Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: DowenGATE - Delta State Gov Okowa Promises To Make Sure Those Who Killed 12 Year Old Sylvester Oromoni Are Punished

Saturday, December 04, 2021

DowenGATE - Delta State Gov Okowa Promises To Make Sure Those Who Killed 12 Year Old Sylvester Oromoni Are Punished

Delta State governor Okowo has reached out to the Father of 12 year older Sylvester Oromoni who died after he was beaten in school by some school mates.

The governor assured the grieving Father that Justice will be carried out and the killers of Sylvester will be fished out and punished.

76 comments:

1. Na here dem go see dis one! Show me a more unpopular governor, I'll wait.

1. Stella I heard that the owner of down college is Lani Phillips father. You know Lami Phillips the singer?? Yhhh. Now people are calling her out. Heard she deactivated her Instagram account. She is friends with them banky w, waje, omawumi. Let's see if they will all keep quiet

2. Anon 11.18...Supreme Court Governor of Imo State 😁

3. I hate stories like this ,I have been avoiding it. Few days to his Birthday. Hissssss. May his soul find Rest

4. Dr Olumide and Mrs Toyin Phillips are the owners of Dowen college

2. God, I can't stop crying. A child that wasn't sick?? From school to mortuary??hmmm.

1. Very handsome and brilliant young champ. And the parents of the three demonized murderers had the nerve to hide their monsters? Is it even true that they've been flown abroad? Ahh! Some Nigerians are satans o! So the murderers they raised deserves to live while Sylvester is free to die and waste away tragically? Please they should be fished out, death penalty is what their crimes deserves.

2. While we all condemn the school, the 3 devilish boys and their parents, lets remember the errors of sylvester's parents. This is the only way we can truly learn from the death of sylvester'. Evil will always be perpetrated , what we do after evil is perpetrated is very important. If my parents decided to keep me at home after I was poisoned at a very young age, there's no way I would have been alive today.

3. Flown abroad? They cannot frustrate the course of justice by facilitating their escape....evil parents.

4. 12.45 Nigerians, learn to address the root issues!! How many children will you remove from the school whilst leaving the bullies to have a free rein? A selfish society filled with selfish commenters like above will not go far. Deterrents must be served to fix issues.

5. This story has given me nightmare. I wished the parent took a bold step to take him out of that school when he complained about the bullying. I'm really so sad. Such a fine young boy

6. You’re an idiot for this comment there’s no error on the part of his parents at all . What about the parents of the kids that murdered the boy how did they raise such monsters? What upbringing led to their kids becoming monsters? Their parents and the system failed the little one. My heart bleeds

7. He said they were 5 boys not 3. He only mention 3 boys names. God gives this family strength.

8. Anonymous, I am not the poster of the comment above, but you are an IDIOT, go and rest, stupid thing. So, the fact that people disagree with your line of thought means they are idiots. U should use your ID. I know your type, you are the type of parent that exonerate their kids and themselves and blame the world for their own misdeeds. If they catch your son stealing, u say it must be the fault of Amaka. Ewu!

9. Anon 13.21 don't mind them, truth is bitter to many of them thus the need to deflect and blame his parents rather than the perpetrators.

10. Na month of Christmas we dey o. Make una no quarrel.

The cousin has posted their name...

So sad, may God comfort the parents.

3. Justice must be done!

4. I don't care how powerful those b**t parents are, they should pay for what they did to that poor child. Nigeria system should please not fail that child and his family. RIP sweet boy

5. Where are the useless parents of the bullies, we need to know!!

1. We need to see them shame them they raised demons

2. A good parent can raise a monster. Those kids do not heed to advice or caution.

3. Good parent indeed 😏😏

4. How can a "good parent" raise a monster, does that statement make sense?

6. This is so sad seriously

7. This is so sad seriously

8. This is beyond heartbreaking,😢I just pray for his mother,God please strengthen her in all of this.amen🙏

9. They all deserve to be punished.
    This is heartbreaking 💔😢
    Can't stop looking at his picture...

Rip dear..

May Jehovah console your parents and siblings..

