Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative

Thursday, February 23, 2023

Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative

Hmmmm...

STAND ALONE NARRATIVE
WHEN LIFE HUMBLES YOU

I couldn't hold back the tears as I watched my uncle trying to navigate his way to go ease himself since he wouldn't want anyone helping or leading him. Today he's Squatting in the one room given to him by my dad after he built our house over 30yrs ago. Should I really feel pity for him? Is it karma' paying him back or what? No one is perfect like the holy book says. So , I'm not gonna judge him.

Over some years ago, when NITEL was alive and Functioning. My Uncle (lemme call him Uncle O) Was the Only PRO of NITEL in the state he worked in.
 This Man had everything going well for him.... cars, land etc but refused getting married . 

When he eventually did, the marriage was short lived cos of his stinginess and arrogant attitude . I remember very well when things was very difficult for my dad and i couldn't pay for my SSCE. My dad went to him for help and he told my dad not to bother himself since I'm a "girl" and can just get married and save our family some stress and he never helped out with that money. Someone else did.

Uncle O only cares about himself and nobody else in this life. He never lifted his finger to help the Younger ones when he started working and rising in rank at Till he became PRO.

He would talk and Insult my dad over any little money issues.

The house he started building just before his company began having Issues as at today is still at the foundation level after sinking millions of Naira in it . This was a house the Engineers repeatedly warned him that the money he proposed for foundation can conveniently build him a fine bungalow and still have some change but the Stubborn Man refused saying he has more than enough to start and finish.

My father begged him to pls add more rooms to ours so their younger brother can have something for his family again.... Okacha malu ( I Too Know ) REFUSED !!
His company Folded, Transportation business crumbled, his lands could not be accounted for, sickness set in and today he is practically at the Mercy of the same people he despised during his hay days.

No matter the pension he collects he's still at the Mercy of someone . I pray God will continue to keep him as he navigate the journey of life and i believe he has been humbled too !!!
Truly this life is unpredictable and no condition is permanent.
If you don't stay humble, Life can humble you.

Awwwww i feel so bad for him and wish that he has learnt his lesson so that in his next life he will know better... That said, Stingy people are people who poverty has psychologically damaged so sometimes their stinginess has a foundation that can only be cured by reverting them to poverty

64 comments:

1. Hmmm this is a big lesson to us all...This life is deeper than we think...Who would have thought it will turn out like this...

1. He was so stingy to himself and people around him
      This is what I keep telling people around you, if all you have is money then you are not truly rich.
      Imagine those he would have lifted up, there’s no greater joy then climbing a ladder and seeing your family rise too.
      Imagine having a family where everyone is settled and your parents just sit back and enjoy all their children… what greater joy.

I can never understand the life of stingy people.
      Please if you are stingy person reading this, beg God to touch your heart, people help strangers let alone family members

Always remember that you can’t take anything out of this life.

Push up (original)

2. It definitely always turn out like this for the proud

2. Feel so pity for him...but life truly humbles one sha

1. This story is a lesson to those who insist that they owe no one anything.
      Human beings are not tress so our type of relationship is dependent on each other. Be your brothers keeper because tomorrow is pregnant.

3. You are poor if you have money that you spend only on yourself. Giveing and helping people is the real wealth and affluence. You cannot be wiser than God that commended you to give and it shall come back to you. You might have given to those who did not appreciate it or tune back to hurt you. Don't worry God is a master planner, he said when your enemy hunger, give him food, by so doing you are heaping coals of fire on them.
    God can get give your uncle a second chance.

1. Exactly. It is a poor person in spirit and soul that doesn't share what he has.
      You can't acquire everything for yourself.

4. Opportunity comes but once...
    If u get it twice,then u are lucky

5. This life is a lesson..

Learn to be humble and help people ...invest in people because we rise by lifting others.

This made me remember when I got admission into The University of Education and also got admission into University of Nigeria same year...oh God,make I know type much for some reasons

1. I’ve seen people who fell by lifting others some died sef

6. The level of regret going on in his head is enough to kill a faint hearted.

Some folks on top think they have the world at their feet at their prime forgetting no one stays on top forever.

1. The sad part is that even when many at the bottom make it upwards they start treating ppl like shyt. So many ppl rise up just to step down on others, even though they were at the bottom not so long ago. Humans are just heartbreaking creatures. The good ones are a treasure.

7. Never be so poor that all you ever had when you look back is MONEY..

@MARTINS

1. Words on Marble!

This should be engraved.

When I first came across this quote some time ago, I said, no truer words has ever be written than this right here.

