Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: SURVEY - Nigerian Men Explain Why They Patronize Beer Parlors...

Sunday, January 23, 2022

SURVEY - Nigerian Men Explain Why They Patronize Beer Parlors...

Where are they? Nigerian men step in here and confirm if this is correct or not....

Pub, popularly called beer parlour, is a thriving business in Nigeria that attracts patronage from many clients daily.

A trip to some beer parlours in Lagos revealed that men are the major customers 

Research has also shown that most men who do white-collar jobs dominate 50 per cent of the beer parlours. However, some of their opinions are far away from the thinking of what most men go there to do.

Most women probably think it is where their husbands take girlfriends for relaxation and fun but this survey shows why most men visit the Beer parlors....

One man who usually visits a beer parlour in the Ikorodu area of Lagos, said
“I prefer to stop over at beer parlour so that my wife and children would have slept before I get home. Whenever I get home on time, my family issues will give me stress. So, I prefer to stay out late in a beer parlour,’’

A Businessman said

“I usually go there to mix up with people of different calibre and status in order to know the happenings around me. We discuss politics to catch up with the happenings in the country so that we get the update of issues.
 If I decide to go home straight, there may be no light, or probably my generator might be faulty, and I won’t be able to listen to the news.”

Another man said
“I would rather go to beer parlour to drink before going home so that I can forget my problems; beer gives me happiness, especially the ones with alcohol
Ordinarily, if I go home straight, I will be thinking of bad things.”

Another says..
''I don’t have issues at home, but the truth is that I must branch at a beer parlour to drink and have fun,’’ 

Another says
“I stop at beer parlours to avoid troubles at home. My wife is the nagging type who picks a quarrel with me at any given time,” Mr Jimoh pointed out. “I do not always want to go home early so that there won’t be issues; I always drink beer to stupor in order not to listen to her nagging.”

Another says

''When I get home early, my children will bring unnecessary bills on my table. Even my wife will be telling me of the ‘aso ebi she wants to buy. 
I go to beer parlour to drink in order to get home late, and by the time they wake (up) in the morning, I would have gone out.”

-from  NAN

83 comments:

1. Different reasons for different folks.

1. I was once married. The reason I go to beer parlour or stayed late in d office is to avoid trouble at home and I used d traffic to lie...Since I am on my own...I hv never entered the house beyond 7pm...I even watch all matches at home.

2. The major reason is wife stress. I really wish men knew that they really don't have to get married. They can have kids, stay single and happy and live longer.

3. I really wish women will nag less

4. My dad was like that and I prayed I didn't want that in my husband. God truly answers prayers.

5. Anon 12:24 men suffer more by being unmarried as they age actually. Single women not as much especially now that women are able 2 provide their own finances. But single men still lack the affection, physical touch n womanly support n companionship that women get so easily even when unmarried.

6. It is usually an Escape. I don't drink and don't do pubs but then, I also hang late at work on my guilty pleasure (Anime-shameful for my age. LoL) better heading home to face that stress. Without that 'reset', sometimes ish can feel overwhelming. So Yea, the reasons given above are the truth. You rarely even find females at those watering holes except she accompanied one of the 'pack'. A female presence will usually disrupt the flow and limit the conversations.
      As for nagging/demandos..... As you were. LoL

2. I said it here before, three things makes a man happy

Money
    Woman
    Alcohol

If your boyfriend or man is sad, give him beer or recommend one of your female friends.

1. U dey craze. Such a man that has a good non nagging woman prefers a man instead. But homophobic Nigerians ain't ready 4 that conversation yet

2. Nope, Nigerians don't do such conversations, thankfully.

3. The "nagging women" should gather and see their husbands in this story.
    🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣Jest know that your nagging makes him drink.

1. It must feel nice to have an escape. To return from a stressful job and be able to head straight to alcohol to wash away the detritus of the day.

Where does the modern woman who probably takes care of 50% of the family’s finances go after a stressful day at work? Straight home to more stress of tending the children, stress of housework, stress of market and stress of cooking. Whew!

2. So where do we run to from children wahala? Yeye dey smell

3. @Janey
      The kids "wahalas" are reflective of their mom's. The lady subconsciously transfers those foul characters to the kids. I have kids and they do not give me or my husband wahalas. Raise your kids in the Lord Jesus.

4. reflective of their mom’s. Wow!

Women don suffer for this country sha

5. That's unfortunate. Half of these problems can be solved by marrying up. But yall on this blog love bastardizing rich n ready made men n love supporting men u have to build up/build with. Men that can't afford to get you help with the kids or can't afford you taking time off work to mind the house and kids. I hope one day black women can be released from the mental chains we/others have created 4 ourselves. We feel a need to marry down n feel guilty about wanting 2 marry comfort. In other countries, marrying a rich man that can provide 4 u n ur needs n prevent you from turning into a nagging mess is the bare minimum n expected.

