Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Controversial Human Rights Activist Killed By Tenant Over Unreturned Rent Brouhaha

Friday, November 26, 2021

Controversial Human Rights Activist Killed By Tenant Over Unreturned Rent Brouhaha

Controversial human rights activist and supporter of President Muhammadu Buhari, Mr Kenechukwu Okeke has been killed in Anambra State.

Okeke was said to have been macheted by his attackers numbering seven.

The controversial activist who had dragged many celebrities and media outfits, including CNN to court for defaming President Muhammadu Buhari and his administration was killed in Nkpor, near Onitsha, Anambra State, in the presence of his wife, Mrs Blessing Odinakachi Okeke and his little daughter.

Okeke’s wife who made the allegations said: “Kenechukwu Okeke was killed by his tenant.

”The Tenant, Chiadiobi, was living in our house, but when he packed out without our knowledge and asked to be given two months of his rent that he left, we told him he should have notified us that he was packing out”, the wife told our reporter.

“My husband was not around the day he came but I told him he packed out of the house without our knowledge and should not be given back any money. He threatened to deal with us, saying he will teach my husband a lesson. I called my husband and told him what the boy said and that he should not come to confront him, since they say he is a bad boy.

“My husband later reported the matter to the DSS and to the police, and he was made to write an undertaking, but he was still coming to terrorize us. Sometimes he will come to our house and break open the gate and come in and pick whatever he wants to pick.

“One day, he came to our house and my husband confronted him, without knowing that he had many boys with him downstairs, and before my husband could do anything, they macheted him, and the fuel we wanted to pour into our gen, they poured it on him and lit him up, and that was how my husband died.

“That day was Sunday and not everyone was around, and the few people around tried to quench the fire and also stop it from burning our house, and later we took him to hospital in Enugu, and that was how he died.”

Mrs Okeke lamented that since after her husband’s death in October, the family has been left alone with the burden of catering for his burial, just as no mention or quest by any organisation to take up his matter has been heard of.

She said what was more heart-rending was that her husband’s killer; Chiadiobi, is still in the neighbourhood, bragging about having dealt with Okeke, while also confronting her husband’s aged mum.

“He even recently confronted my husband’s mother, warning her that he heard that she is taking the matter up, and was warning her to be careful. The boy is still free, going around and without remorse, and we are just left alone to do the arrangements of the burial.

“Up till now, he has not been arrested, even though we took him to police and DSS, and he was made to write an undertaking that he will not disturb us again, but he has finally killed him. I’m not even understanding the police on this matter. I’m confused. The boy is behaving like he is untouchable, and everyone is saying that he is a bad boy and we should be careful. We live in Nkpor, near Onitsha, Tarzan junction.”

When DAILY POST reached out to the Anambra State Police Command, the spokesperson of the Command, DSP Toochukwu Ikenganyia, said that the police is aware of the matter.

“It is a reported case, but for now I can tell you that the matter is still sketchy. Just give me some time, I will get back to you with the full details of the matter,” he said.

Okeke had been a staunch supporter of President Muhammadu Buhari administration and was reputed to have backed the federal government and its activities during the EndSARS protest in October 2020.

He had also dragged some celebrities, including Davido, Flavour, and others to court for leading the EndSARS protests in various cities in the country.

68 comments:

1. Aya.Lets see if his father Buhari will bring the family justice!

2. WE BUY DEAD INVERTER BATTERY.0814139511326 November 2021 at 09:40

This is not good at all

3. Okeke , the government you believed so much in has failed you.

1. Honestly 😢😢😢 God rest his soul 🙏 and comfort to his wife and baby

2. How did the government fail him. Condemn the law enforcement agencies that failed him.

3. Alexander the truth is painful

4. Is the law enforcement agency not a government?@alexander I thought you were learned

5. HIS PEOPLE killed him, face the bitter truth.

6. Is the law enforcement not part of our government Alexander?
      I feel so sorry for his wife and child, why will anyone want to do such cruel thing over money that is likely peanuts.

7. 11:30 The primary reason you and your likes don't see beyond your noses is because of your narrow views. When FBI, home land security and the police fails, Americans blame the agency that failed not the government. When George Floyd was killed nobody blamed the federal or state governments, nobody blamed or condemned the Mayor of the city. The government is not responsible for the day to day running of the police and Dss. Poor souls who think they know more than their limited capacities.

8. Alexander, accept when u have made a mistake. Wether Americans refer to law enforcement agencies as govt or not doesn't change the fact that they are part of the govt and can be referred to as 'government'. We don't have to copy hook, line and sinker what's going on in the West. Nevertheless those out there know that in their jurisdiction, there is CLEAR SEPERATION OF POWERS. At least much better than can be said for Nigeria.

So those saying that the govt he fought for failed him, are very much in point.