10. If you see the way I am camping on one of my seniors in school,her Instagram page. She has a number of followers. This girl was wicked in school that when you hear her name,you shiver.
    I just dey wait to see whether she will say piiim on this matter.
    How can little children be so wicked

1. We've been pouring our hearts out on my secondary school WhatsApp platforms since yester night, call outs to those who were wicked then. The goal is for those who are called out to tender apologies to those that still feel slighted all these years by the wicked acts meted out then, I guess its been therapeutic, so much trauma from over 16 - 18 years ago, goshhh. We really need to do better with our children, also try as much as possible to create peaceful and enabling environments for these children.
      NB: I know this is not related, but, those of you parent still staying in an abusive marriage for the sake of your children, note that you might be breeding children with pent up anger issues whose only avenue to pour out all that negative emotions is in their schools, either to their mates or juniors.
      May this boys soul find rest in heaven and justice here on earth.

2. Or you can softly comment on her page that hope she knows that she was in a bully in school and hope she has changed.

3. Honestly Pearl, this is something I'd totally do. Call her out! Her type I'm sure, tortures her house helps.

4. Pearl, typically,I am not the type to go looking for ones trouble unless the person comes directly at me. I forgave her and all the other seniors. It's just this case that brought back memories which is only natural. I want to believe they have all changed. The ones that have forgotten, hopefully this boys issue will make them remember and ask God to forgive them.

I remember how one time like that this very notoriously wicked seniors made us kneel down in the dining hall,raise one hand up in punishment and eat with one hand. You dare not put down the hand that was raised up for the duration of time you are eating. The ones that will lock you up inside their wardrobe with the heat and all.
      My own is that I don't want to see her condemning those children so as to look good to her followers while pretending she was a saint in the past.

5. Check with if she has maida and helps. She still treats them like trash! They always look for other outlets once they leave school.

11. I am sorry if my opinion irritates you and your overwhelmed emotions. The parents of that young boy contributed to his death and they must be persecuted. The school nurse called the parents on a Monday, they sent somebody to the school, the person told them the young boy's condition was very bad and needed urgent care. Sylvester's father went to Asaba a day after they got the call from the nurse. He did not leave for Lagos until Thursday. Parents who are responsible would have rushed to Lagos latest Tuesday. He got to Lagos, saw this boy's health has deteriorated drastically, the rational thing to do was to take his son to the hospital. He didn't, instead he wasted time looking for flights to warri. there were no flights. Again he ought to have taken the young boy to hospital after the search for flights failed. He decided to take his son to Warri by road, in Benin there is a teaching hospital, he didn't stop, in Oghara there is another teaching hospital, again he didn't stop. He foolishly took the young boy home and invited their family doctor. The doctor treated sylvester for malaria, despite the excessive pains the boy went through, he was allowed to suffer , cry every minute of the day. Since the father was too daft to think of taking the child to the hospital, why didn't his mother do something.

Most Nigerians haven't developed the culture of going to the hospital. They prefer asking stupid questions on the internet, going to chemist where illiterate chemist owners and their boys prescribe drugs for them, bombarding their bodies with herbal medicines that sometimes destroy their organs.

I am pained and horrified, the events leading to the death of that handsome boy was avoided. His parents allowed him to be bullied. They had at least two opportunities to change his school, they didn't. They choose to believe the rubbish the school management told them. May the good Lord rest sylvester peacefully.

Hannibal

1. Nigerians, learn to address the root issues!!
      How will going to the hospital prevent other cases of bullying?
      How many children will you remove from the school whilst leaving the bullies to have a free rein?

A selfish society will not go far. Deterrents must be served to fix issues.

2. Stop referring to his Dad as daft, it is disrespectful, this is a grieving family, learn to have some empathy and learn how to convey your points without insults.

3. Jesus?!!! For real? As hospitals plenty reach for island and mainland?? This is sooo sad. I'm sure he will be regretting all the wrong decisions he made.

4. Whoever this foolish person is that is blaming the father. Your own go reach you. Did it occur to you that the parents probably don’t live in Lagos, That’s why they sent someone? I entrust my child into ur care and u call me up to pick of my child in that state hell will break loose. That school should neva see the light of day.

5. I share your thoughts exactly with the exemption of calling him daft. If he knew his son would die, he would have done more.

From what I read...he was scared to talk until he realised how serious it was.

My only issue is that Nigerians should learn to go to hospitals first before internet or prayers.

It is so weird to see people on here asking questions on ailments which they could have just called a doc directly to ask or just go to a hospital.

I hope justice is served and served hot in whatever country they ran to.

May his soul rest in perfect peace.

