Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Boy Dies After Alleged Negligence Of Boarding School Management..

Sunday, January 09, 2022

Nigerian Boy Dies After Alleged Negligence Of Boarding School Management..

AGAIN????? What is going on?

Chimdalu Onyekwuluje, a boarding student of St Michael’s Boys College, Ozubulu, Anambra State, has died.

Onyekwuluje, an 11-year-old JSS 2 student of the school, was said to have died as a result of negligence on the part of the school management, who refused to call his parents to pick him after he fell ill.

He has since been buried at Uzoakwa, Ihiala, Anambra State, in his family compound.

Parents of the deceased, Prince Cornelius and Ogochukwu Onyekwuluje, who spoke to journalists during the burial of their son said even when the student’s health had totally deteriorated, the management insisted he must stay behind to finish his exams before he would be released, saying the decision was the reason for his death.

He reportedly died on 17 December 2021, nine days after he was picked up by the parents after a cousin to the deceased borrowed a phone to alert them that the boy was ill.

Onyekwuluje said: “My son, Bright Chidalu Onyekwuluje died out of negligence on the part of the school. He was sick, and they refused to tell us. It was my son’s cousin that borrowed a phone to call his mother to tell us to come and pick Bright that he was dying.

“He told us he has been the one backing him from the school hostel to the classroom every day, to sit for exams.

“Even after the call, I reached the guardian of my son, but he lied to me that the boy was okay and that it was nothing serious. I insisted on coming from Port Harcourt, Rivers State where I live to pick him, and they insisted it was nothing serious.

“When I insisted I must see him, I was surprised the boy looked so bad that he was already dying. I asked the guardian if this was the boy he said was alright, but he did not answer. Now I have lost my only son,” he cried.

Meanwhile, the principal of the school, Rev Fr Romanus Ike Muoma has denied that the school management delayed in releasing the student to his parents.

Fr Muoma, who spoke to DAILY POST in his office during a visit said: “The boy was seen here in school moving about with other students, days before his father came. What we have here (college) is not an auxiliary nurse, but a qualified nurse from Nnamdi Azikiwe University Teaching Hospital Nnewi, and we pay heavily for his services.

“The boy was diagnosed with malaria, and was immediately put on treatment, and afterwards, he was okay. When it was found that the boy was ill again, it was the guardian that called the parents to come and take him.”

When told that the deceased’s cousin who had called the parent to alert them of the illness was punished by the school for doing so, Father Muoma said the boy was only made to kneel down for some minutes, saying it was against the rule for students to call parents, as calls are only made from a central point by the management.

The Onyekwuluje family has however indicated its interest to pursue justice for their son. Mr Ben Onyekwuluje, elder brother of the deceased’s father said a petition has been sent to the Inspector General of Police, Usman Alkali Baba, and the family will stop at nothing until justice is served.

from dailypost

49 comments:

1. Boarding house these days is a ticking bomb, rest in peace little boy

2. Imagine such rubbish audacity
      They even admitted to punishing his cousin for calling his parents.

Please from now hence forth if a child has "just malaria" just let him go home.
      Why would his cousin lie that be was being carried to the exam hall?
      What stupid exam is worth the life of my child?

These schools are just so courageous, because our system never really does anything

3. It isn't courage

It is ascribing , arrogating powers that aren't theirs to themselves

2. Me I Sha know that non of my children is going to any boarding whatever. All the boarding experiences they would have had,I've had it for them. Let me see my children with my eyes abeg

1. How I love love this comment. Resonates with me.

3. May his soul rest in peace.
    I still don't understand why some parents send their little ones to boarding house. Even if you must, it's best when the child is older and more independent, say ss2, ss3.
    Avoidable death is so painful.

4. When will damages be paid for negligence in Nigeria?

1. When someone who doesn't pander to sentiment and has bulldog personality carries the matter on their head and the means to see it through

5. Oh my goodness 😥🥺
    Why send these young children into the lion's den.A country we know that justice will never prevail.

