Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actress Beverly Naya Reveals She Was Bullied And Called Ugly During Her Formative Years

Thursday, February 02, 2023

Actress Beverly Naya Reveals She Was Bullied And Called Ugly During Her Formative Years

Nollywood actress Beverly Naya's formative years is a horrible Narrative worth reading...

She tells Chude the whole story....

“My formative years, I was always getting bullied for one thing or the other and so no matter what school I was in, I always felt like there was always going to be something that I was going to get attacked for. So, when I was younger, I was an ugly duckling, I wasn’t cute I don’t care what my mom says, I was not a cute kid.

“I had crooked teeth, eczema, I just didn’t look good as far as I was concerned, and as far as people around me were concerned. I used to get called ‘snakeskin, buck teeth, light bulb head, football legs’ just different kinds of stuff and then I just blossomed.

My skin cleared, I got braces, I just kind of blossomed and I started to kind of feel beautiful for the first time in my life around 16 and I think I probably was owning it a bit too much for some people in my school. I got bullied for that and it really broke me, because I was like ‘look, I can’t win’. when I was younger, I was getting bullied for being ugly and unattractive, and now I finally feel like I’m beautiful and I’m trying to own it, that’s now the problem. I’m now getting bullied for that.
So, I got ganged up on and ended up with a black eye, a chipped tooth, on the same day.”

24 comments:

1. Na so, kids with her kinda mouth dey always receive yabbing in those days o.

We too dey yab for this Naija shah.

Don't let it define you.

2. See how fresh and beautiful she's looking now. Self confidence. So hawt! One of the keys to moving forward is knowing what to leave behind.

We must continually outgrow who we have been, in order to continually develop into who we were created to become.

1. Happy New year Teejay. I never see you this year.
      From Anon that's not a fan but fights for you.

2. Awww thanks a lot. You are appreciated.

3. That's how a girl in my 3rd son's class always calls him names, I told the teacher to caution the girl. My child is ADHD, super smart and shy, so this girl picks on him as he doesn't talk much, he just cries. One day during parent function, I brought it up, this girls mom actually sniggered when I was talking, ok. Another day as my kids and I were walking to the car at the close of school, she started with the name calling in presence of her mom, I turned and went down to her level and called her the vilest name ever to the astonishment of her mom, this imp bust cry, I told her imma beat her and her mom together and feed them to dogs. Walked off, till today the name calling stooped. The school apologized and after a while I didn't see them again, guess they changed schools. I have enrolled him in kung-fu classes, and told him if anyone bullies him, he should defend himself. These white people think I'm a walk over, them jam naija craze, now they made me a school ambassador on childrens mental health, as if they were sleeping before. My boy is happier in school now coz he made lots of friends after that incident.

1. Very good! Since her mum did not have the sense to caution her. I will finish anyone who tries my kids, be it child or adult. Don't display your lack of home training on my kids

2. My dear this story reminds me of my struggles in secondary school, my only crime, my parents no get. GOD bless my mom soul, the woman did her best.
      A fellow student cos her dad was rich go yab me eh and trust students, they tabulated our names on the board.
      She will call me names and her score was going up, I sat down and kept quiet, I couldn't cry cos she was just opportune to have rich parents.
      By the time she was scoring from 10 marks to 1000 marks, I got up and used her rich parents status against her, she bursted out , crying out loud, the thing surprised me sef.
      Trust students they added 1500 marks to me for one and urging me to fire down.
      I realised most students hate her cos of her status that she brags with.
      The case reached staff room and turned the school in chaos cos she was a favored student.
      I felt sorry for her, indeed the rich also cries.
      Till date, I ignore anyone that yabs me cos I realised I get atomic bomb mouth.

3. Super Mum!
      Thank you for putting the bullies to their place.
      The fact that some parents kinda support their bullying child/ren is quite disturbing and troubling.
      Well done Ambassador 😍😍😍

4. Way to go 💪 👍 🙌

5. You did well for standing for your boy, Ambassador mama 🤛. Make I get pikin and see anyone try that bullying shit with any of my kids, you go hear am from me. I was bullied too but when I stood up for myself ehn, it was like a film trick to everyone

6. Nice one.

We too dey yah for this Naija

7. Nice job. Shows the girl's mum is a bully too, for her to stand nearby and snicker.
      I will not tolerate my child bullying anyone and won't take others bullying her too.

4. Children who grow up around gossips and where kindness was not instilled in their lives can be horrible to other children.

1. Very true,its always from their background.

2. You can say that again . Most kids that grow up in such environments become like their parents and family members.

5. Beauty is from within.

6. It was even my mum that called me ugly. Currently I find it difficult to acknowledge any compliment. I’m usually surprised when random people walk up to me to tell me I am beautiful. It’s a process but I know I will get there. From what she said she wanted me to be tall and fair. I am petite and dark. It’s well!

1. God abeg ooo, so sorry poster.
      What a mother!

2. Is she petite and dark?? Or tall and fair? If she’s not tall and fair, she’s taking out her insecurities on you. Shut her up on day and go off on her never to talk about you again because she’s basically calling herself ugly!! Na she born you not you. And you are beautiful!

3. Pele dear 🤗, dont believe her lies.