Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Saturday In House Gists - Paying School Fees For Kids In Naija

Saturday, September 10, 2022

Saturday In House Gists - Paying School Fees For Kids In Naija

Do you live In Nigeria and have kids? I hear that the school fees in private schools are so huge now that salaries cannot meet up anymore..

The Public schools are so badly equipped that sending your kids there now is like taking a big risk on their future.

How do you solve your kids schools fees issue? Do you work? Do you pay for a full session or you split it? Or do you homeschool your kids until you can afford to pay?

Is school fees causing major quarrels between you and your spouse/partner?

why?

Do you live abroad? what is the school system like?

Lets gist

84 comments:

1. Only God can help us,the way schools increased school fees this term hen! It is well with parents,I didn't even bother to change their school bag and lunch box this term,that money can pay for snacks for one week.
    Luckily my son's school allow us to pay 3times before the end of the session especially for those that have up to 3 kids,which is reasonable compared to some other schools

2. Seriously couples with 3or 4 kids are really trying,school fees and textbook is very expensive ,it takes the grace of God for average families to cope .
    My daughters school fees is still affordable,we pay termly not per session and you can pay twice if you can't afford everything at ones.

1. Textbook got me tired.. 25k for SS1 student science department.. 1 textbook cost Upto 2,800 plus practical bk..
      Next week isn't far again. I just dey depend on God to provide.

2. My son in grade one,his textbook alone is 22,000 hmmm may God help us

3. School fees is not causing problem in my home,we put our kids in the school we can afford and the school is okay

4. School fees in private schools are very expensive now ooo.just before my son's vacation,the fees was increased again.i wonder why?if someone start thinking of daily issues,it could lead to HBP.so it's better one keep hustling and hope for the best especially during this economy

5. My first kid is still in the early education stage so fees are still very affordable. Hopefully and by God's grace, I will have a new and better job soon and also a business to support my husband cuz I want the very best for my kids and one source of income will not achieve that.

6. Hmmm, Stella e no easy but God no go shame us. Every new session is hard with school fees, uniform and books. My last child is soppose to start this term but the way things are right now is not possible will leave it till next year.

The koko now is their transportation, drivers wants to increase TP fare cos of the increase in fuel price but we cant afford it, so i told the school i will be dropping and picking them myself if they insist on inceasing the fare. The proprietor said he will talk to other parent so i can be picking and dropping their kids if i'm serious😚ehh...I quickly call hubby and told him, he asked if i can do it, i said i can o😁...So we are fixing the car now with the money we were soppose to pay the driver.

So like dis now work don start be that o, while i wait to start my poultry, will combine the two if God makes a way. God is faithful.

1. You are smart. Solving a need is usually the foundation of a thriving business.

2. Wishing you all the best.
      Pls also know it's not going to be easy. If it is possible make your rules now and send to the parents that will be joining you. School runs is not an easy task oh.

3. Yes o @Paprika. Anon God just opened my eyes o. Thank you @Engraced. I'm just hoping and praying that it wont stress me out. Though they are just four children behind our street plus my two kids thats all.

7. I don't have kids but take care of my two nephews. Their father is late and their mom a petty trader with five children. I took two of them from her from their tender age of 2yrs at different time. One is now 13yrs and the other 7yrs. Though their fees aren't much but 25,000 each of them excluding books and other payments.

Public schools here in Rivers State are not that bad, they are doing well and very good though can't be compared with the private ones.

I've learned that the easiest way to be free from school fees stress and issues is to pay when they're on vacation. As in paying ahead before the resumption date if you have the money. So that other things won't divert the money once school resumes. A good number of people I know are doing that here.

There are good private schools that charges less than others and people should enquire very well rather than giving themselves highBP by enrolling their kids in expensive schools they can't meet up to pay on time.

It's so shameful seeing a child be driven home because of fees.

8. I don't spill school fees with my partner
    But I help out with other extra charges like back to school items, snacks, and extra curriculum activities

9. My sis that has 3 kids in nursery and primary school can no longer afford the fees presently. Her monthly salary combined with her hubby's can't even meet up with the cost of 2 out of her 3 kids. They are presently confused on what to do and how to sort it out but God dey ooooo. Its so heart breaking seriously. And public school is not and never an option

1. Eeeeyah, may God see them through

2. They should take the kids to cheaper schools, not all private schools re expensive nah

10. Its by the grace of God.

11. I am in Abuja with my kids are boarding year 7, 10 and 12 and average of 1.2m each God is really helping my husband cos I’m not involved the one in primary is 450k for first term

1. That man is super. Abeg greet him for me. This is no child's play I swear.

2. Unless you guys are super rich, you’re wasting money and may regret later. Save the money to be ready to exchange to dollar for abroad university and find a cheaper primary. Support by teaching extra at home if you like

3. Good advice. Some people waisted so much money on primary and secondary education. When it comes to where it matters most which is university education, they can't afford it.
      If you have money, spend less on primary and secondary education, save up and send the kids to probably Canada for ease of getting papers.

