Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Footballer Ahmed Musa Gifts N500k To EX Olympic Gold Medalist Bassey Etim After He Was Spotted Filling Out Potholes

Friday, August 05, 2022

Footballer Ahmed Musa Gifts N500k To EX Olympic Gold Medalist Bassey Etim After He Was Spotted Filling Out Potholes

Super Eagles captain and star player, Ahmed Musa has sent half a million Naira to Nigerian Olympian, Bassey Etim who was spotted around the Ajah area in Lagos state filling up potholes.

Bassey Etim, who won a gold medal at the 1983 Commonwealth Games in Malta, stated that he suffered an injury while representing Nigeria at the 1984 Olympic Games.

He was spotted by Musician, Oc Cares at a failed section of the road along the Ado/Badore road in Lagos, prompting him to reach out.

Etim, 56, revealed that he had to spend his life savings for his treatment, claiming he was abandoned by Nigeria.

The Cross River state born athlete said: “I sustained an injury, and when I came back, Nigeria refused to take care of my injury, so I had to use my life savings to go back to America in September 1985 to take care of the injury.
But I still come out to volunteer myself to give back to my country. “People are saying, ‘why should you do that? They didn’t take care of you’.

The post which went viral, attracted Super Eagles captain Ahmed Musa, who requested his contact and gifted him N500,000.

from tbsnews....

Hmmm the Musician who spotted him is VERY YOUNG so how did he recognize him? LOL
Anyway God bless Ahmed Musa for reaching out.

53 comments:

1. Thanks Ahmed. Nigeria has happened to a lot of these sports people. That is why most no one associate with Nigeria again. Nigeria dose not value them. Dose Nigeria even value anyone?

2. I know the guy on Ajah, sure most residents know him. I don't think it was planned Stella, obviously they mentioned they already spoke to him. No Biggie, at least he's been helped

3. Stella, the musician recognised him because anyone who lives in Ajah one way or the other would have seen the guy working tirelessly. They obviously must have spoken to him before this interview

2. Eyah.. So nice of him.. God bless him more

3. It’s just like me seeing Julius Agahowa and I won’t recognise him??? How na??

4. That's very thoughtful of them
    God bless them abundantly

5. May God bless those with heart of gold.thank u big bros Ahmed

6. Seems only Ahmed Musa is the only footballer that cares and show love to others in football. Very kind of him

7. It is well with you. Thank God for using Ahmed Musa to bless you. May God replenish it for Musa in hundred fold.

8. God bless Ahmed Musa and the musician for their kind gesture toward this great man. I know him personally, and he's being of tremendous help to us in that neighbourhood in terms of fixing potholes and control of traffic.He works from his heart under the rain and the sun .He does not beg nor ask anyone for a kobo.
    He deserves more and I sincerely wish the government can come to his aid.

1. Wow! This is beautiful. Such patriotism. May God bless him abundantly. This our country sha, Kai.

God bless you, Ahmed Musa. This guy does so much. God bless everyone lending a helping hand to people.

2. Can the state Govt or a private Organization just give that man a JOB....Smthn worthwhile he can use to sustain himself, he is obviously hardworking but has just lacked opportunities.

9. Wow! God bless you Ahmed and the musician

10. Half a million always sounds better than 500 thousand naira, always lolz.
    Good heart is gold, Gods blessings on ahmed

1. True o😂
      Half a anything always sounds big🤓

11. That is very good of him.. Okiroyalty

12. I saw the video and he was the one that informed the musicians about his feat. God bless the giver.

13. So nice of him
    God bless you Ahmed

14. I see him on a daily! I live off Addo Road. I heard he has been doing this community service for well over 5years. He was in badore sea side before cause I see him whenever i go to fish market in badore. He has refused to leave, he single handedly with his money buys wheel borrow, shovels, boots and clears every drainage.

Now he is at Akins, that bad road in Akins he has cleared it, that 4days rain few weeks back he was inside it clearing gutters and dirty so there won't be flood for cars and commuters. There was a time he was interviewed and he said he he doing his bit for the community. His kids called him to come back he told them that he has not finished his work for Nigeria. I want to believe he is just passionate about what he does. At times community gift him cash once in a while.
    God bless and reward him.

1. Wow! This is so commendable of him, The Lord bless him and keep him in good health . Ahmed Musa you sure have a very good heart , we need more of you in this country. God bless you .

2. Such a beautiful heart. God bless you so much Mr Bassey Etim.

3. Unbelievable!! What a selfless human being in a world filled with self centered ones.

God bless him for his community services and God bless Ahmed too.

4. I pray more help locate him .

5. Instead of the Local Govt chairman of dat area shld give him a job or let him be part of the environmental task force....he doesnt have to report everyday. Its only how to embezzle money they know.

6. You dey mind them money bag them way no get sense

15. GOD bless the kindhearted

16. What is funny in the young musician recognizing him . Na wa for you Stella .

1. The musician must have approached him unlike what most will do to someone rendering help to their community for five years without seeking a giveaway. The sportsman introduced himself and the rest is history.

2. Don't mind Stella 🥴🥴

17. God bless Ahmed Musa for reaching out to him.

18. Man so kind!

19. God bless Bassey Etim for giving to his country and community despite his pain and disappointment with Nigeria. His story is inspiring. He seems like a true giver. Glad to hear this assistance came from a fellow sportsman, Ahmed Musa. That was a kind gesture.

20. God bless you Ahmed Musa for your generosity and bless Etim Bassey for his patriotism and social responsibility regardless Nigerian leaders’ failure to do right.

Stella, it's easy for a younger person to recognize an adult years later.

it's actually adults that have difficulty recognizing a younger person because of growth and development.

For example, in about 15 years from now , ten year olds of today will recognize Ighalo, Kelechi, Stan Nze, Davido.

Stella, I bet you would recognize Chief Zebrudaya, Frank Olize, Ruth Benamisia-Opia, Sienne Allwell-Brown when you see them in any part of the world.

21. The world go end any day Jay Jay Okocha do charity work. Na to dey promote useless gambling he carry return Nigeria.

22. More blessing too big boss Ahmed Musa more strenght keep up the Good work