Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Serial Entrepreneur Tony Elumelu Narrates How He Got His First Job After His NYSC Programme

Sunday, February 05, 2023

Serial Entrepreneur Tony Elumelu Narrates How He Got His First Job After His NYSC Programme

Tony Elumelu, founder, The Tony Elumelu Foundation and Chair of the Board of United Bank for Africa, UBA, has narrated how he got his first banking job after his National Youth service programme....
He posted this info on his Facebook account on Friday 3 February 2023..

He posted....

''Circa 1985.
I recall my Youth Service days in Sokoto, a young man, fresh out of school, enjoying the drinks we could afford (lol) and unsure about the next steps.
In my uncertainty, I was sure of one thing, I will stand out wherever I found myself, through hard work and resilience.

I had always admired the banking profession, for one, I loved that the guys in the profession were always impeccably dressed… suspenders were a huge thing then, and I wanted to look like them.

A few years later, after my Masters, I saw the application for graduates with a minimum of 2:1 in All States Trust Bank, this aligned with what I wanted for my life, but my 2:2 grade did not make me qualified, still, I applied, because I identified what I wanted in life and I was going to work towards it. I put in my application and said “Even though I do not meet these requirements if you give me the chance, I will prove myself”. I got this job and spent every day proving myself and earning my luck in the bank.

Do it afraid and do it unsure! To the young ones out there, especially those who just passed out of NYSC yesterday, this is my message to you. The world needs your courage.''
#FlashbackFriday
#TOEWay

10 comments:

1. Will UBA give opportunity to graduates with 3rd class into their graduate trainee program today?

2. “I spent everyday in the bank, proving myself and earning my luck”. Word!!!

3. I love his smile.

Beautiful story Mr. Tony, however, the Nigeria of those days had class and conscience. This Nigeria of today? Damn! It will test you to your limit.

Anyway, why is your bank UBA hoarding cash oga? Let's start there, please make a difference there.

4. Does his company give other people a chance to prove themselves? Or they keep looking for employees who are 22 years with master degree?

5. Good motivation for today's young generation, infact for every age

6. Uhmmm 🤔
    Banks now don't really give opportunity tho' , I graduated with a 2.2 and have been applying for a banking job, but I always get rejection mail (very painful thing) but I am keeping my fingers crossed because I love the banking profession so much. I just need an opportunity to show what I have got. end of ranting 😭😭😂😊
    I pray favor smiles on me soon🙏

7. I wish he would give a masterclass on sporting business opportunities and raising funding

8. He who has an ear let him hear...
    "Do it afraid and do it unsure"... In all never give up and keep giving your best because time will surely tell😘