Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lady Who Was Detained Over Alleged IPOB Links By The Nigerian Police Has Been Awarded N60 Million Damages By The Court

Saturday, June 25, 2022

Lady Who Was Detained Over Alleged IPOB Links By The Nigerian Police Has Been Awarded N60 Million Damages By The Court

A Federal High Court in Abuja has awarded N60 million in punitive and general damages to Glory Okolie against the Nigeria Police.

The fundamental rights enforcement case filed by Okolie and supported by more than 51 civil society groups was fixed for judgement on Thursday, June 23, 2022.
Okolie in the case filed at the FCT High Court was asking the court to mandate the respondents being the Attorney General of the Federation and the Nigeria Police Force to pay her the sum of N100,000,000,000.00 (One hundred billion naira) as general and punitive damages separately for infringing on her rights.

The court presided over by Justice Y. Haliyu on Thursday, June 23, granted every relief sought in Okolie’s case.

Okolie was illegally detained and held in a cell by the Inspector General of Police Intelligence Response Team of the Nigeria Police Force for more than 150 days on allegations of spying for the Indigenous People of Biafra (IPOB).

Haliyu in granting the originating motion and reliefs filed by Okolie awarded a total sum of N60,000,000 (sixty million naira) in punitive and general damages caused to her by the police

from Mawlif TV

14 comments:

1. I really pity this young lady what Abba Kyari and his boys did to her. The first time she was released after over ten months in detention and she narrated how she was passed round by being raped constantly. Immediately she made that disclosure to the public on a gathering of her people mostly women (video on Facebook) she was picked up again by the police with another frivolous charges.

Today, the court have done well but will the money be paid at least to compensate the damage this people inflicted on her?.

Until it happens to someone close to us, we may never know what female detainee goes through in various prison and detention in Nigeria.

1. When women come back from war men tell their stories.

2. Good news. Great news! We need to dey sue more for dis kontri.

1. Do you think this money are being paid? Have you seen or heard of anyone who got paid in a situation like this?

2. Teejay: Yes I have. It may still drag a lil bit. But if she has a good lawyer that drags their balls, they'd pay up! They may eventually beg her, and pay less. Settlement outside of court order. That wan sef dey....

3. If she see half of that money make she thank God.

4. This is like the first news I'm seeing recently where justice is served.

5. I doubt she will be paid that large sum .. until then sha

6. This remind me of baba suwe and NDLEA case, the money was not paid till he passed

7. Audio money. Thank God you are free nowm

8. Pray they pay her this money o.

9. Audio money, if you believe this super story, then you are not a Nigerian.