Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Miracles In Nigeria And Lack Of Proper Documentation

Tuesday, February 08, 2022

Miracles In Nigeria And Lack Of Proper Documentation

Miracles happen everyday in Nigeria and this writeup implies that these miracles are not being properly documented..... Read and let us discuss it. Do you know of any miracle that was not properly documented but occurred?

''I can remember when we were in the seminary, the then postulator for the canonisation of Blessed Michael Iwene Tansi came for a seminar and he was asked by a seminarian why Tansi hasn't been canonised.

He responded that his canonisation requires at least one miracle proven to have been done through his intercession and there have been many miracles reported to have happened through the intercession of Blessed Michael Iwene Tansi but the Holy See couldn't accept any of them as miracle because of lack of proper documentation and the impossibility/difficulty in demonstrating that there was indeed a miracle.

He gave an example: a young man fell from a palm tree and was taken to a hospital. The doctor examined him and said he had a fracture on one of his legs, gave him some initial treatments and referred him to an orthopedic hospital. But because it was already night, he couldn't be taken to the orthopedic hospital, they had to wait till morning. At night, his mother went to pray before the image of Blessed Michael Iwene Tansi and requested for the healing of her son through his intercession, went back to the ward and they slept off. Surprisingly, the following morning, the young man woke up and stood up, no more fractures on his leg! 

A miracle!

But when the miracle was reported to the postulator, he demanded for the doctor's report, which was submitted but there was no x-ray before and after the miracle!!! 

The postulator told us that even though the medical doctor was ready to swear he observed a fracture and that there was indeed a miracle, the Holy See cannot accept such as a miracle because of lack of proper documentation. Supposing the hospital took an x-ray of the leg before and after the alleged miracle, another x-ray, it could have been established by documentation that there was indeed a miracle.

So, what are reported during testimonies in healing ministries cannot be accepted as miracles by the competent Catholic church authorities. But this non-acceptance by the authorities on the basis of lack of proper documentation doesn't necessarily imply there were actually no miracles or not, but that the fact the miracles cannot be proven. 

Because of these lack of proper documentations in Nigeria, it is difficult if not impossible to distinguish fake miracles from genuine miracles!

For example, when a man on a wheelchair stands up to jump around during a prayer session, many persons will shout "alleluia", a miracle has occurred but what comes first to the critical minds is: who is that man? How many persons know his condition and for how long? What is his hospital record? Etc etc. Such critical questions help to prove the fact of the miracle and to clearly distinguish fake miracles from genuine ones. But the wahala be say, if you ask such questions, you may be stoned to death for blasphemy and lack of faith''!!!

from Facebook
By Rev Fr Samson Ejiofor Asadu

22 comments:

1. Abeg father leave miracles and talk about the molestation going on in the church. I will take you guys serious when you all stand with one voice to condemn it totally.

2. I don’t believe all those so called miracles on display during church programs.
    I always challenge people to tell me of just one person, KNOWN TO THEM PERSONALLY - a family member, friend or neighbor - who was cured through such a miracle. I am yet to meet a person who is ready to say he knows of such a case.

1. My elder brother is of the same opinion with you anon 13:22
      he always question every miracles perform

3. This is quite simple to understand. There should be absolute proof of the performance of miracle. For instance, patients with cancer, properly diagnosed and tests results to show the presence of cancerous cells in the body returning with results to show that they are cancer free.
    I remember reading on a popular page on Instagram yesterday about a product review. The reviews came with pictures of "before" and after using the product. Someone commented that this is the first time she would believe a product review because she has known the person in the picture with the skin condition since 2011.
    The summary is that miracles exist butshould not just be hearsay. I ask these same questions too when I see "miracle shows"

4. Well, praying to any image is idolatry, breaking the first commandment Exodus 20:1-3. Please read this Scripture and tell me that I am wrong.

5. Just last week, a girl who goes to preach to Jihadists in bushes especially in the North had her companions killed. Some were bombed, one was beheaded. Jesus told her and the others to go lay hands on their bodies. They did, even on the the grave of the buried one that was beheaded. As they were in fellowship praying and praising God, the one that was beheaded walked in and the girl took to her heels, shouting ghost, ghost. But the guy was not a ghost, it was him. She could see the marks on his neck where he was beheaded. The rest also rose and were healed.

1. I've been hearing of a young Christian lady winning jihadists souls for Christ. Pls throw more light, pls.

2. @Sparkle
      I am getting constant update from the missionary who prays with them. They have a zoom monthly prayer meeting online. The kind of miracles that this lady experiences in her ministry is amazing. So many "preachers" have tried to tow her to their churches and programs but Jesus always told her not to follow them. She rejected monies in millions from them. Rejected a BRAND new SUV etc. This lady is uneducated but speaks pidgin, Hausa, Fulani and Arabic; the very language of these jihadists. She was a jihadist herself before Jesus saved her and she was disowned/divorced by her jihadist "husband." There is no miracle I have read in the bible that I she hasn't experienced. She is so simple and so humble.

6. In all honesty, he spoke the factual truth.
    Miracles in Bible times were proven with facts, those healed were known in the neighborhood, they weren't imported.
    Check all the miracles performed today, the recipients of such miracles aren't known around.
    With so many churches performing healings, by now, we should be seeing the lame, blind and deaf anymore.
    They are all fake

7. If it's Roman Catholic Church, forget it. Built on lies and fallacies. Please, address the pedophilia going on en-mass in Rome and not this. Such an Occult system.

1. It's surprising how they are all quiet about it. Does it not bother them. I was shocked when I read somewhere that some nuns also sexually abuse girls.

2. Borrowing from the logic of the priest's post, pls do proper research before you propagate false information and feed unto people who will believe you without their own research as well. The catholic church have openly condemned pedophile priests and many of them have been excommunicated from the church and prosecuted and even imprisoned by law. There have been investigations, trials and convictions and bishops involved in cover ups have been exposed. It's been addressed and still an ongoing process...

8. One of my relation when she was very ill went to that church that was popular on TV for their healing. The attendants refused to let her go to the front. That's when I knew for a certainty that they are scam

9. Baffled about one that was being circulated this week on the ‘What God cannot do’ platform about two siblings that had been supposedly mute from birth and one suddenly said Goodnight to one of the parents and the other said pray mummy or something in that line. My question is how kids with no speech were able to develop their vocabulary and make such sentences. I believe God and his miracles but what we term miracles in our country sometimes are acts of manipulation.

10. Miracles exist. I have experienced several personally and also know close family members who have too. My aunty delivered a baby at 58 naturally years after 2 failed IVFs, the amazing thing was she didn't even know she was pregnant! Her stomach was getting big and she was feeling movement in the tummy periodically but her mind did not go to pregnancy, she (wrongly) assumed it was fibroid growing back, not knowing it was her baby girl. The little angel is about 2 months now, very tiny at birth but much bigger now. To Jesus alone be the glory.

1. Amen wow what a beautiful testimony, miracles exist. I'm a living testimony.

2. Of course miracles exist, I think his point is that we are not obligated to believe any miracle that is undocumented especially where documentation is possible.

11. Forgot to add, the pregnancy happened at a time when she had given up going from place to place unlike few years back where she would go to different places and mountains in search of a child. She was just living life normally when it happened.

12. Miracles exist
    I have experienced countless Miracles