Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Big Brother Star Tobi Bakare Reveals How A Movie Role Affected Him In Reality

Monday, April 10, 2023

Big Brother Star Tobi Bakare Reveals How A Movie Role Affected Him In Reality

Tobi Bakare played a street King in a now trending movie which was shot over a year ago and he explains how the movie impacted his life in the real World

He said; “For ‘Gangs of Lagos’, that was challenging because like for the first time… you know as guys now, we build so many walls like you are ready for all the possible sad outcomes in life mentally. Like you don’t know it but… I was now playing the role of a strong guy but then in the same movie, he had moments when he had to be vulnerable. Bro, I had the toughest time. I had to tear my walls down.

“You know those plastic (herbal bitters) drinks na? I drank two within the space of five minutes. I just felt like I drank water because I didn’t feel anything. I was listening to the saddest music. This is the song I always remember from Gangs of Lagos, Celia song by Tiwa Savage. It is a very emotional song. I wasn’t trying to fake it (my role). I needed to be actually sad, I needed to be there. So, I was putting myself in the scenario of this character.

“I was self-reflecting. There was a graveyard right in front of where we were shooting. So my head was in different places. And eventually, we shot that scene. After we shot it, and they said ‘cut’, everyone stayed quiet. And people in the background were sobbing. It was almost as if for that moment everybody forgot that we were acting and some people were actually tearing up.”

“It (the character) leads sometimes like my wife now when I got home initially… Hardly, anger is the last emotion you can get but my fuss became shorter. On the road I’m driving, my fuss is a bit shorter because of this character I’m currently infusing. So, after the whole thing I had to just ease out.”
from Menisms audiovisual podcast.

14 comments:

1. You did really well Tobi. Kudos!
    "Brotherhood" now "Gangs of Lagos", oya time for a different character.

Abeg was the movie made awhile ago? Because the Eniola I saw there was totally different from the Instagram Eniola. Abi na body makeup? abi eye dey pain me ni?

1. Yes,they said 2021 before brotherhood

2. Sandra, you should try reading......

3. Ok. Thanks for the clarity.

2. Tobi tried in the movie,I felt his emotions....he swallowed the role.

3. He indeed bodied the role
    Spectacular performance!!!

Love to see the elevation and growth from Bbnaija to starring in blockbusters movies...well doneπŸ‘

4. He did a fantastic job! Well done, Tobi.

5. Well done πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

6. Everyone did great in the movie. Black kamaro acted so well too(terrible). It’s an interesting movie.

Don’t conclude with your life, God is still in the business of changing your story.

7. Well done πŸ‘πŸ‘

8. Is that not what been a good actor is? You put yourself in the role and deliver excellently. So what's the plenty English for again?I don go

9. I like this sha. I like TObi he has come a long way.

10. Chika(hello iya boys)10 April 2023 at 18:38

I want to watch this Movie ooo..