Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Rivers State Gov Wike Gives Women The Right To Share Family Property....

Friday, September 16, 2022

Rivers State Gov Wike Gives Women The Right To Share Family Property....

49 comments:

1. Great news!!! This should be replicated across the whole states. I've always say it's about time this abnormally be corrected.

This is a good one not just to the girl child, but also to family whose children are only but women. They should have the consolation now that their daughters won't be treated badly by their uncles if they are gone.

1. Over to our Eastern Brethren. Those guys love to wait for men who do not have male child/children, to carry out their wickedness when it comes to inheritance.

2. Across the Niger you meant to write?
      This is not an issue here in South West. Every child irrespective of sex has a share of the parent's properties. This is one of the reasons why I love the Yoruba culture. They also do not discriminate against women who have only girls. They don't make it mandatory to have a male child.

3. Exactly @dreeza, we have never had that type of issue. All children are equal. Infact even children born outside during the marriage self fit join collect!

2. This is a healthy development....where my Eastern Governors...una no go see this one now Abi???

1. Their eyes will be completely blind to this news and good development in Rivers state

3. Nice one 👍 👍 👍👍👍

4. May God bless Wike,This new development is sweeting my body,there's something about this man,so fearless😍

5. 🎤🎤🎤🎤🎤🎤louder please
    Osun state people should emulate this o.
    Omo! My uncle's showed me shege because I'm a girl child😭😭😭😭.

1. Osun state you say? This is the first time I will be hearing about this happening among the Yorubas especially Osun cos I'm from there. They shares Inheritance accordingly, but maybe where I come from sha

2. Your uncle was just greedy. In Yoruba land , every one is entitled to the same value of inheritance except someone is trying to be smart

6. Wow,a welcome development 👏👏👏👏.
    Wehdone Gov.Wike

7. That's good but some families will implement it.

8. Story, so if governor does not give go—ahead then your parent’s will doesn’t count? Akuko na egwu…

Karen

1. This is for situations where there are no wills

9. What a welcome and awesome development!
    Thanks to everyone who has fought for women's rights, from the time of suffrage until now, and to the women who continue to cross and defy boundaries.

#WomensRightsAreHumanRights

10. Them don they share since. When my sis in law lost her dad,they gave her a building and she still gets money yearly from the collective rents.

1. That's wonderful, many families don't share oh, those that have no idea of how the wife and children have been building with the man will come and hijack with spiritual backing.

11. This is very very laudable. I hope these overbloated ego men respect this law.

1. But it's not something new naa to some women that have been enjoying inheritance. My only happiness is him consolidating it into law. I believe the people that usually have that problem is when there's no WILL drafted out for the children.

Some women have been inheriting and possessing properties long before now that I know of.

2. Teejay, I don’t think I said anything contrary to what u said. I clearly mentioned men with overbloated ego for a reason

12. Wike said they should go and fight uncles in court 🤣
    Wicked uncles that van use jazz and finish a whole family?
    If I am in such situation and they refuse to give me anything, I will leave them and go with my life intact.

13. South east governors and traditional rulers leave the group chat 😀

1. And they block the admin join 😂😂😂 wicked lot

I love this news wella

2. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
      If any of their governors tries this with them, they will gang up and remove him sharp sharp!

14. Good one for showmanship.

Nothing new here as already said by some Bvs.

The Nigerian Constitutions of 1979 and 1999 cover the matter. Despite decisions of courts enforcing the provisions, the discrimination continues because of habit, custom, and selfish desires of mankind masked as custom.

In some cases, the "wicked" Uncle(s) is/are just a mask for the female relatives [Mother(s), Sister(s) and Aunt(ies)] of the man who worked for the estate/inheritance/properties.

Nigeria is full of Laws. But majority of its people are empty of a lawful heart.

A law is like a seed. If thrown on ground empty of nutrients or stony ground, it does not germinate. It does not change the behaviour of the people it is made for.

Any man or woman who thinks this law will protect hard-worked-for estate/property for his/her male and female children do not love the children.

Advice - Everybody should consult an estate/inheritance planner for example a lawyer.

The Governor is, however, largely correct about female children being more visibly and physically caring towards aged and ailing parents.

Mr. Mann

15. Well done MR project!
    Our eastern brothers should emulate this.

16. Great news.
    I remember when my dad died, everybody contributed money for the burial. Infact the money was shared according to the people working at that time. We were 8 children, 4 boys 4 girls.3 girls and 1 boy was working so the funeral cost was shared amongst the 4 of us. After the burial, the 4 boys shared the cars, landing property amongst them. Till today, i dont know the extent of what was shared. The igbo culture can do better. well done Wike

1. And they couldn't even say let's give our sisters?hmnn

2. So all could share cost of burial but not all can share property?

Too much greed, Covetousness and wickedness

17. Great news!
    Well done our able gov wike
    I love this!

18. Wow .This is Absolutely very good...All children are equal, Yorubas are not biased with their kids even the ones born out of wedlock in Yoruba land due collect property too...God bless you Mr Governor 🙏🙏