Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Social Media Influencer Portia Emilia Arraigned For Alleged N110m Fraud

Thursday, August 18, 2022

Social Media Influencer Portia Emilia Arraigned For Alleged N110m Fraud

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) arraigned an internet influencer, Portia Emilia, before a Lagos Special Offences Court, in Ikeja, over alleged N110 million fraud.

Emilia was arraigned alongside her company, Savanah Crest Investment Limited, on a six-count charge bordering on conspiracy, obtaining by false pretense and stealing.

The Anti-graft agency alleged that the offences were committed sometime in 2018 in Lagos and that the defendants allegedly conspired amongst themselves and stole the sum of N50 million.

The charge reads: “That you Portia Anthony Emilia and Savanah Crest Investment limited, with intent to defraud, dishonestly stole and converted to your use the sum of N50 million.

“With intent to defraud, fraudulently obtained the sum of N20 million from one Racheal Akintola and dishonestly converted to personal use.
“That you Portia Anthony Emilia and Savanah Crest Investment Limited with intent to defraud dishonestly obtained the sum of N20 million from on Wendy Daniel.
“That you Portia Anthony Emilia and Savanah Crest Investment limited with intent to defraud dishonestly obtained N20milion from one Ruth Boloatte.”

The offences committed are contrary to and punishable under Sections 411, 287 (5) criminal law of Lagos State.
Sections 280 (1),(2) 8, 285 (1) and 278 (1) (b) of the criminal law of Lagos State 2011.

And Sections 1 (1) (2) and (3) of the advanced fee fraud and other related offences Act No 14 of 2006.

The defendants pleaded not guilty to the charges.

Following the plea of not guilty, EFCC Counsel, Innocent Akanno, asked for a trial date and for the defendant to be remanded. pending the perfection of their bail condition.

In her ruling, trial Justice Abike Fadipe, noted that the court is convinced that the defendant is not a flight risk, having not jump administrative bail at the Commission.

She was granted bail in the sum of N10 million with a surety, who must be a relative, and have a bank insurance of N10 million and a landed property.
The judge remanded the defendant in the correctional centre pending the perfection of her bail conditions.

The case was adjourned till September, 23, for trial:

from TheWillNigeria

28 comments:

1. Madam Portia pls don't stain my precious name Savannah ๐Ÿ™„๐Ÿ™„๐Ÿ™„ abi what's all this now??

1. Lol..Madam, please don’t stain my favorite’s name oo

2. Lolz ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

3. Ewoooo ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

4. Hehe, no mind her.

This kind their influencing so. Na wa.

2. Nawah . The way people defruad others these days ehn. I used to think it is only men that do 419.

3. Influencing fraud?

4. See the amount of money taken by one person. Daris God like this

5. Those investments fraud people are everywhere.
    I personally stopped a woman in my street from selling her lands to do investment.
    Everyone should be careful.

6. Nigerians never learn! That’s why they keep getting scammed on a daily. There’s another one Buena Vida or whatever here in Abuja. They call themselves billionaires but it’s only a glorified pyramid scheme. “You can buy Benz within a month, build mansion within a week, bla bla bla” Later we will start hearing cries of scam scam๐Ÿ™„.

1. I have a friend that is really into this one ๐Ÿ˜‚ he is so passionate about it. I don’t fall for all these people that try to recruit individuals with unrealistic promises. No be only buy Benz in a month ๐Ÿ™„

7. Influencer aaye
    Nigerians will never hear
    Shior

8. All of them with no job but influencer,on net influencing what ? Scamming

9. Why do people involve themselves in fraud, stained reputation.

10. Nigerians will never learn. Greedy lots. Influencer my foot.

11. Is this not the daughter of the late political guru in Calabar popularly called Madam?

12. Is well o ...I don't know how somebody will freely eat someone sweat
    Is well