Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Boredom Eliminating Post...

Monday, January 24, 2022

Boredom Eliminating Post...

28 comments:

1. They have bastardized it in Nigeria

1. My dear
      They sure have.
      But those with genuine intentions should be encouraged
      I have so much plans..God help me

2. Most in Nigeria (NGOs) are fake.
    The good ones in Nigeria; Redcross motherless babies home, The charity homes run by nuns, etc.
    I give to two charities monthly. Let me mention them;
    Voice of the Martyrs (VOM) and RedCross. You can search them online

3. There are good ones.
    If you shop on amazon, consider shopping on smileamazon (same amazon company) and a little percentage of your shopping goes to your selected charity. I feel so good like when they sent their quarterly report that my selected charity received 8k dollars.

4. There are charities that are not of God and there are also godly charities.
    If a charity does not support a good cause,
    it is not of God.

1. NOT of God; Any charity that support same sex marriage or abortions.
      Of God; Any one that supports widows/orphans or family life in general.

5. Charity Organizations are known to champion noble causes for the society...But here, they are used as a conduit for money laundering, clout chasing awarding people of questionable character and using the money for personal gains

1. You have said it all, let me not re-echo.

2. If you've never worked in one or owned one, please sit this one out. You think oyibo just give you money and let you go with audits? Launder money with NGO when you are mandated to report income received and purpose to the EFCC? Una go just open mouth wa!
      Wait until the day they stop doing their jobs, the poor, I mean the truly poor you don't get to see except in deep communities will come to eat you all.

Everything naija dey always bad for una eye, mtcheeeew.

6. Very helpful. Shortest way to reach out to those in need but massive corruption goes on in there. Some NGOs were set up to enrich the owner or group of owners. I was shocked few years ago reading how one of the biggest Charity Organizations in the west showed massive corruption upon audited. How the managers went on spending spree on exotic vacations and bought expensive cars and designer clothes. Some here were set up to get foreign aids and currencies to the owners.

7. They are good ways to reach out to the poor and vulnerable people especially the good NGOs.

8. I thought it was business as usual until I worked in various local amd international ones. Honestly, it's the most tasking job I ever did.

It really is easy to judge something from the outside until you go in and have to fix it yourself.

To all those doing right in the charity sector, you may never get the thank you or welldone you deserve, so here's one for you, Thank you and welldone.

1. Awww😍 @ your last paragraph. May God reward and bless them richly.

9. This comment has been removed by the author.

10. Whenever i remember Naija matter
    I smile
    Can u imagine d rice pyramid? Dem construct stick join together put d rice surround am say na 1million bags if rice
    This govt Make una dey give us BOBO dey drink
    Anyways, Stella, na another charitable organisation b dat rice pyramid wey dem go share for gullible Naijas in the next few months for 2023 election

11. I've never worked in one so I can't really say much but I believe the genuine ones are really doing a great job from what I've seen and heard.

E no easy. God bless them.

12. Like many have said, NGOs have been greatly abused in Nigeria. Worth mentioning good ones, I support HFN (Hemophilia Foundation of Nigeria), which provides much needed support for the bleeding disorder community in Nigeria - a community that most are not even aware exist. I probably won't be aware myself, except I am a member of that community and have experienced life with and without HFN!

13. Those who set up charity entities in this country do it primarily to cash out

14. International nonprofits are doing a good job especially in the rural areas. But you see the Nigerian sham NGOs, they are only set up for targeting and accessing foreign grants for personal use. Even one set up last year by a lady that I still wonder what she has to do with NGO is already focused on "building her NGO", thanks to small change and social media. May God help Nigeria and Nigeria. See what NGOs are doing in Ghana, South Africa etc, but ask them to invest in Nigeria and they will look you eyeball to eyeball and say "Nigerians are not trustworthy and we know it."