Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lagos State Begins Distribution Of Food And Reduces Transportation Fare To Cushion Effect Of Naira Crunch

Thursday, February 16, 2023

Lagos State Begins Distribution Of Food And Reduces Transportation Fare To Cushion Effect Of Naira Crunch

Lagos state governor Babajide Sanwo Olu dropped a memo for Lagosians on Twitter on Wednesday February 15, 2023 explains the measure he has supposedly taken to reduce the harsh effect of the scarcity of the new naira notes...

''Dear Lagosians,

I hereby commend your patience and calmness, following the sad controversy generated by the Naira shortage crisis. I would like to inform you that we have joined the dispute at the Supreme Court, which adjourned the hearing of the matter till Feb 22.

When the matter first came up on February 8, the apex court said the old notes remained legal tender. That position has not changed. Therefore we hereby warn those rejecting old notes to desist from doing so or face prosecution. It is against the law to reject the old notes.

I plead with everyone to remain law-abiding, and shun mischief makers who may want to exploit this temporary situation to promote their anti-people agenda. I am confident that the Judiciary will resolve all the issues around the currency shortage crisis.

To cushion the effect of the CBN directive, especially on the vulnerable among us, Lagos State has started the distribution of the food packs as earlier promised, while the 50% fare slash on all State transportation services facilities continues. Thank you all and God bless''.

22 comments:

1. I really hope the food packs gets to the vulnerable.

1. Truly unlike what happened with palliative

2. How long do they plan to do this or is it for this election period?

Push up (original)

3. Election things πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„

2. One thing these people failed to understand is that, Emefiele came well prepared. It doesn't matter what anyone does or says, the old 500 and 1000 notes ceases to be a legal tender. Is this too difficult for them to understand? Why are politicians crying so much more than the bereaved?

If you like cook and share food for the whole Lagosians they will eat and demand for more. But as Nigerians have decided to cook for you wicked politicians, I doubt you guys can finish it let alone asking for more.

1. It seems you are always parochial in your approach to issues. A lot of people are suffering and you think it is because of the politicians. Did you for a moment think Buhari loves the people so much? If he had loved the people very much , he would have done a lot for Nigerians in the previous 7+ years he spent as a president. But their intentions to install their preferred candidate in power. If you think it Obi that will win because of naira redesign you are joking and living in a dreamland.

2. Peter Obi will not win according to you, yet he's not complaining but the ones you think will win are the ones complaining even among the ruling party, running from pillar to post. Oh what a time to be alive.

I'm not parochial on issues rather I am saying it as it is. You can't convince me on what I know very well.

Did Nigerians start suffering today? Why are the politicians more interested in our plight now? Was there ever a time they had us in mind? My comment above in no way suggested I said the policy was for Obi's winning. So I don't know why you came up with that assumption. Are you afraid of Peter Obi's victory?

3. Less I forgot, pls anonymous can you tell me the preferred candidate of the presidency? I would like to know. You sounded like an insider😁😁😁

For your information, We've crossed the Rubicon. Anything short of a credible election will be resisted by the people. Yes! We are capable. Unless they want no Nigeria anymore.

We will defend our votes this time around with our blood.

To die fighting for what you believe in is an honor. You can't kill a thing that's ready to die.

4. @ TJ, though I am an Obi supporter, it’s not in CBN’s place or Buhari’s business for this evil policies; that is strangulating innocent Nigerians! Emefiele will go down in history as an evil person, who destroyed small businesses and petty traders with his useless policies! Buhari has always had draconian tendencies and this time he used emefiele! Did they not buy votes in his time; did you see the innocent bystanders killed yesterday in Benin at the CBN there? Buhari is evil and anyone who supports his evil policies, I will cut off, even if you are friend, family or even my Pastor! My prayer πŸ™ is Nigeria does not explode before the elections. It is well with Nigeria πŸ‡³πŸ‡¬

5. Anon 13:05 thanks for your submission and I will say, I understand the point you're making. Buhari has never been my person neither is Emefiele. All I'm saying is that anything that will guaranteed a free and credible elections is what I'm looking at. If withholding the money from the politicians will kill the idea of vote buying, then I'm good with it unless there's another motive to it.

I believe after the election things will go back to normal.

6. @ TJ I agree with you about the vote buying being eradicated completely! Like me now, anything outside my debit card spending is not welcomed! And I avoid stress because I work from home, but what about those who go out to search for their daily bread and the common man who earns daily, and has families to feed! At this point; I must say , it was not properly thought through. There is no where in the 🌍 world, where corruption is absent, is even an English word! APC is evil and PDP will not be better, because they fielded Atiku! Obviously the Labor candidate is our best bet! I don’t care what you vote at your state level! If you like vote a mad man for your state; but OBI is key πŸ”‘ for a new Nigeria!!! Vote out PDAPC and let’s enjoy this country flowing with milk and honey by voting our God sent Obidatti!!! Shalom

3. E be like this money thing pain these politicians pass we the masses. I've never seen them so determined in a fight like I'm seeing now

1. E pain them well well cos na them get plenty for house on like the poor masses

4. Oluwa is involve,their eyes will see their,na now them go Sabi say water get bone.

Ada ohafia

5. They are suddenly thinking about the suffering of the masses. What election cannot do does to exist.

6. Any strategy to win the election, one would think they are doing this because they love the masses.

7. If na you get billions stacked in houses waiting for election, ee no go pain you? Imagine having N1k and N500 notes stacked in houses in each of the 6 zones, then Emefiele came with his "evil" policy, no wonder them they foam for mouth, becos is Emilokan no why, that money will be as useless as used tissue. More importantly, how do they want to get votes without paying the poor masses? Wahala dey ooo!!! If to say Emefiele no get military guards, them for don off am sinceeeee!!!

8. Fashola I can see you have us in mind, where were you during end sars massacre? During Asuu strike or when your fellow politicians hid the pallatives the poor and hungry masses supose to use. Keep quiet, we will bear.

1. Fashola ke 😳
      How many tenures ago did we last see himπŸ˜…

9. Emefiele will go down in history as a very courageous man for this singular act. The masses have always been struggling. It's better to get it right than struggle another eight years. For a moment, Buhari has done well.