8. He deserves no mercy. He laid his bed on a thorn, he should lay on it.

9. I do not feel bad for him at all. I don’t. Yes, I be winsh

10. All na choices. Every choice leads to its own destination. I pray everyday for the spirit of right choices in my life, cause we all are living life blind with no knowledge of the future. Only God can guide us today for a good future

It is always good to sow the seeds of generosity and kindness when one is young and in their full strength, cause it is in old age that the harvest will come. Encourage him to seek God, no point losing in the world and in the spirit too, at least win somewhere. So let him go find God just like Nebuchadnezzar had to.

11. God continue to bless me and most importantly, make me a blessing to others. My resources are not just for me but for others too. Amen 🙏

12. I recall this same Uncle of mine always locking his fridge and his parlour whenever I and my cousin visit him for holidays. This was an Uncle that was very well to do back then with connections. This Life humbles you when you refuse to help other's in your prime years.
    Now he's completely Blind

1. Why so bitter towards this your uncle?he locked it because you’ll finish his food without leaving any for him. Let him be na?

2. He even hosted you on holidays. Except you come back to add that he starved you during holidays. Locking up of fridges was common in family in those days. Locking up the parlour is to ensure you don't make it untidy and in some cases to ensure you read instead of watch TV.

Your Uncle was a man of his generation in some of your complaints.
      He simply did not plan his finances.

People who make money working in government Parastatals/depts are generally known not to be good at managing businesses. Even now, they hide the money in properties, abroad accounts, established businesses, etc.

All said, it is good your family are helping him.

Hope you are also helping your cousins, nephews and nieces.

Your post has reminded me to be more intentional with my life and plan/work better for my retirement depending only on God to do the rest

3. This chronicle gave me some kind of vibe I didn’t like and I felt there was no point saying something.
      But this comment of yours right here confirmed it all. You came to gloat. You go and make your own money and help the people he couldn’t help.
      People like you don’t help, they don’t. You are a terrible human being.

Sluttychic.

13. Men,

There are decisions you make earlier in life that at some point in your life, you will be happy and glad you did.

Know this and know peace.

I strongly believe every suffering in life has a lesson. Why some chose to learn the hard way, some may choose to learn from the mistake of others.

One thing you should never downplay or joke with in this life is companionship. Until old age, you will understand the importance of having a companion or someone to take care of you.

As a man, get a wife if the means is available and have kids.

Women, if marriage is not forth coming, adopt if you can or get pregnant and keep it. Yes I said so.

A woman died in my yard last year. She's about 50+. No husband and no child. She was sick and nobody cared for her. Even the brother in Abuja who was called refused to come after the first time he visited.

This woman died in her house alone and lonely.

Till date no one has come to pack her belongings because there's no one. Neighbors sold some of her belongings in order to transport her corpse back to her village. Her land documents was taken by a man whom the woman had informed before her death. He was the man carrying her to the hospital before she finally died at home.

Don't mind what people will say. At the end it's you and you alone.

1. Same thing would happen if she was a widow and had crappy family

2. When I tell them they say I no get sense, thank God a man is speaking up.

3. So you’ve not seen parents abandoned by their kids

14. excuse me poster.... did i read correctly....? the house you are staying in is the house your uncle built for your family....? And your dad also wanted your dad to pay for your school fees and because he refused he is stingy....? your dad asked your uncle to build more rooms in the house he was paying for and building for your dad and because he refused he is stingy....?
    are you sure you and your family are not ingrates?

1. This also confused me. I’m not sure whether she meant the house her father built or the house the uncle built for the father. If it’s the latter, then her family are also leeches. The man built you a house then you also want him to extend it for you?! I really hope this is not the case as it would be a sense of entitlement to the highest order. I don’t understand how a person can be stingy and still build a house for his brother.

2. The father built the house, not the uncle. The father asked the uncle to sponsor adding room to his own building (the father's). I get your point though because of how the characters were placed. I have an uncle who supervised the construction of my dad's house and my uncle tells people he built the house and his children believe the house is their father's because of that. He doesn't say that one kobo never entered from his pocket and my dad paid for all his needs. 🤷

3. Anon 17:04 - thanks for explaining. Your uncle is really funny, though. In his mind he has built a house.

4. Beware 17:04 of his children dragging house with you people if he passes on . Let the truth be told and circulated while they are all alive

15. His case is a lesson for the young generation. The earth is spherical and rotates. Our prayer is that it rotates in our favour. Continue to be kind to your uncle in your own way. Life has already dealt with him.

