Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Billionaire Jeff Bezos Hails Nigerian President Buhari's Climate Change Actions....

Tuesday, November 02, 2021

Billionaire Jeff Bezos Hails Nigerian President Buhari's Climate Change Actions....

American billionaire and founder of Amazon, Jeff Bezos, on Monday in Glasgow, Scotland commended President Muhammadu Buhari's leadership role in restoring degraded lands in the country, describing the commitment to restore 4 million hectares as exemplary.

Bezos joined President Buhari, French President Emmanuel Macron, Prince Charles and the Mauritanian President Mohamed Ould Ghazouani at a COP 26 side event entitled “Accelerating land restoration in Africa, the case of the Great Green Wall (GGW) initiative.”.

Heaping praises on the Nigerian leader at the event co-hosted by the French President, his Mauritanian counterpart and the Prince of Wales, the Amazon founder said:

‘‘We are fortunate to have President Buhari of Nigeria with us today.
‘‘Nigeria plays a critical role in the restoration movement and has pledged to restore 4 million hectares of degraded lands.
‘‘This kind of ambition coming from Africa’s largest economy underscores just how vital this issue is.’’

The Bezos Earth Fund has a 10 billion dollar fund to allocate money to projects fighting climate change.

Nigeria is due to assume the leadership of Conference of Heads of State and Government of the Pan African Agency of the Great Green Wall.
President Buhari had used the occasion of his address to appeal to fellow leaders to continue to make concerted efforts at land restoration.

‘‘I am optimistic that Africa’s ambition of restoring over 100million hectares of degraded landscape for productive agriculture is achievable,’’ he said.
President Buhari also pledged Nigeria’s unalloyed commitment to expanding the achievements of the GGW programme in Africa from the enviable status attained under the leadership of President Mohamed Ould Ghazouani of Mauritania.

‘‘Together we commit to the transformative process of restoring the African degraded landscape and ultimately the continent’s environment,’’ he said.

25 comments:

1. I don't understand this one o. Which landscape is Buhari restoring?
    Abi it's the grazing roots for herdsmen they are talking about ni?

1. Agriculture, he has been talking about this since, though we all want fast lane things, forgetting the main stay of lives. Yes it includes Cow rearing too. He sure has a blue print that other leaders can see. He got it wrong by trusting in his people who lack the knowledge to act but he is now acting, wish he was this active from the beginning, we would have been reaping the benefits of him been there as the president. He is a loyal person, loyal to a fault, loyal to death, that is what he has for his Fulani people and those ones are so laid back in trends that they brought him down to shame.

2. Buhari that speech wet you write come and explain to us in Nigeria

3. Kudos to you Mr President.
    Tonia

4. I'm sure that by the time you ask Buhari to explain what he just read, he'll be saying another thing 🙄

1. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Like, is that the meaning of all I just said, 😳, Damn someone should have signaled me while I was at it 😅😂.

5. Jeff zukwanuike,he only made a pledge,has he fulfilled it?

1. Thank you...Na this one Liar Mohammed and Femi Adesina go use for propangada and misinformation

6. Yeah...he is restoring lands for RUGA!!! Lol

7. Bezos should have tried having a short chat with Buhari to explain what he read to them and see if he will even remember any of the rubbish he read

8. Sai Baba. 🙌🙌 haters in your face 🤣🤣

9. Who knows what this man wants fro Nigeria. Correct hailing or sarcastic type of hailing? There is need to be sure

1. You know them. When they start hailing like that, they are ready to enter and collect something in return. Bezos is a user by nature.

10. I don laf tire. I wish Jeff and co would visit Nigeria before commending Buhari.

11. Lai no go let us hear word now.