Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Doctor Freaks Journal - In Those Days...

Saturday, January 07, 2023

Doctor Freaks Journal - In Those Days...

Growing up, Nigeria was a lovely place to live. 

TV stations opened at 4.00pm and closed at 12.00midnight, yet we were most entertained because we were expected to be in our various schools between the hours of 8.00am and 4.00pm.

Saturdays and Sundays were magical! They opened earlier. The programmes aired were carefully selected and I can't remember my parents asking me to close my eyes or exit the living room. Great content. Great songs. Great movies. Great news in the most undiluted foreign and indigenous languages. 

We looked up to newscasters and writers for the best of English language and even our indigenous languages. As early as my primary school days I had started fiddling with the idea of composing "Irohin/Iroyin Yoruba" (News in Yoruba language) and my ambition then was to become a newscaster/journalist. 

We looked forward to Friday nights for Indian movies on OSRC/OSTV/OSBC. We saw all the transformations! Occasionally, signals strayed in from Bendel Broadcasting Service (correct me if I'm wrong) and we never missed any of the late Bishop Idahosa's telecasts. How else could I have learnt of "Bob Allan" (Prof Idubor- "...our leaders sweated blood and bled white) of the "Sunny Side of Life" who later became my Labour Law lecturer at the University of Benin?

The dream of an average child was to lead a meaningful life and not to resort to "Okeite" or "Yahoo-plus." It was unthinkable. It was unimaginable. How would you even face your family and friends with that kind of ill-gotten wealth?

At what point, stage did we miss it as a people and as a nation? I weep for my generation!

12 comments:

1. At work, i regularly observe this generation and feel sad for dem deep down. We had nothing but had everything

2. Times have changed,indeed.Aptly captured, Lawyer Kunle.

3. Thnks for bringing baq d memories bro Kunle.
    The likes of d late Ayo Omotoso on OSRC news at 7pm, dat cast news wirhout looking at d "papers" d news was written on. Progs like "Another Life", Bill Cosby shows et al.
    But now stories don change oh, they said we v to be "WOKE"
    Everything don turn upside down fa!
    May God help us oh

4. It was real fun dat time
    N it was interesting then
    Every music u listened to, "make sense", every film u watched was meaningful and educative
    But now, Nigeria ti koolu Obey

5. Now,

some parents boast: "No try me o, my pikin na cultist".

some other parents buy laptop for their secondary school age sons and enrol them in yahoo tutorial classes.

1. I read about this. Is it true that they enrol their kids to learn Yahoo?
      On another hand, we also had less news of young girls following men older than their father for money. Tuaaah!

6. Its so painful that the morals are gone.

7. Those days, we used to get entertained with physical and creative activities like 10-10, race, ludo, etc. These days children are only entertained by playing electronic games and television. I miss my sweet growing up days.

8. May God help this nation.truly Nigerians are tired.

9. Very true! When I think of my childhood in the 90s and I see what kind of childhood kids have today, I feel sorry for them and their parents.

10. Bob Allan, Kokori and Idemudia, Chief Ajas, Chief Igho, Atatikolo! Gberegedegbeoun! Hotel de Jordan! Those were the fun days!

11. Ha, this brought sweet memories and nostalgia feeling. The good old days