6. No, your opinion isn't irritating, at least not to me. If my child complains about being bullied repeatedly in a place, I won't give a rats arse about addressing root cause like someone up there has been going on and on about, let the responsible organizations fix root cause - I am taking my kid and money out of that institution/school.

The young man complained repeatedly, trust African parents to tell you to go there and "toughen it out because they are boys like you".

My uncle in the military is doing same to his son. He complains everytime about being severely bullied at boarding school, he's refused to take him out of the space because he wants him strong and manly. A 12 year old!

And yes, the little demons who did that to the boy should be hanged!!

7. 15.14 as long as we continue running away from addressing the issues, we are only deceiving ourselves. That's why the society is rotten the way it is, selfish decisions to protect just themselves made by people everywhere.

8. Those of you blaming the parents and insulting them shld STOPPP! Does anyone ever imagine death as an eventuality in such situations? Do you think if they could they wouldnt be there in a blink of an eye? Parents that have made sacrifice to give their children a good education then you think they will willfully put his health or life at risk. And how dare you use abusive words on the father. ?you even sound like a bully from your writeup. Do not ever judge someone's actions if you have never walked in their shoes.

9. So The parents sent the boys to bully their kid?. Those boys must appear in the court. Parents stop raising boys, as you are teaching your girls, involve the boys too.

Just negodu how they murdered an innocent lad.
      #JusticeForSylvesterOromoni

12. I have just been sad about this story. So a painful death. I pray the murderers are brought to book.

13. I am sorry if my opinion irritates you and your overwhelmed emotions. The parents of that young boy contributed to his death and they must be persecuted. The school nurse called the parents on a Monday, they sent somebody to the school, the person told them the young boy's condition was very bad and needed urgent care. Sylvester's father went to Asaba a day after they got the call from the nurse. He did not leave for Lagos until Thursday. Parents who are responsible would have rushed to Lagos latest Tuesday. He got to Lagos, saw this boy's health has deteriorated drastically, the rational thing to do was to take his son to the hospital. He didn't, instead he wasted time looking for flights to warri. there were no flights. Again he ought to have taken the young boy to hospital after the search for flights failed. He decided to take his son to Warri by road, in Benin there is a teaching hospital, he didn't stop, in Oghara there is another teaching hospital, again he didn't stop. He foolishly took the young boy home and invited their family doctor. The doctor treated sylvester for malaria, despite the excessive pains the boy went through, he was allowed to suffer , cry every minute of the day. Since the father was too daft to think of taking the child to the hospital, why didn't his mother do something.

Most Nigerians haven't developed the culture of going to the hospital. They prefer asking stupid questions on the internet, going to chemist where illiterate chemist owners and their boys prescribe drugs for them, bombarding their bodies with herbal medicines that sometimes destroy their organs.

I am pained and horrified, the events leading to the death of that handsome boy was avoided. His parents allowed him to be bullied. They had at least two opportunities to change his school, they didn't. They choose to believe the rubbish the school management told them. May the good Lord rest sylvester peacefully.

Hannibal

1. The opinion is worse than irritating, it is annoying and insensitive, it is not a must to write!!

14. It’s so unfortunate to know that the life of this little boy has been cut short by some pupils with questionable upbringing ,some kids are angels at home and demons while in school..The parents should not be exempted from this punishment no matter how highly placed they are... The parents must have seen the handwriting on the wall before this particular disastrous incident took place, they have been suspended due to such before ..Justice must prevail, The young boy had a bright future ahead of him... Quick one, the Delta state Government should not use this situation to gain clout...Apparently the kids parents is someone to reckon with if not it will swept under the carpet...Okowa should look into the secondary schools in Delta state.. Majority of them are Den of Cultists.

1. They should be expelled and their names sent to all schools not to accept them until they’ve passed through rigorous test and therapy

15. I'm always in tears anytime I see this story. The pain filled face of the boy, the sore lips, his painful groans😭

16. Delta governor be chasing clout. Is this the first unlawful death of your citizen? Because this one is popular on social media you want to use it to score cheap points. The innocent people killed by the billionaire lawyer, our online inlaw over land issues, what have you said about that?

17. There are three things to me I don't take from my fellow human being, call me rude, proud ,arrogant, I don't care. In my dictionary it's an eye for an eye for controlling, intimidating and poke nosing human beings. These kinds of individuals are weaklings with low self esteem. And you are being reasonable with them ,makes them feel powerful and continue. They can't operate alone, they look for groups to make you feel afraid of them. I fight back once I noticed one is a bully and they will change target immediately.If you keep quiet and endure, anyday you decided to stand up for yourself, cos they won't stop they fight you like wounded lion cos to them you are their prey and should remain so.