6. Anon 13:30 you lack common SENSE SMH...

7. @13:58
      Hope you equip your brothers with plenty of monies so that some other very poor ladies will "marry up?" Greed is bad. Most of those people you think are built were the product of another woman, possibly a mom that suffered to build up with their dad. Learn to talk like an adult.

8. @13:30 Goodluck to you and those who know you

9. 13.30 is a woman o. Isn't that shocking?

10. @Pearl and Saphire
      How about saying that the kid's good characters are reflective of their mom's? That is exactly what I wrote up there; it cut both ways.
      The mothers shouldn't take accolades for good behavior but turn to reject a bad mannered child.
      When someone tells you " you have good home training," isn't that a compliment on your mom?

4. A friend told me he'd be dead if not for these drinking spots. He dreads his wife (God forbid!). I took on him and asked him to man up. He said everybody couldn't be like me. Some of my friends said I'll understand when I marry. I'm certain I will never "understand". Jehovah is yet to create that woman who will make me run away from my own house. No child either will frustrate me, that is why I advocate for having fewer number of kids. When you have them many, it's psychologically draining. Add that to your wife's wahala and you get close to insanity.
    See, I have friends who tell their wives they're traveling, get enough clothes and check into a hotel just to run away from wife wahala. They tell me they just want to cool off before they go crazy. If it ever gets to that, nwanne, it's either she leaves or I leave. No human will continuously frustrate me. I abhor unproductive pressure.
    Guys, have one or two kids for your sanity. Them no dey carry children go heaven. It's not just about having the millions to train them, can you bear the psychological implications?

1. Marry first

2. @Caeser
      Thanks for you input. But that lying to check into a hotel and run away from a nagging wife is shameful. To have such friends tells a lot of ones character and that is you. Wives are not always nagging. And if any nagging woman is reading this, please work on your character flaw.
      The Scripture says that it is better to live on the rooftop or desert than with a nagging wife.

3. So are you considering 2 kids now instead of 1 that you earlier mentioned?

4. A lot of ladies marry for money
      and that is why in spite of the money, they
      still nag because the sight of the man they married
      who they don't love, irritates them. It is all steeped in greed.

5. My brother, I want to tell you for free that some women will do same if they have the opportunity. Parenting, cooking, mother role, wife rile can be so devastating sometimes. One will just need break at one time or the other.

6. Caesar now I understand you better. You have surrounded yourself with negative people. Don't you have friends with good homes? This kind of thinking cannot attract good things. Try to change it is 2022.

7. Is Cearsar a positive person to start with.. Flies follow their kind and their kind follows rotten stuff. You go fear Boy trying to sound like a man. I come in peace..

Lovelace

8. I have a relative that use to brag for better for stay for worse for go, now he is married infact what he is facing now is for worse for stay for worst for kpai. Sometimes what these men calls nagging is correction or bitter truth of what they are doing that's wrong.After the branching and drinking, problems persist,plus health issues associated with alcohol.

9. 11.32 I agree with you. Ceaser has already prepared for the worst and that is not good for him. Even when he is eventually blessed with a good woman, he will still be suspicious and preparing for negative eventuality. Ceaser please mind your thoughts, fears and expectations. I grew up surrounded by the the kind of marriages I did not want. I asked God and He gave me better than my fantasies. Even my mother is shocked to see men like my husband exist on planet earth where most women are enduring their marriages.

Prepare for what you expect because you will get it.

10. Just have plenty money b4 u marry so u can marry comfortably. What do u think causes all the nagging? Billing, money issues. But our society is so obsessed with marriage that they push young ones in2 marrying fast without a financial plan..next thing they push them in2 popping out babies. Boom boom life comes at u fast when u rush 2 please others.

11. Your friends sha🤮🤮🤮

12. You guys should leave Ceaser, forget about this king Kong his forming. Deep down inside me I believe he's a soft and lovable person.

5. "Most women probably think it is where their husbands take girlfriends for relaxation and fun but this survey shows why most men visit the Beer parlors...."

