Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Court Declares All Marriages Conducted At Ikoyi Registry Illegal And Invalid

Tuesday, December 14, 2021

Court Declares All Marriages Conducted At Ikoyi Registry Illegal And Invalid

91 comments:

1. Wahala.... double wahala for Nigerians lol

2. Na wa for this country.

What does this mean for all the marriages conducted there?

Is Lagos the only place affected?

What should couples with the federal marriage certificate do?

1. 32 years of marriage o...used Ikoyi Registry. My kids (outside Nigeria O)sent it to my husband and me early this morning. Just confirming it in the news too. Sooo,Baba and I have been living in sin...Jesus ,TAKE THE WHEEL!!!

2. Feyifunmi, didn’t you and your husband have a traditional marriage?

3. We did. Thank God. It's funny...

3. So what happens to all marriages previously conducted there?

4. Government fighting Government

When two elephants are fighting, the grass suffers.
    Make una pity us ahbegi, fix una problem and make it known to the masses which is valid or not.
    Nobi today this fight startooooh.
    Every year i dey hear this news

5. Wahala no dey finish πŸ™„ πŸ™„ πŸ™„.

1. Na wetin God don join together Ikoyi magistrate court wan dey put asunder now πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ’—

2. Lol ikoyi no reach πŸ˜ƒ

6. Replies
    1. The government will eventually ask them to pay more money to convert the certificate. Na their way. Money making scheme

2. 13:50, you gorrit.

Lovelace

3. Gbam @ anon13.50.. na their plans be that

7. This sis so annoying! I did my wedding at Ikoyi registry,7years ago,why is this country like this self?

1. You don't qualify if you got married before Buhari became president.

To simplify...Local Govts according to the Constitution, are to conduct Marriages under the Act AKA "Court Marriages" but your illiterate govt not only gave that duty to the Ministry of Interior, they also increased the fees of Couples of Christian origin and reduced that of Muslims.

It's unfortunate but the Law is the Law.

I don't understand what the Ministry of Interior role is exactly...just another mediocre agency trying to go above their powers.

2. So @Amethyst, what would you advise those who have had their marriages at the ikoyi registry within the past few years to do?

3. Amethyst he only knows how to declare public holiday..We don't have Min. of Interior but Min. of Public Holiday declarations...He just does not know his job...

4. Chaii and i was already happy that i wouldnt have to bother having a divorce. My so called "marriage" was done there

5. Federal has been conducting marriages decades before Buhari . Your fixation on Buhari is excesses.

6. Alexander the Sheep...

Go and read your Nigerian Constitution before you bleeaaaaaah

πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

8. Day jus dey break for Naija ni.. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.so all they marriages conducted so far becomes null and void ? Abi osi gi ni?

9. Ooh chim, that's where my parents did their registry ooo. Does that mean me and my siblings are illegitimate? As in, what do we do oo. Lol, too much cruise for this country.
    Abeg,we have more problems than this yeye issue?

1. 🀣🀣🀣

2. Your parents are baby father and baby mama πŸ˜»πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€ͺπŸ€ͺπŸ€ͺ😹😹😹
      You are a baby child 🚸🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣

3. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

4. 🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣

10. Chooiiiiiiii my 20 years MARRIAGE by Dec 23rd with 4 Children is Invalid.
    Shege jagwa

1. U are now a baby mama or papaπŸ˜†

2. Welcome my mate. Me too 20 years next week so I am now a baby mama with 3 children. 🀣🀣🀣. E good self I don’t tire for the marriage. The man tire me

3. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

4. 🀣🀣🀣🀣 bvs o.

11. You people should come and collect my already authenticated and legalised certificate na. Rubbish!

12. I forwarded it to my hubby with the caption'finally gonna have my dream wedding'.He said he didn't marry at Ikoyi registry,🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣.

13. Nigeria will keep shocking you until there's no blood left in your body.

1. It's you that wants to be shocked. As for me, blood dey my body kampe.

14. I pray this is true ooo.. no need to get a divorce

Chai.. my ex wife go wan die.. her hold over me is gone!!!

