Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: EFCC Arrests EX Gov Obiano At Lagos Airport On His Way Out Of Nigeria...

Friday, March 18, 2022

EFCC Arrests EX Gov Obiano At Lagos Airport On His Way Out Of Nigeria...

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission on Thursday March 17,2022 arrested the immediate past Governor of Anambra State, Willie Obiano, at the Murtala Muhammed International Airport, Lagos.
 Obiano, who had been on the watch list of the EFCC, was arrested while trying to board a flight to the United States.

Recall that the commission had in a letter to the Comptroller General of the Nigeria Immigration Service dated November 15, 2021, asking immigration to place Obiano on a watch list and inform it anytime he is travelling out of the country from any of the International airports and other points of entry and exit.

The Commissioner for Information, Don Adinuba, had, however, dared the EFCC, insisting that his boss would return to the US – his original base – after leaving office.
However, barely hours after handing over to his successor, Prof. Charles Soludo, it was learnt that Obiano made his way to Lagos after which he proceeded to the international airport.

On sighting him at 8.30pm, immigration officers were said to have alerted the EFCC who immediately arrested him and took him down to their office.

When contacted on the telephone, the Spokesman for the EFCC, Mr. Wilson Uwujaren, confirmed the former governors’ arrest, promising to provide more details later.

“It is true. He was arrested at the Murtala Muhammed International Airport around 8.30pm,” said Uwujaren.

from Punch On Instagram

27 comments:

1. I saw it coming. I know after the swearing in he will be arrested. Why running so fast if you have nothing to hide? This is why Peter Obi will remain the best governor Nigeria ever produced.

Obiano, you've so much to account for. You must provide OC Nwafor as well.

1. He wants to jakpa🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

2. Peter obi is the best how?? I presume you have traversed every single state with during every single regime since independence abi??

2. You see the people of South East,they are the most hypocritical people in nigeria.hypocrisy posing from that side is alarming.. that's one thing I have come to confirm.They criticise you nut praise their own for doing same thing..meanwhile,all this effort thing is just to question him.no cause for alarm.

1. We say it as it is Always. You are the one bitting yourself, we don’t sugarcoat things. No one praised the governor face your side.

3. This EFCC of a thing was established, and headed by the north to punish only South East governors. I have not seen any governor from the North West,or North East invited by the agency. Much to our discomfort is the fact that the recovered property or money are relooted by the agency or given to the Federal Government instead of the State that owned the recovered money. EFCC leave Ndigbo alone. If our governors have stolen our money allow them, it is our money. Those money recovered all these years have not been accounted for. We don't know what the EFCC used the money to do. We are no longer interested in this Nigeria lopsided political arrangements

1. I reject to have sense like yours, so you're enabling old men stealing us dry? Shane on you, metwwwwwww

2. Your statement is incorrect and you're trying to start a tribal war.

I can't remember all, but the former governors of Jigawa and Adamawa states have EFCC cases, the former governor of Plateau is currently serving a sentence. Like I said, can't remember all

3. Mrs S, you're absolutely correct.

4. Who are the we that are not interested in Nigeria. Try to use I next time. Continue encouraging thieves to steal from us, instead of seeking for accountability, you want our state to be like others. That was how some encouraged IPOB today we are suffering from it. We should concentrate on bettering our region, not always comparing.

5. Mrs S, please also add that the 2 governors that have ACTUALLY gone to jail have been northerners. And a prominent politician(former chairman of the then ruling party); Chief Bode George also went to jail.

We all should stop this tribal s$&t!

4. He was in a haste to leave the country. This man disappointed Anambraians. Let him face the music with his ayaka wife...

5. Yesterday was for the Obianos. Slap,arrest n all. It never rains but pours.

6. He has been released

7. He has been released this morning.

8. Thieves. They all run to US once they handover

9. Indeed there's no peace for the wicked!
    Already on the run barely 24hours after handover?

10. Eyaa. Probably he was trying to escape from the tornado that awaits him at home after that historical slap.

11. All the south east governors are very under performing. But their people support them, Tinubu is their only problem meanwhile if the south east is well developed they will not be trooping to Lagos. Insult me if you can, but that's the truth.

1. Enter your reply...we are trooping to Lagos to carry all your money,ask your bank manager or land seller. Everywhere is bought,cash is also in the bank while your people dance owambe music

2. Hahahahaha anon 12:23 thank you jare. Let them continue with owambes while our people pool the rug from their feets

3. Useless which owambe are you talking about, don't change the narrative talk to all your undeeperforming governors and stop making mouth about money making. The money you spend in hell, because underperformance has turn Nigeria to a hell on earth so I don't know which money you've made that doesn't allow you to see where am headed.

12. What is this slap all about bikonu?

Who slap Gov. Obiano?

@Anonymous and @Jewel