Rest in peace 😥

1. Although I'm not yet a parent, but I'm still looking for that reason that will make me send my unborn child to boarding school.

6. So exam is more important than life??? Schools from the pits of hell. Boarding houses have changed. I went to a Boarding all girls school. I never experienced all this rubbish. Once you are sick the school bus takes you home or hospital straight away no questions asked! I even pretended once to be sick and I was taken home. The government and school authorities needs to do better. After sending your son or daughter to school healthy they come back sick and die WTF!!!

7. Parents please stop sending children to boarding schools where you know you cannot have frequent communications with them. This act of negligence is becoming a norm in Nigerian boarding houses. Get a school close to where you live.

8. The of death of young ones in boarding is becoming alarming calls for great concern by all. It's surprising how government seems to be silent about this.
    Boarding school owners and teachers should do better. You can't keep truncating the lives of innocent children and expect nothing in return. May hell be the portion of anyone helpingot and supporting this spate of death in young boarding student.

1. E no concern govt
      Their children are not there nor does it concern 2023 to them

9. From all I've seen, If you must board, I'd let you board from SS class.. not JS.

10. That was how i was so ill in sch then,had to get someone to call my parents.....and the sch was insisting i stay,they are treating me in the sick bay. I spoke up and my parents also spoke up i must be released,i went straight to the hospital and was admitted for malaria and typhoid. I was so weak, was throwing up smthn green... Does school sick bay have Doctors?proper drugs,medical instruments and they see kids so sick and keep them there etc. RIP Young boy

1. They want to treat so that they can charge medical bill

2. They even have the audacity to say they have a qualified nurse. Is a nurse a doctor?
      What if he needed more test.

Thank God you are here today o

11. Not again now. God pls protect your children🙏🙏

12. Sad this happened, my niece is 10 and in jss1 as a boarder and I was worried for her but she came back with pleasant tale of her stay, she looked as healthy as she was when she left home and said that the senior students are the ones doing laundry for all jss 1 student and the school is always making sure they were okay because inspectors come unannounced all the time. Personally I am an advocate of boarding school having gone to one and my experience was not something I regret, it gives kids some level of independence and how to cope away from home. I think what needs to be done is to have an oversight body that regulates school boarding system and it should be taken seriously

13. God what is going on in all these boarding schools of today. Why will anyone hold a sick child without alerting the parents? Is everything about image and money! Damn! May his beautiful soul rest in peace 🙏🏾 🕊 please God protect our children 🙏🏾 😢 💔

14. Not again,not another life lost to carelessness.May his soul Rest in peace.It took my elder brother a while to open up to my uncle, who was in the military then on what the seniors were doing to him.That was the end of the torture. As according to my brother they were all sanctioned and seriously dealt with as my uncle followed him to school and monitored the situation(COMMAND BORDING IBADAN).May be because he was a senior military officer cos my brother said after the news went round he was called Don't touch..

15. I don't believe the school one bit.I almost lost a niece in one of those secondary schools managed by Rev sisters in Anambra.They kept giving her paracetamol and one other drug till a classmate of hers alerted us; the next time they saw us in the school was when we came to carry her load.The govt needs to step into this matter,it's either you're ready to run a good boarding house or you shut it down.Parents should also do better,allow these kids to go to day schools wherever you are.

16. Father is clearly lying by his contradicting story, you said the guidance called the parent, yet you punished the cousin for calling again, father why ? This is sad, I know of a friends child that almost died in a boarding, the girl can't even walk ,yet they refused to call the parent, when the mum saw her ,she burst into tears. No boarding for any child of mine biko

1. It's obvious he is lying.Just trying to save the image of the school.

17. May his soul and the souls of other faithfully departed, rest in peace, amen.
    I used to say my sons would go to boarding school because it made my brothers strong and independent, able to think on their feet.
    However, I'm thankful to God that He gave me a daughter instead. No boarding for her.
    Even had I gotten the sons I dreamed of, I'd never Subject them to such risks.