4. Fyou both are wrong. Foundation is the koko. Look around you. Many of the world richest men were university drop outs. You think they would have done well if the went to cheap secondary/high schools

12. All I can say is God abeg🙏.School fees is outrageous,secondary school fees is not for the faint hearted.Doubling the hustle is the way,every naira counts,my kids school will allow you pay twice as long as payment is completed before exams,if not,they tell you to keep your kid/kids at home.God no go shame us🙏.

1. Any child wey after all this school fees that is more than enough to start farming business, is forming Gen Z for me inside house! Na to ship the shaid go him papa family for village o!

13. Not all private schools are expensive,some are still very affordable if you plan your self well...My mantra is cut your clothes according to your size.
    New session is always the most expensive because parents tends to buy textbooks,notebooks and if the uniforms,schoolbags,shoes are worn out,then more money will be spent.
    God bless us all...

14. We pay twice or sometimes 3 times as we can't afford to pay all at once. After school fees there's still other bills to be taken care of. Feeding is now something else. God will help us in this country

15. By God's grace when my son starts nursery I will be able to afford it,for now,he is still in crèche where I teach,so I get the privilege of being a staff by paying less

16. School fees this side is not so high..places like Lagos,Abuja,PH and Enugu has the highest bider in school fees.
    This side depending on what you want for your kids and your budget , you can get fees of 8-10k per term in private school.
    Government schools here are better than most private school

17. I think parent should open an account for their kids. Put whatever money you have there for them. My sis and the husband started this for her children, immediately they're born, they're both civil servants . I just realised that my nephew that's 14years has 18million in his account. Before he is 18,his fees outside the country is guaranteed

1. You have spoken
      No need to waste time dragging with asuu or those Christian private schools with funny rules. Just japa your child straight

2. Jakpaing a child to a country you don't live in can have negative consequences oh...drugs, homo, trans etc. Private university might be a better option. Just an advise sha.

18. My younger brother's daughter, just two years old oo, school fees as at last year when she started was more than 80k. Gone are the days they will allow children be up to 5, 6 years before starting primary one. Now pikin just start to crawl, them done sew uniform for am.
    I attended Our Lady of Apostles Pry School and it was really good.

19. Stella, to be honest with you, many Nigerian kids are at home as a result of their parents' inability to afford their school fees. Even in the compound where I live, a neighbour's 3 kids have not been in school for a whole session.

The economy of Nigeria is so bad & the private schools are not helping matters as they keep increasing the fees because, according to them, they have to pay their workers & also maintain the school, hence the constant increment in school fees. E go beta.

20. School fees? It's not easy at all. Now we need to even put them in new schools because we're moving to Port Harcourt. Then, back to school kits. It is well oh. We will look for an average school.
    May God bless all parents 🙏 e no easy

1. There are lots of average schools here in Port Harcourt. It depend on your location. Settling down in is quite easy compare to Lagos or Abuja.

I wish your family all the best.

21. May God continue to provide for us all, he gave us this kids to cater for. Abeg sew your coat according to the materials you have and not your size, materials fit no reach your size.

22. Ive seriously been thinking about this. Is it possible to homeschool kids in Nigeria? Im thinking of homeschooling my three kids because i cant even afford their school fees anymore. The whole load is on me, im drowning. May God see us through this hatd times.

1. You can home school them, depending on how smart you are, if you were an average or above average student yourself in your days with a good knowledge of the internet, you can do it.

2. Thank you so much. Id do this till things get better.

23. Government killed public schools, because some of them own private schools, and I think private schools pay some amount to the government too.
    The want

1. Same thing They are doing to university now,Govt schools at my end is not encouraging except either of the parent can support by teaching the kids after school.

24. School fees has increase so much this term. Me I just pay in bits as my power reach.

25. School fees are expensive but this time calls for wisdom and humility. Parents should look for a school that are within their income. You can always move them to a better one when your income gets better. That's what I did sha.

26. They want to kill Universities too, so parents can't afford education again. God pass them. Private schools increased their fee because things are also expensive. God go strength us, my sister sat for common entrance. She wrote for private and government school.
    Results came out she passed both, private 600k for school fees government 120 with other things to buy. We jejely choose government. No be us go get Bp

27. You send your child to private secondary school, then to private university and he graduates and can't find a job. This is the case of my aunt. Such huge investment in Nigeria is worthless.

