Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: University of Cambridge Returns Stolen Benin Fowl...

Friday, October 29, 2021

University of Cambridge Returns Stolen Benin Fowl...

A stolen Benin artifact, the Okhokho has been returned to the Benin Kingdom in Edo State, Nigeria by the University of Cambridge, UK. 

It was stolen by British troops during the 1897 invasion of the Benin Empire. "Okhokho" means fowl in Edo (Benin) language.

from Africa facts zone on Twitter

40 comments:

1. Very funny headline 😁😁😁😁

1. I dey tell you...na real stolen fowl.

2. The British have and still are stealing far more from Africa, thanks to the insatiable greed of the black man.

3. The best news I’ve heard coming from abroad in a very long time, a welcome development, imagine the dexterity and the quality of the work of art then.

4. This British people ehn! This is good news...Art is history and history is art...We must preserve our culture and history cause that is just who we are...

1. We're willingly throwing away our heritage, culture, ethics and morals we once had as Africans, and embracing the lifestyle of the western world like it's going out of fashion, the least of our problems are these returned artifacts and antiques, we need to bring back our dignity and raise our moral standards back to where it was, that will impact our younger generations, way more than a carved okuko.

2. Samurai, its obvious you are not from Benin,so you won't know the value of these things. Please hide your ignorance and stop littering the comment section with it

5. After how many years? Anyways, is better late than never. Welcome home okhokho.
    Tonia

1. At least that fowl will now boost our economy and give value to our naira, useless thieving Europeans

6. Is that the real one or they've kept the real one and sent a dummy.

1. They need to confirm ooo because those people are wonderful o

2. If they give you the real one would you take? What would you use it for?

3. 10.42 speak for YOURSELF if you will accept the fake one, instead of asking ridiculous questions.

7. They still have plenty with them in various museums across Europe. Thank God they returned this one

8. Wetin they wan use this one do???The stollen funds nko

9. Returned to be stolen again, this time by Africans...

10. When will they return the Queen’s crown they stole from China??? Awon amu robber!

11. Nawa for this British people o. What have they not stolen from us eh?

12. What right do they have to steal all these artefacts?!!! Na wa o

1. You didnt know the value.
      When last did you go to a museum to look at the antiques and artifacts there?

2. 10.41 so how does that give them the right to STEAL it? Nothing justifies looting of a country's cultural heritage.

3. So because they know the value gives them the right to steal it abi no wonder your politicians keep robbing you blind cos you don’t know what to do with your money

4. Abuse is inevitable when the value of a thing is not known.

5. Shalom, that a quote sounds nice does not make it true.

13. Even the ridiculous comments some are asking here shows you the kind of mindset that led to these artifacts being plundered in the first place .

14. Replies
    1. Why so negative?

2. Sold by who?The Oba of Benin and Edo state governor re preparing a place for such treasures already.you can't steal such historic artifacts and sell them so easily like that. The British took them as spoils of war, that's why they had them in the first place.

15. Be like the spirit inside the fowl dey disturb them. Lol. Give me back to my owner!

16. Thank GOD they even decided to return it. If they were still holding it back,wh wh would any of us had done

17. I hope this is not just a copy. It should be certified original o.

18. I'm so happy they are returning our treasures, can't wait for them to return the bronze head of Queen Idia(Oba Esigie's mum), to even think they borrowed us the Bronze head to be used as Festac 77' logo and took it back😭😭😭 our own thing again o

19. Ancestral Benin Fowl returned, I hope say no be local fowls dem go take celebrate am.