Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: EX Minister Kemi Adeoye Talks About The CertificateGATE That Chased Her Out Nigeria + Says She Cried Every Day For 3 Months

Sunday, March 27, 2022

EX Minister Kemi Adeoye Talks About The CertificateGATE That Chased Her Out Nigeria + Says She Cried Every Day For 3 Months

Nigeria's former Minister of Finance, Mrs Kemi Adeosun, has come out to reveal how she was able to forge ahead after the National Youth Service Corps certificate saga which saw her resign and leave Nigeria.

She said she wept every day without working for three months.

Adesosun, who spoke at the 10th anniversary of the Uncommon Woman Conference organised by the Jesus House Church, United Kingdom, explained that she felt like she was in a horrible pit.

According to her, everything about her life was at a standstill while she had to deal with shame, betrayal, disappointment and humiliation.

Adeosun explained, “That period of life was tough for me. I went to step into the shoes of someone like Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala. So, I was under fire from day one, it looked like things were not working. Then all of a sudden,the economy started to improve. It was like I was beginning to see the desired result. Then out of nowhere, the certificate scandal came. And before I knew it, everything turned upside down. And that was how the issue went viral.”

Adeosun said it was sad that she was even unable to tell her side of the story and had to resign when she could no longer bear it.

The former minister said, “I was born and raised in the United Kingdom; indeed, my parental family home remains in London. My visits to Nigeria up until the age of 34 were holidays, with visas obtained in my UK passport. When I finished school, there was no opportunity for dual citizenship; I either renounce my British citizenship or hold on to it and work here. I didn’t renounce mine. I finished school at 21 and started working at 22.

from @punchnewspapers On Instagram

*Cried every day for three months? Madam you be Ajebota!!!

61 comments:

1. True though as madame okonjo shoe was too big to fit in..

1. At Stella Dimoko She is not only an Ajebota with a Capital but a privilege one

2. Privilege one where? She’s a regular degular from East London.

2. Serves her right. Pride comes before a fall. Life has a way of humbling people. Hopefully she’s learnt from it.

1. Which fall? Na tears plenty for her eyes to cry na. I dont even think politics in Nigeria is for her,shes too soft. Its better it happened and she left.
      She had an impressive CV in UK and even in Nigeria before going into politics;she doesnt need to work for anyone again and probably will just be consulting now.
      Botton-line with her disgrace,she can NEVER lack. Her husband,kids are doing well,even if she decides to retire. UK she cant suffer,she will turn herself to motivational speaker and be givn talks in workshops and churches.

2. Bed and roses, that stain will always be there that she forged an nysc cert, got a top government job in her country and was kicked out of that job, she can't erase it from the internet. Oyibo no dey play with crefibility

3. At Beds and Roses YOU NAILED IT darling. She is beyond privileged and with the money that she has made within that short period, she is settled for her lifetime and she need to stop making herself a victim. Period!

4. Gbam at anon 12:33. The stigma will be there forever. Some people don’t understand integrity. A good name is better than riches.

5. What stigma
      We all reasonable people know she didn’t forge it
      Naija is just a useless place sometimes

6. She didn’t forge it? Wow!

7. Anon 14.14 Did you say that Naija is a useless place sometimes? Point of correction darling! IS USELESS ALL THE TIME!!!! Simple!!!

8. She got an Exemption Certificate;cos she can NOT serve. She came to Nigeria as an adult. However her exemption certificate was fake. She probably just payed someone money as many people do and the person did not do the right thing. An exemption certificate is not hard to get so far you can prove the age you graduated and why you where out of this country. All she needed to do was write to NYSC and provide her certificates and reasons she cld not serve.
      How it all turned out being fake i have no idea.

9. The person that brought it like my uncle
      Every errand sent na to find way to chop money
      Till we smart up

10. 15.21 true 🤣🤣🤣

11. Even the children of the elite especially those who scream "INTEGRITY". how many of their children truly serve?- they serve from the abroad; come for orientation if at all, return to base with their parents sorting officials and at passing out, are in the country to snap photos wearing their uniform and collect certificate, so that no one will say they did not "serve" and return to base immediately until the right opportunity is available in the future . What of the ones that ensure their kids are posted to the right and key organizations? Adeosun was just naive as a "Nigerian", so they took advantage to blackmail her out. She is not the first or will be the last. The country is riddled with CORRUPTION and only God can redeem the land.