4. Rip young man..it's unfortunate that nobody is taking this up,wasted!!

1. Let his father buhari take up the case. Supporting this wicked government. RIP to him.

5. Lord have mercy 🥺!. This is so sad.

6. Ewoooooooo, what is wrong with some people? SMH

7. So this was what really happened and some persons are already accusing IPOB of killing him cos he was a staunch supporter of Mr President. I feel so sad that the DSS didn't take this matter seriously when it was reported, else this young man wouldn't have been killed. For the culprit to be walking freely and boasting speaks volume of complicity by the security operatives. This is all I can say.

May his soul find rest.

8. I'm sorry for your loss Madam. What a Gruesome way to die but I think you should report to Buhari and his government... So that they will help you people naa as per Buhari government supporter.

9. Which Police and security agents do you people want to come through for you guys - the same ones under the fail government he was supporting? There are no functional security agents in this country at the moment. Because of what has befallen him, he must be regretting ever 'chesting' and supporting this blood-sucking government.

He said nobody died at the Lekki Toll Gate during the Endsars protest, so his death is not better than those cut-off in their prime.

His killers should have allowed him to see the end of the Panel and also read from it as well as heard what his defense will be.

There are levels to these things!

1. Whatever a man sowhe will digest too

10. Jesus Christ!! This is so terrible....Since October, we are just hearing about this now...Shey you see, the person he was supporting does not even know him....Hey May his soul rest in peace....This is so sad....Jehovah!! But why kill him

1. Supporting Bihari doesn't mean he met the president or benefited from him. Almost all of you supported Jonathan, how many of you met him or benefited from him. He had a right to his choices, just like you and others. It is insane for you all to expect others to hate those you hate. People were killed everyday under Jonathan, non of you condemned jonathan. Group hypocrisy.

11. Why not give him the remaining 2 months rent being owed knowing he's dangerous? Abeg abeg

1. Follow @ikoyilekkiajah_to_let on instagram26 November 2021 at 11:00

Exactly my point

2. My thought exactly. Good morning

3. Babe, the right question is " why are we worrying our heads over the death of this idiot?". This fool danced on the blood of innocent Lekki protesters who were primitively butchered and hypocritical Nigerians still have fake pity for him. I wish he could die over and over again. Aturu. Prodigal son

4. The man is a trouble maker. He thought it's business as usual. Supporting and promoting evil.

5. EGG-Xactly. Now she lost her husband because of how much? She was even the one that advised him not to pay the BAD GUY.

6. True, he should have just given the tenant his balance seeing how desperate he was to get his money back. Trouble dey sleep, yanga go wake am up.

7. She should have advised her husband to pay him back the money..the said money should not be up to 40k.What a sad way to die

12. Oh dear ... This is so sad ☹️
    May justice prevail

13. The government he is supporting with everything in him has failed him woofully. A young man in his prime gone just like that. Some Youth of this generation eee. May God continue to protect us.

Divinely

14. One thing about I hate most is trouble. I rather be a coward but live. He would have paid him that money, or ask him to calm down till he gets it. I pray he gets justice

15. They could’ve just given him the money and extra change on top to spare his life now the political post he was hoping to get from buhari for supporting his nefarious government is lost. Rip to him

16. He should have just returned the boy's money, for don't like trouble.

17. What a gruesome way to die. I pray the perpetrators are brought to book. This is why everyone must not support injustice for any reason in the world, it might be me suffering the injustice today and you care less about it and even go as far as supporting the bad system that enables the injustice i'm suffering because it isn't affecting you or your family but, it might just turn out to be your turn tomorrow or that of your loved one.

I remember how this man did everything within his might to support the likes of germs nwafor, the Nigerian Sars/police and tagged the lekki massacre a lie and a propaganda against his beloved good Buhari regime, man even went as far as sueing the Nigerian youths and every Nigerian celebrity that supported the #Endbadgovernance #Endsars #Endpolicebrutality #Stopkillingthenigerianyouth movement. Look at how he ended up today, the absolutely good system that he fought his fellow youths for, these youths includes some that lost their family members to this bad government didn't spare or save him. Keneekwensu rest in wherever the hell you find yourself sir, in your next life, learn to open your mouth waaaa and speak against injustice, heck your life is not more precious than those innocent young souls that lost their lives to the bad system you supported.

1. Lol...This reminds me of what I keep telling people about the supporters and enablers of this government and the fulani's trying to take over. I keep wondering, what do you think will happen to you when this country is islamised? Aswear na you them go first kill. Remember Ken Saro Wiwa. If you think the little change you're enjoying now is enough for you, your brain is leaking.

18. Thousands of Nigerians cursed this Anti-Endsars lawyer during the riots.
    If you believe internet curses don't work,have a rethink because you may be closer to your end than you know.
    Watch what you post!

19. The Government he supported couldn't get him justice tgats to tell you that this govt no send anybody mehn for people carrying their matter on the head like gala.

20. Follow @ikoyilekkiajah_to_let on instagram26 November 2021 at 10:31

Avoidable death. He should have paid the guy off and moved on with his life.
    Sometimes, gra gra doesn't pay.
    Hence, the reason why I always advice landlords to make sure their tenants read, understand and sign their tenancy agreement.