God please let this be true

1. Is true but e no go get head, like linking of sim to nin

2. Paprika Sim and nim linkage get head o. Go try get new line without nim. Come back come tell me

15. As crazy as this sounds some people will be so excited especially those whose spouse have refused to divorce them and letting them off their hook.

Which ever side you are on, I wish una well

1. Yes ooo. Like me

2. Look no further for reference, there's someone's comment directly above yours.

3. Kwakwakwakwakwa I don talk na, some crazy peeeps might even throw a divorce party.

16. This isn't the first time they'll be doing this. So, I don't take this news seriously.

1. Yeah. Same thing was in the news last year. I wish a lawyer or someone would explain further to us

17. orisirisi, Ikoyi court that people leave their State of residence for just to have their certificate and the signboard picture is what justice is saying is invalid.
    So, a court in Nigeria does not know it jurisdiction again. Their staff will be sad hearing this, they cash out big time at that place, let them refund the about to wed.

Felicity.

1. I tell you. That place holds the highest wedding record. That signboard and ambience is the real deal.

2. I was beginning to wonder if Ikoyi registry is the only place court marriage takes place in Nigeria πŸ˜₯πŸ˜₯

18. Mtshewww ... Wouldn't it have been better or sensible if they had given a future date.

19. The comments here are so weird. I don't know whether to laugh or just shake my head.

If you marry before Buhari...you no follow. If you married after Buhari, you're still single.

πŸ˜‘πŸ™„

1. Pls b4 which Buhari? Buhari of 1983 or 2015??

2. πŸ™„πŸ™„

3. 2015!!!! Na here everything fall yakata!!!

4. πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†

Ok...That was funny Anon 13.54

5. 🀣🀣🀣 abeg bvs make una leave me o.

6. Where you read your own law? Ikoyi don dey issue certificate since na, what is the difference?

20. imagine. If this judgment holds true then they should recall people concerned and revalidate there certificates in the proper courts at no cost...after all it wasn't their fault....if na oyibo dem for sue them taya

1. Exactly, I don't know why people are freaking out, how is it your problem? By the time the govt have a class action suit they will reconsider this nonsense. Something that has been going on for over 20years

21. Hope this won't affect my friend who just wedded last week at the registry. What happens to their certificate na

1. You friend is single to stupor according that post up there. We are all in the same whatapp group of single sisters and brothers kwakwamwakwakwakwa

22. In a country where laws do not work. Why did they remove it from LG in the first place. Such disorganised lots

23. They are just beating about the bush

24. This judgement just sent people back to the streets πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

25. They are just talking in the nonsense and rubbish

26. Na wa for this country oooo. Always doing things to frustrate people

1. Always! Why not make a statement saying, beginning on such a date, why those already married have to be caught up on this bullshit?

I wonder if it is a case of a judge overstepping their authority.

Whomever made the ruling likely

27. πŸ˜²πŸ˜²πŸ˜²πŸ˜²πŸ™†‍♀️πŸ™†‍♀️πŸ™†‍♀️πŸ™†‍♀️πŸ™†‍♀️

28. There is a BV that usually comments on legal matters, the Legal Trainee or something like that, would be keen to hear her views on this.

29. Na joke be this?πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£

30. What kind of foolishness is this?

31. The judge did not declare any marriage null and void. The local government that took the federal government to court did not plead for the dissolution of marriages. The court cannot grant what you never asked for. I am not a lawyer , but anybody who reads and have vast general knowledge know some basic facts in diverse fields. There is nothing like before Buhari and after Buhari in the judgement. The judge said only local governments are statutorily empowered by the 1999 constitution to conduct marriages. A copy of the judgement will probably not be available till a week from today, so most what is available is just rumours

1. Are you minding them? If some people don't blame Buhari in a day, they won't be okay.

32. This country is a serious joke... Say whaat🀣🀣🀣🀣