18. May God rest his soul ... This is heart wrenching

19. Parents should learn to pay attention to what their children is saying and also hear what they are not saying. E get why

20. I hope the bullies have been identified.

That said, I also hope that this issue will not be swept under the carpet.
    If indeed one or more of those boys have been taken out of the country, they and their parents should be named and shameed. There must be no hiding place for them. There shall be no peace for the wicked

1. Useless parents --> useless children. An apple does not fall far from the tree.

All those defending the parents of the bullies, shame on you.

2. Favour Benjamin
      Michael Kashamu
      Edward Brown
      Ansel Temile

21. This is so painful...chai. No one deserves to die this way! Sylvester Nigerians are fighting for your Justice.

22. This is so sad. God forbid bad thing oo. Chai May God protect our kids. RIP poor boy.

23. This story has shattered me since I read it,it keeps playing in my head..how he was beaten,totured and all. Slyvester your only crime was being in Dowen,God rest your soul little one 😭😭

24. This is the saddest story so far,and I hope this case wouldn't be swept off like others. Keren who was raped in the abuja boarding school is yet to get justice too.

25. If you cannot raise your kids, why have them? Parents have kids and ship them off to boarding school at secondary school formative years to intermingle with people that grew up in rich, toxic environment. Let your cherished kids be day students so that you can keep eyes on them. Everything is not about money. I blame the father for passing his fatherly duties to a school.

1. Boarding schools will always exist, face the main issue: badly trained children whose parents failed to bring them up properly. Even if they were day students, they would still be a menace in the society.

2. If you don't know what to say then keep quiet. Boarding schools have and will always be a major constituent of educational development everywhere. People have different reasons for sending children to boarding school. I have 3 children and they are all day students for my own personal reasons but I will not judge those that choose to do so. What we should be addressing is the extent of moral decadence in our children of today and the fact that the safety of students was not the priority of Dowen College, as bits and pieces of the story has revealed. For instance I heard there are no CCTVs installed and House officers dont stay in the school. They should kindly take a leaf from Atlantic Hall if they indeed want to run a highly standardized boarding school. I am a proud product of a Federal government boarding school in the 90s and while there was bullying 'fagging' going on then which many of us experienced, it was definitely not to the extent of causing another this extent of physical harm and today I can say many of my experiences good and bad instilled the values in me today.

3. 22.12 👌 well said

26. Anonymous 22:12. In your own wisdom, your kids are day students but others should send their own to boarding schools. Listen to your selfish self. The moral decadence you complain about is here to stay. If they like, let them install 1000 CCTVs. A good parent should accept the reality and raise his kids right. Past performance is not a guarantee of future performance. The cultists of yesterday have grown to have kids and their kids are in secondary/university levels now. These ones will grow to have kids too. And the recycle of menaces to society continues.

1. So, madam, what is your solution besides castigating anon? FYI A menace is a menace whether in boarding or day, why do you people find it so difficult to face the actual issues?

2. Anonymous 11:04. Yes a menace is a menace but don't give permanent address to a menace. When kids go to school and return, they are easier to be monitored than being shipped away for months bc parents do not want to be bothered with raising their kids. Solution? There is none other than day schooling. Nigeria is long lost. If they bully the kid in school and he comes back after school, the parents can take preemptive action to forestall future occurrence. But if bullied in a boarding school, the school authorities can hide it till it is too late. Common sense is not common, I can see

3. How would parents monitor a child when they themselves are not available? So you think being a day student magically solves the issue??

Re: common sense, you need tons of it.

27. Anonymous 16:41. They are not available? SO kids are just commodities they can just have and expect someone else to raise? That's their problem. Parents who don't want to get involved in the welfare of their kids will always end up in a mess. You can't have kids and pay a lot of money hoping someone else does your parental duties. Cry me a river! Let them not be available. Isn't that why we read about all the nonsense maids do to the kids because parents pay strangers to take care of kids they don't want to raise? It can only get worse. If as a parent one cannot make sacrifices, then don't bring the kids into the world to be at the mercy and tutelage of strangers and then turn around to claim victimhood when the inevitable happens.