1. Jsu3t pay and move on with his life now look where his stubbornness ended him. I have no pity for him

2. It was the wive that suggested the ex tenant should not be refunded, now she has been made a widow.
      Wisdom is profitable to direct

21. So many insane people walking about freely.

22. This is very sad o. May God comfort the family.

Please, please, we all know we live in a wicked world and bad things can happen to anyone. But please, let's try our best to avoid creating problems for ourselves.

Why would the wife ask the husband not to refund the tenant's rent? Why?! Is the tenant not supposed to get a refund on his remaining month's rent when he has packed out? It is his money. And they thought involving the authorities probably because of their connection would save them. You all can see for yourselves the result.

This kind of news would have been avoided if they had simply refunded the man his money, unless there's something else they are not disclosing.

Please, avoid these kinds of situations. You never know who has a heart wicked enough to go to horrible lengths to get back at you. Stop owing your staff their salaries. Pay back what you owe people. Some attacks are not physical. Some families are fighting spiritual battles caused by someone one person wronged.

May God help all of us.

23. The path of peace is always the best choice. Giving the man the two months he demanded for wouldn't have been a sign of weakness. How was the man always getting access to the house in a gated compound? It's very unfortunate that the security agencies did not act to protect the young man and in death the killer is walking around freely intimidating his family . We live ín a nation where there are street cults and gangs everywhere , especially in the South. Edo state is a pathetic case, there are cults and gangs even in primary schools. Yearly there are always multiple cult fights. One have to be very careful not cross their paths, it is not about fear , it is simply about self preservation which is the greatest human instinct

24. Fine boy just killed like a fowl. Every security outfit failed him when he needed help.

Seems anyone supporting this APC government is doomed

25. If I were them, I would have refunded the tenant his two months rent after all he has parked out. Now see the unnecessary heart ache it has caused.
    Nigeria is a place where even though you are right, you avoid problem because a lot of people are not happy and Bent on spreading unhappiness to others. They knew he was a bad boy and still went ahead to drag him, someone you don't know if he's a government thug or Hitman. Really sad that madness is thriving in this country. The wife should be careful before he comes for her. Was it not like this that a virgin girl was killed by her boyfriend abi wooer just because she was saving her virginity for her wedding night? After some moths the mother was also murdered!!! Lord help us!!!

26. So painful and more worse that the government he supported passionately did nothing to keep him safe

27. Adieu Buhari's wrongs activist. 😮😮😮😮😮😮

28. The comments here just show how wicked and heartless many of us are. Stella what makes him controversial? If someone doesn't agree with this waste of a sorosoke generation, the person is controversial. This man was killed by young men who don't have a conscience, a woman has been widowed and a child fatherless and all we can do is mock him for his beliefs. What a sad world. 😔 I pray God helps his family and provides for them. And for the murderers it won't be well with them.

1. Ain't no soul out here mocking him but if that's the angle you want to place it, then no wahala. It was actually the same way he mocked that beautiful young Enugu girl that lost her three brothers to Sars officers, same way he mocked that PH guy that lost his twin, yeah! That one that protested almost stark naked. The same way he mocked those thousands of youths murdered by germs nwafor at Akuzu, the same way he mocked the lekki massacre and praised this same system that couldn't save him even after he as a practicing lawyer in this country reported the criminal tormenting him to the DSS. Why did he refuse to pay the ex tenant the two months rent he owned him? All we're saying is, #sorosoke and #Ozugo to bad governance so that we or our loved ones don't fall victim. Call a spade by its name, you won't die.

2. Let him rest in Buhari .Next life he will stand for truth.

3. Belief indeed. After all he was paid he still could not get out if Nkpor district.

29. His wife killed him indirectly by advising him not to pay the guy. Women, stop giving your husbands ill advice, even after the said killer kept coming, she could not prevail on him to just give him the money. Na wa o, his death was no preventable.

30. So sad! May his departed soul rest in perfect peace.

31. Rip to the dead, madam if you had given the right advice to your husband his dead could been avoided, some times given peace a chance is profitable.

32. When you want to marry, marry who get sense. The wife is foolish.

She endangered the husband's life by telling him not to refund the BAD GUY his money. Now her husband is dead, that money she doesn't want to release, lots of it will now be used for burial that could have been averted.

33. Nkpor that's known to be a hiding place for hoodlums.... I pray that the law will catch up with the killers of your husband. is Daddy Bubu not aware that his activistis dead? RIP to your husband and other departed souls

34. Some people are just wicked.
    Madam, you are the match stick that lit the fire.
    You know the guy, is a bad boy. You allowed your husband to withhold his money. What is that two months rent money, compared to life?? Especially when the person even made threats. The man died a painful death. May he Rest In Peace.

35. Same ppl judging the man here are those that will be whining 'don't judge' when their sexual immorality is questioned.

In all this, everybody has a lesson to learn. RIP to the departed.