Most of the above men dey disguise. This is one of the reasons why most men go to bear parlors. You can easily hook up with a woman to share a few drinks with and do short hand afterwards. Any man who frequents bear parlors is a cheat or a prospective cheat. If your man frequents bear parlors, watch it, he is cheating on you. Even if he isn't, there is a 95% change he'll soon cheat on you

🚶‍♂️🚶‍♂️🚶‍♂️🚶‍♂️

1. You are telling it as it is bro.

2. Not every man is a dog like you o. Maybe they initially go there 2 escape but get caught up with women cause men are visual. But 2 call their initial reason 4 going there looking 4 women to cheat with is just plain disingenuous and lazy brained thinking

6. Sincerely I've been told all of these by what those responses said.

7. Orishirishi

Will be back to read comments

8. I don't go to beer parlor cuz I'm avoiding my wife, it's just for the fun and coldness of the beer. Beer is life!! Save the water drink the beer

1. Alcohol isn't good for the liver. Instead save the beer drink the water.

9. Loling at I WILL BE THINKING OF BAD THINGS🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

1. Don't mind them. Before nko?

10. This is where having a LIFE as a woman comes in. Pls stop making men centre of ur universe,have ur own social circle too so the man sef is not always meeting you at home 24/7,Go out have fun with friends,take ur kids out in group outings etc.....Have friends/confidants you share ur issues with too so u dont bombard husband with every little talk. Most importantly work and have ur own money too so u can easily buy ur little needs instead of doing hide n seek and waiting for one man to come from beer parlour just to ask for sanitary pad money.

1. Kwarrect!!!

2. @Bed and Roses, some men that go to the beer parlour may not even allow their wives to do all that you suggested. They will see their going out as "flirting" and not relaxation. That's where the problem is.

3. Or marry up. Simple! Most of these nagging women are marrying men they have to feed! U think it's easy to be main bread winner n also homemaker.

4. @Beds and Roses, I agree with you, if you are busy with work and by the time you come back home you are tired, you won't have time to nag anybody. So for women just keep your self busy.

5. 14.10 everything is not solved by marrying up, please rest!

11. Irresponsible men everywhere. Some will not drop money for but spend the money on beer then turn around to call their wives nags.

May those wives use nagging to finish such irresponsible men

1. It is really sad Eka Joy.

2. True. Women stop marrying dusty irresponsible men. The hatred for women that marry comfortably affluent responsible men is 2much in naija that's why some women marry down n settle to be Bob the builder. Well sister, there is no love 4 a nagging wife. Noone will support u if u listened 2 society pressuring you in2 marrying broke. So wise up

3. Exactly! Some are even running away from their responsibilities and covering up with the word nagging 🙄🙄

4. Okwa n' obu "drop money for food?" We are talking about nagging women that drive their husbands to alcohol, don't twist the topic. I didn't write that article, neither did Sdk. I read NAN, New Agency of Nigeria as the source. They did a social research.

12. Forget hydrogen. Even men from so called peaceful homes with gentle wives visit. The thing is alcohol can be addictive. Men also crave what they perceive to be the relaxed social atmosphere with their cronies. And some indulge themselves with food, women, cigarettes, Marijuana and drugs as well.

13. You're right at your first paragraph. Truth's a man that will cheat will cheat . May not be at the beer parlor sef so they used beer parlor as cover ups. May God help us not to encounter such men Amen 🙏

14. Women have suffered. Even men that are drunkards are also using women as an excuse for their stupid lifestyle

1. That's why women need 2 wise up n start marrying men with money. Make it a requirement n stop allowing nigerusns guilt trip u to think such men are always evil cheats. As u can see irresponsibility knows no man's mometary status. All this support 4 marrying a man u have 2 build with only to end up footing his bills n having to nag him to get financial support.

2. Why do almost all your comments revolve around marrying up. Is it a crime for a woman to make her own money? Please, take it easy.

15. Some of them have that habit before they got married . You would have asked then when they started going there,is it before marriage or after marriage?

1. Exactly i dated a guy with such habit,and i just knew i cldnt marry him. He must branch those Abuja Gardens everyday after work. Tell me who is nagging that one? Offcourse it will continue after marriage. As iv seen d habit i knew no future with this one. So no one will call me nagging wife cos im complaining of ur lifestyle.

16. I dont go there cos i have to pick my children from school and help them with their homework.i am a teacher a teacher anyway

17. This is one bad habit that seriously weakens family bonds. Ask those men why there are "short time" cubicles in the name of hotels so close to the pubs and why the waiters are never their fellow men.

Women who notice this pattern in a man ought to quickly back out during courtship or be prepared to live as married widows and raise their children as single mothers.

How can a man leave generator duties to his wife? What kind of man runs away from the family he created instead of going home to gist with his kids and supervise homework? What sort of man will rather romance beer bottles at odd hours instead of watching the news with his children, debating current affairs and telling them stories and anecdotes?

