Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Canada Declares National Emergency Over Truckers Protesting COVID 19 Vaccines

Wednesday, February 16, 2022

Canada Declares National Emergency Over Truckers Protesting COVID 19 Vaccines

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau invoked the Emergency Act on Monday February 14,2022 to strengthen support for law enforcement after Canadian truckers protesting COVID-19 vaccine requirements blockaded the major international crossing for almost a week. 

The Ambassador Bridge, which connects Windsor, Ontario, to Detroit, has been reopened after the truckers barred the road

The PM said at a news conference "The blockades are harming our economy and endangering public safety," he said at "We cannot and will not allow illegal and dangerous activities to continue. The time to go home is now."

Trudeau said the measures will allow the police to administer fines and imprison offenders, as well as secure critical places and infrastructure. This is the first time in half a century that the Canadian government has used the emergency powers

Calling themselves members of a "Freedom Convoy," demonstrators across Canada set out in late January to protest the country's vaccine requirements. Their presence in the country's capital, Ottawa, has led to disturbances, including truck horns blaring night and day and alleged property damage and hate crimes.

The protest hasn't accomplished its goal of stopping vaccine requirements in the country, but it has put stress on supply lines between Canada and the US. It's also inspired similar protests against pandemic restrictions in other countries around the world, including New Zealand, Australia and France. There are also plans for a demonstration in the US in March.

from cnet.com

9 comments:

1. But no case of violence has been recorded so far.

2. All the Nigerians and sorosoke wereys who promoted EndSARS insurrection, which led to the burning down of Lagos and killing of 38 of our policemen, hope you can see how the saner climes you so love to adore are handling the Truckers protests? All the InfluenSars who helped in promoting Lekki Mascara, our TV and media houses have suddenly lost their voices... Issokay

1. Alfa, na you be the confirmed werey. You see Canadian police fire into the crowd?

2. You have no shame at all! And your ways through the words you mostly write are not the ways of islam at all... you like to provoke people with the obvious situations that are not pleasant to others, as if they are good. This is coming from a muslim to you. Stop provoking people with words that are of no use and can't fix the unpleasant situations of the country. Were you at the protests? Did you personally experience it? People who were there and experienced it and the pictures show what you have refused to accept.... how can you claim to be a muslim or human with conscience and just come calling people mad???? What for? Are you on someone's pay roll in the present government that only you seems to not let people rightfully Express their grievances?

3. 12:49 👏👏

3. First world problems.

4. Watch how all those who promoted the EndSARS insurrection and Lekkilies of October 2020 which led to the killing of 38 innocent policemen and almost led to the burning down of Nigeria on this blog ignore this post like their lives depend on it 😎

5. You promote gay laws but you cannot allow people who do not want to be vaccinated to live in peace. All lives matter.

6. Sdk, where's my comment pls?