi no other passengers entered immediately they moved the person at the front joint the conductor at the back and demanded for her money he collected all we had that night and while the bus was still in motion they push me and my pastor out of the bus. I fell on the road and lost consciousness while my pastor friend was able to land on his feet.He have to take me to a hospital that day I had injuries on my head and my tummy but I thank God I did not hit my head

18. I experienced one in Ago Palace going to Cele bus stop.

19. I got lawschool admission and my dad sent me my school fee and pocket money that morning.. about 500k plus.
    So I immediately went to the hospital to do my medicals to take along to school.. getting to Nicon Junction see crowd but no car. This taxi stopped and all of us rushed to enter, he had 3 passengers already, one in front, 2 at the back. So he sent us out oo said it's only one passenger he needed

I was feeling fly being the lucky one.
    When the taxi started moving I noticed the old woman beside me was wearing this very old and faded lace.. she was fat and something was very off about her.

From nowhere the guy at the back asked the driver if the Ghana must go back he dropped in the boot is still safe, the driver said noooo.. you didn't tell me you drop a Ghana must go bag o, those ladies that dropped at bannex carried it nah.. I thought it's for them. Sha, two of them started arguing so loudly.

After some time, the lady in front suggested the driver turn back to bannex maybe we will still meet the ladies there.. cos the man was saying there are lots and lots of money in the bag.. nah money full am nah money full am.

So driver asked everyone if it was okay for him to divert and take another route so we can go look for the ladies.. they all said yes.. I didn't say anything, I grabbed my handbag so tight, praying in my mind.. cos I didn't want their juju to catch me... Immediately the driver diverted to another road like this.. I just quickly open the door and jumped out even as the car was still moving o.. I shouted blood of Jesus. All my mind was that, the old woman beside me will hold my hand .. I Sha fell on the road . . Quickly dragged myself out of the road.. the way they spead off ehn.. so fast.. the lady turned to look at me from the window as the car was spreading off.

Those people know when you have money with you, just imagine if they had snatched or had access to my phone and see my bank alert .. nah straight death be that.
    it affected me so much immediately I enter a taxi I'll start panicking. There was a time I boarded a taxi and when he was about moving I shouted drop me drop me drop me , just because I noticed a fat woman beside me 🤣🤣🤣🤣 after I dropped the driver came to meet me like , anti you wan put me for trouble ni, wetin I do you, people around will think I be one chance, even the passengers were saying .. anti you no try o.. you wan make people rush us? 🤣🤣🤣 I Sha apologized.. I was really shaking

1. Aww. It's PTSD you were experiencing. Pele. Hope you are much better now.

20. I experienced one in 2011,I boarded a Toyota sienna going to airport at Ahamdiya bustop,I didn't know I was the only innocent one among them,5 minute after boarding,they started talking about Ghana must go bag, immediately I feigned vomitting,hehehehe I told the driver to pack,that I want to throw up cos I was on my way to hospital, immediately he parked and I disembarked around Abule Egba and cursed them,they drove off,I had a lot of cash on me that day with my new laptop,we have to be careful,prayerful and vigilant when we are going out.

1. I stay in Ahmadiyya too and can you believe they stil do that shit till date? My two friends were robbed this year.. Fear any sienna you see at that Ahmadiyya busstop o

21. Scary stories 😳 Planning to go to lagos . Now i am scared 😨. Thank God you all lived to tell the story

22. Thank you Stella for this eye opener ..