Is society as forgiving of female church addicts who worship their pastors and hop from one church programme to another in the name of "my husband is a drunk/womanizer/wife beater"? Once a man wants to be irresponsible, he calls his wife a nag. Is she supposed to be joyous about having a husband who refused to grow up and be a real father to his children?

Parents owe it to their children to be present. Raising a child is not just about feeding and fees. That empty house you are living them in is a bad legacy and both sexes should know this. Not every child will fall for the manipulation of culture and religion when they are older. If you did not forge a bond with them when they still have your time, you'll need to drink a lot more beer when you are older because you won't see anyone. I read a story of a man who didn't visit home for 17 years and his father took him to a Kenyan court for denying him upkeep. I can only imagine the son's version of the story. Presently, I have relatives who don't speak to their parents. They attend functions and walk right past the people who gave birth to them and paid their fees and these are not evil kids but who will hear them out and why try with parents unable to see their faults and accept them instead of manipulating the child with "in Jesus name". The over the top weddings the parents thought will repair the relationship have passed and the kids remain uninterested in accepting the olive branch years after. One even said she attended the wedding her parents threw for their friends. The parents are realizing you can't buy trusted company and it's too late to start over. The poor ones get a cheque periodically but their messages of thanks or welfare calls remain unacknowledged. My parents are sometimes the go-between for these parents but you can see that the child is past anger or hate and now at indifference where only God can work a miracle. This is not the 50s were elders can't receive an honest scorecard. In this century, as you pose, na so you go show for picture. Pay attention to your family.

1. Beautifully written.

'Pay attention to your family'!

2. Mostly broke irresponsible men call women nags when they failed 2 make the women happy by providing financially. I was lucky enough 2 experience dating one n it put me off them 4 life. I stopped listening 2 my mother's pleas to marry the struggling men my aunts tried to hook me up with because I did not want struggle 2 be my story just so she could compete with her friends wose kids were married n have grandkids.
      N today I'm married with handsome kids 2 a responsible kind provider that has never brought out the "nag in me." Our kids don't want 4 anything.

Ladies go 4 what u want In life n don't settle 4 less or allow naija society guilt trip you in2 marrying a financially struggling guy that will be needing your help financially. Somehow they demonize rich men but we always see stories of broke men committing DV, murders cheating etc. Pls does being broke or struggling automatically mean a man will be a good person??

Something happens to most men's psyche when they can't provide financially. They know they have failed you n so then frequenting beer parlours to cheat with lesser women that are easily impressed becomes their new release.
      Ladies marry a man that u admire, n look up to, a man that will teach u how to structure your finances because he has the experience. You won't regret it. Most of the men frequenting blogs to deceive you n insult women that married 4 comfort and privilege don't even know what it takes 2 escape squalor so they want you to settle 4 men like them so they can blame you for their failures later. Avoid being called a nag after marriage o. Look well before u leap n seek out comfort. There are many responsible rich men that will provide 4 you. Don't allow yourself be guilt tripped or pressured into a life of nagging and struggle marriage.

3. Most of those men talking If u check their wives are the main breadwinners. N that nagging topic no go pass money. Yet naija people always talking down on women that marry men that are financially buoyant. Lord pls release these people's brains 4rm the shackles of poverty. Do u know that women not settling 4 less improves a society because the men are driven to strive for more? When a broke man gets married he sees no reason 2 hustle as he has gotten assurance that he is doing something right. The Arab world is successful today because marrying a woman demand u are able to cater to her financially in the dating phase first. But in naija women are encouraged to struggle n hustle with a guy n money will come later in the marriage as wives invite blessings. Pls why are naija people like this??

4. 14:36 also made sense.

5. 14:36 as long as you won't mind when a poor girl gets ready to upgrade with your brother, then carry on. Always easy to dispense advice until you have to practice it on the other shoe.

6. With some the comments on this post, one would think marrying a rich man solves all of the world's problems.
      No wonder marriages these days are in a state, considering how everyone is going in for their own selfish interests. What a pity. A house built ona wrong foundation will eventually collapse.

18. Alcohol n drugs make one uninhibited n horny. So likely the men not planning 2 cheat n only going there 2 relieve themselves end up cheating as a result. The solution, marry comfortable n capably to reduce chances of turning wife into a nag. Ladies too shine your eye marry man wey no go stress you and control your attitude n need 2 nag. The more u nag the worse a man gets n more u push him away.

19. Very silly excuses

Longest hiss!!

20. I did that during my 20s to hang out with boys etc and gist but going to beer parlor is a no no for me. I have beer in my fridge at least 6 cold bottles I no drink am. I think it’s an age thing.