3. You cried for 3months??? Liar

1. E reach to cry for a year sef. Dyu know the amount of freebies she had access to?Choi

2. Some people want to crucify her here, shebi she has left una country for una and the economy is now booming.

3. Abeg it's possible. I did same in 2013. Shame no go gree me talk the reason but I really did. Some kind pain reach and mine was not even that bad.

4. Hmm! Dual citizenship has been in place for the longest.

1. Where? In Nigeria yes
      Not in uk or usa

2. It’s been in place for a very long time in the U.K. and the USA.

3. Dual citizenship has been in place in the UK for a long time. My sister is older than her, was also born and bred in the UK and has been a dual citizen of the UK. She is lying again. Na only she waka come

4. For those whose first passport is Nigerian or some other country, not for UK citizens who want to add on another country back in the day. Similar to the case in Germany.

5. Lol even now there’s no dual citizenship in USA
      You swear that you’ve dropped other citizenship when you become a citizen
      USA and other countries just look the other way most of the time
      However if you get a govt related position in the USA then they’ll insist you can’t have a Nigerian passport

6. There’s dual citizenship in the USA. U.K. born boss is now an American citizen. What’s that then?

7. 22:04 he swore an oath that he has dropped his uk citizenship
      It’s standard swearing in all us citizenship oath
      You say it with your mouth. They don’t bother you about your second passport most of the time

5. Thank God you are in a better place 🙏

6. Ma, you use fake nysc certificate abi you no use fake nysc certificate?

1. She no gree answer that one.

2. She is the victim of her own wrong doing and the truth will help her to stop being the victim

3. Simple!

She sounds like the average thief.
      Explaining wetin nobody no ask dem
      Did you or did you not use fake nysc certificate?

7. Stella it was a huge embarrassment na,I understand her.
    It is well with you ma, thank God you passed that phase.

8. They set her up, at least she is better than the Fulani thief that is currently there. Moreover Okonjo Iweala just gather all the degrees like me , she was outsourcing all her jobs to Indians . But Kemi got Nigerians to do the Job, as in America and the U.K. , it's jobs you need security pass. That is high level confidential positions should not be outsourced to other citizens. My prayer is Pdp fields Peter Obi, so he can help us block all avenue for stealing and restructure the country. We will know now, if PDP has really redefined themselves for progress, by who they give their presidential ticket.

1. Anon 12.11 Well said. I’m not a fan of them but I honestly feel like people like Peter Obi, Tony Elumelu or someone like former CBN Governor Sanusi should be the next President of this great country with honey and milk but which unfortunately those greedy unpatriotic bastards has turned upside down. We need a very intelligent young person like French President (President Emmanuel Macron and Prime Minister of Canada (Justin Trudeau) to be the next President and not all these old sick men that cannot function without their defibrillators. Is sad what this country has become due to all these crazy selfish people

2. 12:56

Sanusi kè? Abeg no ask for trouble o. Someone that justified the massacre of Christians in support of the fulani? Abeg no o. I used to like him too but not anymore

3. No let Canadians hear you say JT is young and intelligent o especially the Albertans. Them go chop you raw🤣😅

9. Oh I get it now. she couldn't serve in Nigeria as she didn't renounce her British citizenship to get Nigerian own. So she had to fake NYSC certificate which was a criteria for her position.

1. Me I don't get it o. I hold both passports but what do I know

2. No
      She asked someone for help with getting an exemption certificate years ago and it turns out it was fake
      She never claimed to have done nysc

10. Who dey count the months?

11. She didn't improve the economy in any way.

12. I thought she said you never knew her NYSC certificate was forged.

Anyway na who know man naim dey kill am.

13. Madam couldn't even put it straight if she did NYSC?

1. She nver said she did nysc
      I’m not sure why you guys are happy that the crappy corrupt system succeeded in throwing out a good mind
      Just means some people we’re not happy with her stopping their corrupt acts

2. 13:54 Do you understand English at all?
      She clearly admitted she was above the age. How was she supposed to do NYSC then and where? In your living room???

3. 16.02, maybe you have not served , she said she graduated 21/22, she is not even qualified for exemption, even if she came back at age hundred years.

14. Nigeria's system failed Kemi. She did not willingly or knowingly do anything wrong and comments about her show how desperate the average Nigerian is, especially when it comes to celebrating what may seem like someone's challenges or trying times.

