Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Late Alaafin Of Oyo's 18 Wives Reportedly Free To Move On With Their Lives And Remarry + One Condition Given.

Sunday, April 24, 2022

Late Alaafin Of Oyo's 18 Wives Reportedly Free To Move On With Their Lives And Remarry + One Condition Given.

The young and older wives of Oba Lamidi Adeyemi III, the 45th Alaafin of Oyo, may now be available to suitors without undergoing cleansing rituals after the demise of the renowned monarch.

Oba Adeyemi passed on late Friday at 83 after receiving treatments at the Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti and was buried according to Islamic rites by 4:00 p.m. on Saturday.

Although it is believed in the Yoruba tradition that the wives of the monarchs, either separated or still married are not at liberty to lay with other men until atonements have been made, palace sources claim that the late Alaafin’s wives may now move on with their normal lives.

While the number of wives remains unclear, the sources claim that the late monarch had at least 18 wives.

Some of late Adeyemi’s young queens are Abibat (first wife), Rahmat Adedayo, Mujidat, Rukayat, Folashade, Badirat Ajoke, Memunat Omowunmi, Omobolanle, Moji, Anuoluwapo, Damilola, Chioma and others are now available for suitors.

“They are not performing any cleansing; They are free to move on with their lives however, the wives cannot get married to an indigene of Oyo.

“Now that Alaafin is dead, they all would be asked to exit the palace with their belongings. Although the properties of the late monarch would be shared among them, a palace source told Peoples Gazette.

Older queens, Abibat and Rahmat were married to Oba Adeyemi at the time of his coronation on January 14, 1971.

In a 2018 interview with Punch, Oba Adeyemi had said 

“I did not propose to any of my wives. They desired to be with me because I sent them to school. After their university education, I told them to leave but they refused and insisted on staying with me here in the palace as my wives.”

In the past few years, some of his wives, Damilola, Anuoluwa and Badirat, moved out of the palace over various allegations ranging from adultery to stealing to just wanting their freedom.

Queen Anuoluwa left the palace in November 2020 because she wanted freedom. She alleged that she lived in bondage.

from Gazettengr.

38 comments:

1. Hmmmm, rest in peace to the Oba.

1. Asked to exit the palace is all I see.
      Wahala for who no secure house oo. Wetin you come gain.

2. Which man would go after these greedy looking women except a greedy risk taking man.
      Now they have been let loose…. Ladies if your husband is not from Oyo, Abeg pray for him not to fall prey to these women ones because they would not care if he is married or not

3. Enter your reply...watched his obituary on Nta. He used to have a dark complexion. Na wa for alaafin

2. Igbo people be like MTN, “everywhere you go”. Wasn’t surprised when I saw a Chioma among the list of late Oba’s wives.

Ps: I’m igbo.🌝

1. Me sef shook

2. Indeed they are like MTN. No where they cannot survive.
      See the 15th century city NYSC flung me to in Ekiti state during service year.
      I still see Igbo man there dey sell handkerchief. 🙌

3. Seems Chioma was already sent away, abi she left. Too much drama abeg.

3. Marry without cleansing??? And they are not allowed to marry an Oyo man! Hmmmm! It's dicey! Proceed with caution oooo before bees attack the suitors 😂

1. Will they even let unsuspecting men know they truly are?

4. I don't think I have their to marry a widow of former Alaafin. Fear go catch me.

5. Nah mumu man go open eyes go carry problem for himself by getting married to any of them. With all the fetish things they must have done during their stay in the palace.

6. Because they were all concubines. His real wedded wives cannot remarry.

1. Which of them are the real wedded wives?

2. Queen Abibat was. She was the one that gave birth to his honourable son. They were even married before he became the king

7. This life sha. Imagine all these beautiful ladies married to an old man.

8. He has left his problems behind for someone else to continue from were he stopped

9. Them come dey resemble. Abi na cos say them dey chop same kinikan? The first one by the left and first one by the right look so much alike.

1. Na same person de mix cream for them.

2. Ms Saphire® 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

10. This life na real journey o! It is well.

11. So what did they gain?

12. Women be wise, what did these women accomplish by being his wives.

13. Chai, olubadan died, I no even feel anything,soun sef die ,e no pain me, but this alaafin own pain me like say I be native of Oyo, I so much like him, am enigma he was

1. what is killing Yoruba traditional leaders gan sef?

2. Anon 12.58 what a question. these men are well above 80,do you expect them to live forever?

14. A royal complexion was maintained.

1. Stooop😂😂🤣

2. Jeweluchi Chocolat Noir are you crying or laughing? That's (😭) a crying emoji.
      😂

3. Eyah!!!!!!! I never knew death could catch him as he claims omo iku ti iku o gbodo pa. Omo arun ti arun o gbodo se, what was he and the gods looking till Iku took him away?????iku eyi o daaaaaa o

15. Wow! They cannot marry Oyo indigene,this is serious.Rest in peace Kabiesi

16. No smiles in the faces of all those women in that picture.
    Hmm🤔🤔

17. Thought you people said Muslims marry at most 4 wives, so how come we see 8 in that picture and you are talking about ten elsewhere?
    And he was buried according to "Islamic rites?"

1. Which according to Islamic rites? The best the alfas can do was pray for him. His body belongs to Oyo. The Ogboni and Sango adherents have taken their property.