16. No matter how high you get, pray for the grace never to look down on others, never to turn up your nose at those less privileged than you are.

This usually happen to many people who never mentally prepared themselves for wealth and people whose only goal and measure for success was just money, more money.

For some inexplicable reasons, many really battle with stringiness and superiority complex in times of abundance.

Think about it, imagine if all you reckon as success is to acquire the ability to be of help to more and more people. Can you get magine how fulfilled you will be when you see lives you have touched doing well? Can you imagine your own joy when people thank God for giving them the privilege to experience you in their lifetime?

This life is simple when godly wisdom resides in your heart.

We pray for God's grace and mercy.

17. Hope you’re not here to gloat over his predicament? Karma happens to us all . No condition is permanent . Face your own life.

1. Does the poster sound like one gloating over his predicament?
      Read to comprehend anon...

2. NK,
      Yes. There's middle ground gloating in the post.

Like a Bv commented below, Poster did not tell of the times her Uncle helped. She may not even know the times her Uncle helped because we don't tell of help as much as we tell about the refusal of our requests for it.
      It is possible, but very hard to see a person who did not help family members at all. It is more common to find those who didn't help as much as was expected or within their capacity.

3. Nk she is gloating

4. I didn’t even see your comment before I dropped mine. Yes, she came to gloat.

Sluttychic.

18. Wish my Jezebel sis inlaw Ammy can read this.

19. Think hard why most of what you don’t like about this man involved how he spent his own hard earned money
    Your father asked your uncle asked you asked he didn’t give and he’s bad

You didn’t mention the one she gave

20. Summary: Your Uncle misplanned his retirement and mismanaged his resources. No karma for stinginess here.

Blindness at old age is not a punishment for acts done during younger years except those involving abuse of the eyes.

Poverty at old age results more from financial mis-planning and mismanagement than from stinginess. I know a man who use to lock his dinning room/store in those days. During the austerity measure era of the 80s he use to buy and keep a carton of tin milk in his bedroom where his children had no access. He gave his children the basic comfort and education. His method was what he knew and was common then. His children saw him as stingy. Maybe he was. But He died a Naira billionaire. So stinginess well used ought to lead to wealth.

The man lived beyond his means as shown by the house he was to build.

As a staff of NITEL he was not supposed to be as rich as portrayed except he had his hands in government till or was a bribe taker. If Karma is at work here, it is better to look at either of those directions. Some bribes carry pregnancies. Those of us old enough know how it was with NITEL staff then. It is like being a CBN worker in this current season or even better.

Helping people is good.

But Not helping people does not automatically bring poverty. What we call family and friends help does not exist in in the current culture of some peoples who even call it black tax. Yet those peoples will not attribute old age poverty to karma. All old people there are not poor. They will place old age poverty squarely at the door step of poor retirement planning.

Nigerians like to be helped. People who don't help as expected are generally wished bad with the saying you don't know tomorrow. But ask those who help their stories. Yours sincerely is still trying to collect a loan given almost 6years ago to help a school mate roof his house. The loan was given when I had never bought a sandcrete block in my life. If our landlords quit us today he has a roof to go under. I have none. The money has lost 300% value at building materials price measurements. Same person may turn around and say so this man was just big for nothing. I have seen helpers fall on hard times. Onlookers and the wicked helped called them fulls for not helping themselves first.

Bottom line, Poster's Uncle's travails are not necessarily karmic from not helping others or stinginess. The are from old age and more from not helping himself first.

Stella, well done. Doh

1. Thank you
      If he planned well and still had money, they’d still be friends with the stingy man

But money has finished and now everyone has something to say about how he lived his life

2. Blessed anon you said nothing but the truth here. E good to go school and get sound brain. See understanding and comprehension na.17.09

21. Good that your family is assisting him

22. This might be the fate of my aunt living abroad someday. She had it all going for her but refused to help nobody. I really pity her end

1. O pls
      If she has her retirement plan, she’ll never have to beg y’all

2. Anon 21:25, only God knows the true situation with your aunt living abroad. If she's not refusing to help willfully, your evil wish for her will befall you. You sound quite evil.

3. All you entitled lots wishing evil on someone’s end do you know how your end will be? I’ve seen generous people end up badly too. Let’s be mindful what we wish people on top their hard earned money.

23. The Tides turned...I am sure he will be full of regrets. God have mercy him.

24. Entitlement mentality.
    See you rejoicing codedly.
    His poor financial decisions led to his poverty now. It's not because he refused to help. There are some family members that you help and they refuse to help you in future. So cut me some slack