Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Late Dora Akunyili' Son Obumnaeme Says He Found Out About His Father's Brutal Murder On Facebook...

Sunday, June 12, 2022

Late Dora Akunyili' Son Obumnaeme Says He Found Out About His Father's Brutal Murder On Facebook...

Obumnaeme Akunyili, the son of Dr. Dora Akunyili and Dr. Chike Akunyili, said that he discovered his father’s death through seeing a Facebook video of his father’s death.

During an interview with Media personality Chude Jidonwo, Obumnaeme, the Director General of the Anambra State Project Monitoring and Management Office, discussed his father, who was brutally killed on the streets of Anambra and left to suffer a protracted, agonizing death.

Dr. Chike Akunyili had traveled to Anambra State to collect an award in memory of his late wife when he was shot in the face, left to die, and recorded by bystanders.

During the interview, Obunaeme revealed that he was with his father on the day he was murdered.

When asked how he is coping with the loss of his father, he said, “I’m still dealing with it. That day, I was with my father. We attended the event together…
“We came back home, I took the Onitsha road, I saw him go this side, and suddenly, I’m getting calls that my cousin has been shot…
“I found out my father had died by watching the video of him dying on the floor on Facebook.
“That’s how I knew my father died, I found out on Facebook. And this was a larger-than-life man. And just seeing him struggling to breathe and everybody is there videoing it…”

He lamented the fact that no one comforted his dying father, but instead stood by and recorded him gushing blood from a massive wound on his face.

He said: “I believe the hospital that may have rescued him was not available, but simply knowing that others are attempting to save you can be enough to keep you alive. Nobody even made an attempt.”

He bemoaned the lack of empathy shown by witnesses who questioned his father’s wounded chauffeur rather than providing him a keke (tricycle) to the hospital, as he had asked.

“I’ve not recovered from that,” he said, adding: “I don’t know how we can normalise that. How that’s our new reality, how you can be driving and you can be killed.

From Mawlif TV on Facebook

32 comments:

1. Hope he has also bemoaned other peoples viral death videos too. You see ,social media is the death of all society. Back in the day when there was no social media people still thrived!! The worse one now is tiktok smh

1. And you are no different from those bystanders. Your comment is equally insensitive. Is this the right time to lay blame? Abeggi,where is our humanity fgs?

2. 14.16 you are evil! I doubt you are human, those wey get you no get person at all.

3. Find some humanity, 14:16.

4. Just shut up already 14:16. What an inhumane thing to say. Who hurt you this much that you dont have even a tiny ray of empathy.

5. I deliberately avoided the video. Then months later i stumbled on it. I'm still so traumatised.

2. How many of you commenting/lamenting today will see a dying person and render a helping hand and not record on your phones to post?
    Ask your conscience this question.

1. False prophet ♡12 June 2022 at 15:25

I dont even remember my phone, except I want to call for help.

2. I will never think of doing so im not a young social media hungry person ..by Gods grace I will look for help not asking rubbish question ..I believe whoever takes video of adding person to show they are current will share in the wrath of that persons murder

3. Same anonymous from the first comment. You are cold and vile. Stella post o!

4. @18:07
      I wrote this very comment, and I didn't write the first comment on this post. Please comment sensibly.

5. Not everyone is as heartless as you, you know.

3. The way his father was murdered on that faithful day, the images still hunt me. It was gruesome and barbaric. May his soul rest in peace! And the evil perpetrators meet worse fate, filled with agony.

1. Honestly 😩😭

4. That man was my boss at the A&E UNTH Enugu, the best boss and colleague I ever had. I also found out from the internet where he was in his pool of blood and standing and falling and striving to live and people were recording it on his phone.

5. This is so sad to read. Imagine recording one in his most vulnerable state and his relatives getting to know about his death on social media.
    This evil video will continually play out in their head. I feel this is the most painful way of losing a loved one.
    I keep saying that accident is the worst way of dying.
    May God console his loved onesπŸ™

6. My question to those who share videos of people’s loved ones in such conditions. Please what do you stand to gain? What is the purpose? Will you be happy to see your loved ones like that or will you even want you loved ones to see you like that(oh God forbid it will never be you abi)?
    Someone was saying that he life has not been the same after seeing his brothers lifeless body online. How did we become so inhuman and insensitive.
    My mum was so down throughout last week because of the pictures of the people they were killed in Ondo. My dad asked me to remove her from the groups that shared the pictures but it’s not possible to remove her from all the group because they are church and she work related. If you ask them to reduce sending things like that they attack you

1. I agree with your comment. It is disgusting to use the pain of others to trend.

7. Nigeria is a terrible place😒

1. Nigerians make Nigeria a terrible place

2. when ESN was jail breaking and releasing the worst armed robbers and murderers people were jubilating ..I was disturbed that people are not discerning in their mindset they just react without sense of reasoning ..see the results now ...a great and gentle igbo icon repute snuffed out just like that ..may he RIP..Obumneme take heart

3. 17:41 πŸ‘πŸ‘

8. This is a very sad story. To find out how your parent died on social media is very soul destroying. And I can never really understood why Nigerians would rather video people in the throes of death than try to save them!!! It's more important to them that they capture such scenes than saving a life. Human life in Nigeria is so cheap and unsacred (if there's such a word)

9. To think that I worked with him at the A$E in UNTH ENUGU, Old site as a student Nurse. He was a very calm man. I actually doubted that he was prof Akunyilis husband because of how down to earth he was. See this man die this way actually broke my heart. I am still traumatized by just recalling what happened to him.

10. Nigeria was not fair to this family.

1. Especially when you think of all they gave and sacrificed for Nigeria while others lined their own pockets. May God comfort the children and keep them safe.

11. Such a sad way to hear and see the end of one's loved one.
    I personally don't watch such, so I can't even share it.
    I hardly even click on videos that is not label, I just don't.
    In all the WhatsApp group I am in I encouraged them to always label videos being sent.

12. Same here. They are an evil and godless brood of vipers

13. Nigeria really happened to this family 😭

14. Take heart bro