18. But why are Nigerian parents sending babies that still needs their parental care, love and nurturing to boarding houses especially considering the truth that this country, it's system and everything that has to do with it is messed up? if you must send these kids to boarding schools, do that in their SS days because to an extent, their brains and senses have matured and can process some certain things. My child can't leave my house to go live in a boarding house at just age eleven, a big No! That being said,
    I will never understand why a student will be sick in a Nigerian boarding school and the hostel masters/mistresses will hold them hostage in the school without calling their parents or even giving them a proper treatment, are you people blood drinking and sucking demons? Why are innocent babies dying helplessly in a place they're meant to be taught and cared for? At this point i'd say people should stop sending their children to boarding houses because what's all these tragic end of children because of negligence in the Nigerian boarding houses? Take your babies home parents.
    Rip lil angel Chidalu, sorry you became a victim of the bad system. 😇💐

19. And the poor cousin who alerted his mother,was punished for being the 'whistleblower'! Hmmmmmmmmm!
    R.I.P. Chidalu.

I am not in a position to tell us parents how to train your child/ren.

But as for me and my family, none of my children are going to live in a boarding house while schooling.
    These kids never applied/wrote a letter to me that they want to born, the least I can do is to nurture and care for them well while praying to God to guide and guard them all the way.
    Nowadays, we love delegating EVERYTHING, as long long as we can AFFORD IT, DELEGATE IT!
    Parents no longer wants to be parents in words and indeed, DELEGATE IT!

May we seek and have wisdom!

1. Can they truly afford it?
      The price paid here is too high

20. Our education system is really in shambles. Greedy individuals masquerading as school owners.. Imagine punishing a student who had the good nature to save a soul..

Lovelace

21. Na pneumonia and waist pain kill this one now?

22. Parents should stop taking their parents to boarding schools

1. They think boarding school is the same as when we were younger. Imagine the rot in every sector in Nigeria. I wonder why they think education will be spared..the schools are concerned with making money and pleasing rich parents.

23. So sad, rest in peace little one

24. The government and ministry of Education needs to really to step up and rid schools(both boarding and day)of all the rot that has eaten deep into the system.Maybe if one of their own is affected,then they will take things seriously and do the needful.RIP,poor child😥

25. Chai, not again! What's wrong with these boarding schools fgs! RIP little one

26. This is so sad! We are yet to deal with Dowen college,no child of mine,I repeat,no Child of mine willgwill to boarding school,this is disheartening!

27. Chai!!! Not again.
    Pls parents should stop sending little kids to boarding sch until they're old enough to stand and speak for themselves.
    That's how she close relative took her 10 old boy to boarding sch,when he came back for hols the once chubby cute boy became a shadow of himself..looking lean and all boney.They took him to hospital,doc said malnutrition. When the mum sent his pic on Whatsap,she was even begging us not to tell anybody. I told her to bring him out from that sch but she said he'll adapt.

28. I have never liked boarding schools

29. I feel like crying this's very bad

30. The audacity to hire a NURSE to diagnose and commence treatment is a criminal offence.

When the illness started why werent his parents informed?

Na wa for una sha ...

1. Nurses in Nigeria, take care patients not to make diagnosis

31. Right now a parent is justifying sending a child they carried for 9 months to boarding school in NIGERIA, knowing how bad the system is now. Kwantinue

32. Schools and their exams. I have a strong dislike for adults who assume kids are lying about their illness or assume the severity.

33. This is so sad. Wish it were a different outcome. Reminds me of when the same thing happened to me in boarding school. My friend was also backing me up and down and I was swelling. I told one of the school nurses who was my friend and had been away for some time that I was not pretending(I was quite tiny and always pretending to be sick, so the nurses knew me). As soon as she saw me and I said my mum is a nurse, they bundled me straight to the hospital where mum worked. I was placed on intravenous fluids immediately and the doctor said a little delay from the school and I would have been history. God comfort this family.

34. May the soul of young Chidalu rest in the blossom of Christ. 🙏🏾✝️

Is it the same Government that allowed public schools and educational standards to rot in the country people are calling on to regulate private schools?

THERE WAS A COUNTRY!