Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: NCDC Announces Nigeria Is In COVID 19 4th Wave...

Tuesday, December 21, 2021

NCDC Announces Nigeria Is In COVID 19 4th Wave...

The Nigeria Centre for Disease Control, NCDC has said that the country is currently experiencing a fourth wave of coronavirus disease following the recent surge in cases and deaths.

This was made known in a statement issued and made available to journalists on Monday night by the Director-General of the agency, Dr. Ifedayo Adetifa.

He said the development was sequel to the 500 per cent increase in the number of cases being recorded in the past two weeks.

NCDC also warned Nigerians against violating the COVID-19 guidelines during the yuletide, stressing that everyone needs to play their part in ensuring that all citizens including the vulnerable ones are protected against the disease.

The statement read, “Nigeria has recorded a 500% increase in the number of confirmed COVID-19 cases over the past two weeks across the country caused by the Delta and Omicron variants. As of 19th December 2021, a total of 223,887 cases and 2985 deaths have been recorded in Nigeria across all 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory.

“The country is now in a fourth COVID-19 wave. The Federal Government of Nigeria, through the Presidential Steering Committee on COVID-19, the Federal Ministry of Health, as well as NCDC and its partners, are therefore intensifying risk communication efforts to remind Nigerians of the risk we face and need to take collective responsibility to reduce transmission of the virus.

“The response to COVID-19 requires a whole-of-society approach. Therefore, individuals, families and institutions also need to play their part in protecting each other by ensuring adherence to COVID-19 public health and social measures. Critically, Nigerians are urged to adhere to recommended measures by NCDC and other public health authorities, as they celebrate Christmas and New Year.”

from dailypost

There is no where telling the people to wear face masks oooooh.... h mmmmmmm!!!

24 comments:

1. Most people believe it's malaria, typhoid ,infection or just fever I think.

1. Story . Na harmattan dey cause am jare. I had it too. Too drugs nd now am fine more Dan 🙂👌👍

2. Nigerians now diagnose themselves with covid. Once they have cold and cough, it's automatically covid. They don't go for covid test before making their diagnosis. I see their comments on this blog and I find it worrisome.

2. Stella only few persons wear facemask o especially in Lagos, and this omicron variant is spreading rapidly, trust Nigerians to treat malaria and typhoid even without diagnosis.

1. Only in some banks that people are required to wear masks no where else I. Nigeria. The churches own tire me with all their shake your neighbors hand, welcome your neighbor, tell your neighbor this tell him that.

2. I am currently down with covid( took both shot). I wasn’t gravely I’ll thank God. Just headache, body ache and fatigue, sneezing. I thought it was malaria and the weather as well. I have friends who just got better and some are still down. It’s actually spreading and the weather is not helping. Planning on taking the booster once I get better and test negative. You can’t take it if you are positive

3. Hope they are not planning another lockdown sha

4. Wear your mask
    Wash your hands regularly
    Maintain social distance
    Stay safe my naija people.

1. no be market people, they don't wear but they sell 😂

5. I believe there's Covid-19 in town but why did the govt ask the civil servants on grade level 12 downwards to resume duty?

My friend told me that about 50 of her colleagues were sick last week

1. 50?! Now that's a lot coming from a particular place.

2. Hmmn
      I'm a civil servant as well. I wouldn't like them to ask us to stay home because it will definitely affect primary schools and they have been disrupted so much. Most of us it's cold and catarrh that affected us. Maybe some others have serious symptoms.

3. @Loveall yes 50 people & it's a well known company by even children because of what the company is into

6. Una don hear so,sebi you sef have been saying it Stella,he who has ears let him hear, nobody will tell us sorry as the year is rounding up in Jesus name

7. Nigeria cases only increases when other winter countries are increasing..

1. Harmattan never reach your side? Abi is harmattan not cold?

2. @Aproko, you noticed too ba! Na dem Sabi.

8. Stay safe everyone, but nigerians hmm, we nodey here word.

9. God have mercy,stay safe people