1. Naso my papa send me go private university, no job just packaging and doing small small hustle. If I know that year I would have gone abroad

28. I have a montly saving I drop for my daughter, even if I borrow from it ,I return I'm I use this savings purposely for school fees, I can't be running helter skelter . besides school fees here is affordable.not up to 30k,and its a good school

29. It's not easy oo, but we thank God. We have only one child.

30. Imagine a single mother struggling alone without a better pay, no matter how small the school fee is it's not easy 🙏🙏

31. You people complaining about public school I went to public school in Nigeria and I’m a successful doctor

1. Gone are the days when public schools was the envy of all,the real deal.It no longer has value,it has dropped to the barest minimum,Go back to that school you attended,then come back and tell us if it improved or collapsed.

2. What year pls?

3. You must be an 80s kids or before that

32. It's not easy I placed my kids in affordable school yet food money will finish up the money..... I'm still owing 10k for last term

33. It's better for parents to put their children in schools they can easily afford, then supplement with private lessons on weekends. Cut your coat according to your cloth

1. Ah tor! Many of them dont want because of ego. They look at it as downgrade. The ones borning upandan like rat nko?

34. It's really hasn't been an easy walk. But this ASUU strike has in a way helped me. My eldest child who is in 300 level at the beginning of the strike asked me to help her with some money to start a small business, after much deliberation I took from the money I was saving to get a new generator and new machine (that washes and dries) for my laundry business. And got her half bag of flour and other necessities. Today that single act has come in handy. Because her snacks business is thriving - early morning rush sales and afternoon sales have blown me away. At least if ASUU calls off strike anytime soon, she's good to go. The joyful part was her helping out to pay her two younger siblings (JSS3 and SS3 respectively) school fees. That was a huge relief. School fees are not beans this term at all. But God has been kind.

1. Wow, your daughter Is blessed.
      Such a resourceful young girl.

2. Chai. Please don’t overburden the young girl. Let her pay you for what you bought for her and save the rest. She’s too young to be assistant mum

3. Wow. This is very impressive. God bless her. She is such a sweet soul. My kisses to her, please

35. It's not easy with parent's o. My sis is complaining bitterly I pray she gets better offer

36. My kids school fees is not that cheap,only books for each of them is 30k,that is why I'm trying my best so that I can atleast assist him

37. I don't know why people overhyped private school, I went to one of the worst public schools in my days, I mean I had to attend classes under shed. But I study hard and also work on construction sites weekend to earn pocket money, I still graduate from polytechnic, went abroad and became an IT specialist. I don't see why we overhyped private education and waste precious resources we might need later in life.

1. You went to a public school, as you were studying on the bare ground inside shed with sun beating your head, did you enjoy it?
      Do you think its normal?
      That shed was probably where poultry or catfish or even pigs were reared.
      At least the "overhyped private school" would have been better, don't you think?
      Even your English is still public school English, just jamming tenses anyhow.
      Imagine if you had gone to a private school with well paid teachers, not those ones they are owing 10k salary for 3 months?

38. I can't kill myself. My children attend government school. I have to cut my coat according to my size.
    Even buying of books and textbook is not easy.

1. Not all government schools are bad, some can compete with their private counterpart depending on their location

39. It's not easy but I thank God. I've saved money for my daughter's school fees, textbooks, after school care and extra for lunch and orisirisi. I worked extra for it cos I hate embarrassment.
    May our efforts not be in vain.

40. I work in a school that charges 100k termly fees but put my kids in a VERY CHEAP private school with Lesson we are only owing 7k for the balance of their books at the end of this month. I attend to them on weekends,short and long holidays. I will like to expose them to a better life by God's grace.

41. Stella, not all school in Nigeria that are expensive , you can send your wards to the one you can afford .

42. If u are in lag, kindly register your children in public sch.lagos state is doing wonders with magnificent building in a conducive environment.i am a teacher working with Lagos state govt.its free from K G to ss3.

1. Don’t mind all of them shouting private school. Some of the private school kids na olodo rabata

43. It not easy here Stella, but we than God, especially if you're earning way below minimum wage. I as a teacher in my children's school pay 60% of the school fee,but no discount on textbooks and that's why I dread first term.
    God has been faithful,I've paid for the books and part of the fee,so,the rest will be deducted in bits from my salary over the months.

44. First term fees are always a big headache,money for textbooks alone is giving me migraine,then schoolfees, they need school bag,lunchbag, and other things, i don't buy every session but because they are really old,i need to change it.I have been able to source for money for textbooks,at least when they resume they will have books,I pray God comes through for me for the other needs.

45. Reading through all the comments here, I see many people put their kids in private schools that they struggle to pay the fees. There are very cheap private schools in all states. Put your kids in the one that you can afford, don't be ashamed of withdrawing them from their present school to a cheaper one if the fees there are no longer affordable. Nobody will kill you, they will only gossip but you will have peace of mind.
    I am a teacher in a private school with a slightly high school fee. When I checked and saw that the fees would be high even after they give me a discount as a staff, I enrolled them in a cheap private school in the neighborhood.