Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Comedian Basketmouth Reveals Why He Wants To Quit Comedy And His Plans

Tuesday, April 11, 2023

Comedian Basketmouth Reveals Why He Wants To Quit Comedy And His Plans

Funny Man Basketmouth has revealed why he wants to quit comedy and what he would do after quitting....

The multi-talented entertainer last year made known his intention to resign from the crib-cracking industry in a few years time.
Featuring on the recent episode of The Honest Bunch podcast, hosted by media personality, Nedu, Basketmouth said he wants to resign from comedy to focus on his dream of creating his own industry.

He said: “When I started comedy, when I start my career na rap I start with. Then I started playing drums. From drums, music come dey improve small small. My first music wey I produced na like in 1995.
That was the time I tried to blend hip-hop and afrobeats. But we no sabi do am so e no too work. But we tried.

“When I come discover say I dey do comedy na by chance. I no plan comedy because comedy just dey. But when I come dey see everything, I come say ‘okay Bright, you need to start designing how you want do this thing [comedy].

“My intention na to build my own industry. I no wan dey part of the industry per se. Which is why, if you notice over time, I don put head inside sitcoms. I don put head inside movies. I’m working on a movie right now. I don do music concerts. I dey do comedy shows. I see say I don dey touch everywhere. I don release album.”
 “Then e reach one point, I tire. I say ‘this is not honest’ because e no sweet. What I was blessed with was the talent of being a stand-up comedian. I no be MC. Na IK dem, all those people, dem be MCs. We come force ourselves. E reach one point I say I no dey do again. Six years ago, I come dey run away from MC events.

“As I come resumed [MC], I resumed this year fully. I come say ‘Bright, you no go fit run five years, you no go fit run the rest of your life doing comedy so put your time frame to five years so you can have time to do it. E fit no even reach five years. So you go fit get time to focus on other things’.”
 “To be honest, I feel say I don build the foundation for everything wey I want do. No be where I want dey be this o. There’s a plan but I need to do all these things.”

6 comments:

1. Understandably. Once in awhile we get bored of doing the same thing over and over again, he has really paid his dues.

Kudos to him.👍

2. I just like him.
    He has done so well for himself.

3. Basket is such a great comedian. I wish him success in his endeavor .

4. instagram skits have also watered down live comedy people just get laughs at the click of a button

5. He was good. He is not funny anymore. Simple as that. Just like in music, many you g talents overtook him.