Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Eight Week Blackout Announced In Lagos

Tuesday, October 05, 2021

Eight Week Blackout Announced In Lagos

Ikeja Electric Plc on Monday announced an eight-week power outage in some areas in Lagos State to enable the Transmission Company of Nigeria (TCN) re-conduct its 132KV lines to boost electricity for Nigerians.

Olajide Kumapayi, chief technical officer of the electricity distribution company (DisCo), said the project will begin on October 11.

The areas to be affected include Oregun, Police Training College, Oba Akran, Oke Ira, Ogba, Magodo, Anifowoshe and Omole Phase One.
Also, Maximum Demand (MD) customers such as Ikeja City Mall, Police College, Lagos State University Teaching Hospital and the Ikeja High Court will be affected by the project

He noted that the outage became necessary because some of the 132Kv lines installed over 50 years ago had become obsolete and degraded due to time and usage.

“The TCN is currently embarking on the upgrade of the 132KV lines from Ikeja West to Ota and Alimosho in stages. This is the second stage.

“We will replace all the aluminium conductors with gap conductors which is more sophisticated to withstand heat and has more capacity to carry current.

“The implication of this is that from 8am to 6pm every day, the substations controlling these areas will be switched off which will affect the feeders connected to them,” Kumapayi said.
from dailzpost.

16 comments:

1. Like say the light Dey Dey before…

2. Naa to go buy power bank and fine abi sexy bump short and tank top to dey take parade for House, person no go come die because of heat,

3. Its not a black out then. Cause there will be light from 8am- 6pm.

1. It is a blackout cause the productive time of each day,there won't be light ( 8am- 6pm

4. Nigerians should invest in solar, all these energy just wasting.

5. If say this wahala reached my domot, cheii ii. We for hear am..

6. These past few months has been horrible. Total light in a day is now 4hrs.reason it is this way is because the 2 big hotels in my neighborhood stopped bribing nepa, hence the reason for the blackouts we've been facing this year. Upon that if you see the heavy bills they give us. How do we call out Nepa in Ojo Agric, IRA, Ilaje and Barracks???

7. Lok, some ppl will not even know that there's blackout sef

8. This is not funny mehn. In Magodo axis I cant remember the last time our power blinked. Infact sometimes we pray they take it to relieve us of paying such heavy bill. How are we going to cope like this. Most of us dont even have generator.

9. Most Nigerians can't afford 24hrs power supply.

I have light min 20hrs daily. I spend nothing less than 50k monthly for light. It's not easy.

People that are not working how will they cope if they have 24hrs power supply?

1. You shouldn’t have to spend up to 50k monthly on Light bill tho considering the minimum wage is about half of that

2. The economic determinants are not just the minimum wage but the costs of raw materials, regulatio requirements, insurance, maintenance and high skilled labour required to manage such systems. That exposes you to the Forex market which doesn't care if the minimum wage is lower than 60 dollars a month. The lodge taken to start Ikeja electric and the running costs need to be sourced along with profit for investors. Most private homes cannot afford 24 hrs electricity. It is a sad economic fact.