She had a sterling career in the UK and was headhunted by the Buhari administration. It is the job of the people who sought her out to make sure that her papers were straight knowing how their system is especially regarding the NYSC which is alien to the educational background of someone who didn't even carry a Nigerian passport. Overzealous aides trying to impress the incoming went to "obtain" a certificate of exemption in the Nigerian way they are used to since she knew of no transparent way to do it eg online. This is the same kind of hassle people go through when they need to obtain a NIN slip, driver's license, passport etc in Nigeria.

I know how the already snail paced system grinds to a halt till you bribe especially if your documents show you obtained them out of Nigeria.

People like Okonjo Iweala survived Nigeria because she learned to play ball. She would have gotten into trouble with those Dasuki dispatches had she not opted to write in emails that she was instructed by Jonathan to disburse those looted funds and because Dasuki, an old school criminal didn't have time-stamped written claims that roped in Jonathan, he's been in the net ever since. Okonjo Iweala had been bitten once during the OBJ years with a contract she worked for her brother. She escaped because of how it would have looked on the administration especially because Baba OBJ had already transferred her to external affairs despite her laudable efforts with debt cancellation in her previous ministry. It would have looked like witch-hunting. These are the things people only focused on gossip don't know.

It is most likely that during the process of confirmation, consumate armed robbers/ legislators that played to the foolish Nigerians gallery as saviours and liberators, while lining their pockets, picked up on the clerical error of these aides and instead of summoning the DG of NYSC to scold him on how the certificate was obtained ( one which the named bearer did not even know to request) came out of the organization with pink slips handed out, they started to use it to blackmail a lady who saved this nation from a recession many of the simpletons roaming the internet have forgotten about. Cabal members knowing she had a problem also tried to use that to control her instead of sacking those involved in recruitment and improving the system.

Rather than give into the sordid dance, she handed in her resignation to a president who really did not play a role as a leader to help launder her image even despite how obvious it is that this woman did nothing wrong but trust in the system manned by people who want God do frustrate their helpers into helping them but have no time to do their duty, earn their pay or do what is expected of them. They even go out of their way to blame the dead and aged for their problems but have no empathy for anyone roped into trouble.

Nigeria happened to Kemi and luckily, she had a saner system to flee to and continues to rise unscathed. You who is rejoicing thinking, have you any buffers against the Nigerian wind or are you part of that wind, contributing nothing good to the system?

1. Abegi, @16.32
      She came to chop but the system chopped her.

2. 18:49, people whose God is their belly hold that unfortunate opinion. Immune to evidence and unable to present theirs, they continue to dig themselves deep into desperation and difficulty with the mindset of assuming the next person is a fellow glutton because they know no better. It is beyond them to think that someone who didn't even lobby for the job would leave the UK without the usual plate and cutlery they choose to carry about, ready to eat any poison, whether or not it is even offered. They are consumed by greed, being bottomless pits that can never know satisfaction. Enlightenment and healing is all one can wish such folks. Even from their comments, you know the road is long but with God, all things are possible.

3. Anon 16:32 Kemi was in the know of what she was doing. Nigeria did not happen to her. As a Nigerian who graduated at age 21/22, she can serve even at age 40 provided she can proof she graduated before age 30. She wasn't qualified for exemption and should know that if she is well informed. Whose job is it to keep her well informed? Hers right? She should have done the right thing but I believe she went for the easiest way - a fake exemption letter.

4. Stop showing your ignorance,she qualifies for an exemption. Did Kemi graduate in Nigeria? Someone that just acquired Nigerian citizenship. She came into this country in her 40's and you expect her to wear khaki to serve then.
      How many 40 or 50 yr old have u seen in camp ?
      Foreign graduate serve but they are below 30. Kemi came into Nigeria in her 40s.

5. 21:30 you are not correct and you refuse to listen to others
      Kemi was not trying to serve
      She was trying to get an exemption which you can get for difft reasons

6. 21:30 you are not correct and you refuse to listen to others
      Kemi was not trying to serve
      She was trying to get an exemption which you can get for difft reasons

7. 22.21 that you not seen does not change the rules.
      Kemi is/was not qualified for exemption.
      20.47, Kemi who claims to be British suddenly now loves Nigeria more than Nigerians.
      We are not ready for this conversation, someone just went to meet her because she has Nigerian roots.
      She was just a pawn and she has been smeared