Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: IPOB Leader Nnamdi Kanu's Trial Postponed As He Declines To Take His Plea + Engages SAN Mike Ozekhome..

Tuesday, January 18, 2022

IPOB Leader Nnamdi Kanu's Trial Postponed As He Declines To Take His Plea + Engages SAN Mike Ozekhome..

Leader of the proscribed Indigenous People of Biafra (IPOB), Nnamdi Kanu, on Tuesday at the Federal High Court in Abuja declined to take his plea in the 15-count terrorism charges instituted against him by the Federal Government.

He accused the government of ambushing him with the fresh charges served on him late Monday.

Kanu, through his lead counsel, Chief Mike Ozekhome (SAN), alleged that the government has breached the principle of fair hearing with the way and manner the new charge was brought to them.

“My Lord, as I am talking now, Kanu does not know the charge yet. He is just interacting with me. He cannot be made to take a plea to charges he has not seen.

“The principle of fair hearing is just being violated by the Federal Government. The frail-looking Kanu standing in the dock there has not been allowed to access his family as directed by this honourable court,” he said.

In addition, Ozekhome claimed that the proof of evidence was not legible enough for their understanding of the fresh charges.

“I went to DSS to see him and I was almost stripped naked before I could see him.

“We pray that the arraignment is adjourned till tomorrow to enable his lawyers to study the new charge along with him in the interest of justice,” he added.

The request for adjournment was not opposed by Mr Shuaib Labaran who stood for the Federal Government, prompting Justice Binta Nyako to fix tomorrow for the arraignment.

The judge ordered that Kanu and his lawyers be allowed to have an interface in the courtroom before taking him to DSS custody.

Earlier, Kanu had, through his lawyer, complained of poor feeding, clothing and denial to practice the religion of his choice.

Justice Nyako in response reminded him that the detention facility is not a five-star hotel but however ordered that Kanu be allowed to come to court tomorrow in new clothes.

The judge declined the request that a foreign lawyer, Mr Bruce Fein, be allowed into the courtroom to observe the trial adding that the request would be granted upon a written application and approval by the Chief Judge of the Federal High Court.

from daily post

22 comments:

1. Now, I am feeling so much pity for him

1. Don't pity him. He brought so much problems to the east. They should lock him for ever

2. Ambushing the defendant with charges less than 24hrs inorder to frustrate accelerated hearing shows only but a prosecutor who has no case but buying time.

Mike Ezekhome is a major boost to the defend counsel.

1. You have creeped out of your hole 'cos MNK is involved, abi? Look at you jumping all around the post like a rabid dog.

2. 15.32 😂🤣🤣

3. This Nit wit called MNK is in deeper shit now,imagine inciting his followers to kill and maim police men.
    This is just the beginning mad man.

4. His followers have even reduced their ginger.
    Strike the shepherd...

5. I wish they can stop the sit at homes during the trials.This here is another opportunity to keep people in the SE at home on a later date for a trial that is holding in Abuja.

6. If only the justice system could work like this in all sphere of the entity called Nigeria.

7. He is ably represented by a very vibrant lead Counsel, so that's good.

The DSS should stop being prejudiced, they should raise above being overzealous and petty and carry out the Orders of the learned Judge.

1. You know they can't carry out the Orders of the learned judge. No regime has rubbished, neglected disregarded Orders, pronouncements or judgements in the history of this nation than this cattle living regime. Even the military did better.

2. He is ably represented by Ozekhome, who is from another tribe. So what has happened to all the legal practioners from the east? Abi una no get lawyers? And they say they want biafra! Yeye people.

8. I feel so sorry for him😔

9. Yet people have been named for sponsoring terrorism in the North, we are yet to see any arrest nor prosecution.

There has even been arrest of terrorists caught in the very act. Same Govt granted them amnesty to go on and continue wrecking havoc.

If only they can use this same energy to fight crime in all parts of the country

1. Their hatred for the Igbo people is so glaring. You caught a terrorist and granted him amnesty because he's your kinsman, yet you accused another man who isn't your kinsman of terrorism. Isn't this a joke taken too far? Bad enough, some Igbo people are the ones calling for Kanu's head whereas the real terrorist are being freed everyday and sent to vacation overseas. I've come to understand truly, that the problem of an Igbo man is an Igbo man.

2. No real Igbo man is calling for MNK's head. Don't be carried away by what you read. All the names and use of language that sound ibo are not Igbo. MNK is just one man. When the people strongly desire something. It will only take time but definitely it will happen.

10. Don't allow too much sentiment cover your Eyes Ezege. What is bad is bad. This your MNK has he proven to be a source of blessing or Curse to our Igbo land????