Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Apex Court Slams N2million Fine On PDP For Pokenosing In APC Affairs And Seeking Disqualification Of Tinubu-Shettima

Friday, May 26, 2023

Apex Court Slams N2million Fine On PDP For Pokenosing In APC Affairs And Seeking Disqualification Of Tinubu-Shettima

The Supreme Court has given a judicial seal of approval for the inauguration of President-elect, Bola Ahmed Tinubu and Vice President-elect Kashim Shettima.

The Court on Friday dismissed the suit by the Peoples Democratic Party PDP, seeking their disqualification from the 2023 presidential election.
The Apex Court held that the PDP’s suit praying disqualification of Tinubu and Shetima was grossly lacking in merit and dismissed it.

Justice Adamu Jauro who delivered the lead judgment slammed a fine of N2 million on PDP for poke nosing into the internal affairs of the All Progressives Congress, APC, in the conduct of its primary elections and nomination of its candidates.

Justice Jauro agreed with Tinubu’s lawyer, Prince Lateef Fagbemi, SAN, that PDP acted as busy body and meddlesome interloper in the ways and manners it dabbled into APC’s affairs unjustly.

The Apex Court held that apart from the fact that PDP lacked requisite jurisdiction to institute the suit, the party also failed to provide scintilla of evidence that Shetima engaged in double nomination.

The claim of PDP on the alleged double nomination of the Vice President-elect was described as most unfortunate and a clear deliberate mischief to mislead the Court and the country.

The Supreme Court also agreed with Fagbemi that no matter the pains of PDP on how APC conducted its primary election and nominated its candidates, PDP must remain onlooker.
“It is abundantly clear that the Appellant (PDP) in the totality of its position in the instant case, is peeping and poke nosing into the affairs of another party as a busy body and meddlesome interloper,” he said.
The Court held that the action of PDP was painful because it used the social media to set a booby trap for the Supreme Court to blackmail it.

It said this is most unfortunate, unwarranted and uncalled for.

from daily post

18 comments:

1. Nigeria is gone forever. I can now beat my chest and say this in all certainty. The same double nominations brouhaha that ousted Uche Nwosu by the supreme court in Imo State was condone on Shettima's case.

The hallowed hall of our judiciary has been desecrated by corruption. I won't be surprised when the perjury case will be thrown away as well not to talk of the 25% FCT vote in Abuja.

1. You are too naive and pride won't let you learn politically.I am not surprised why obi failed because u our likes that are foolish poetically and lack political wisdom and understanding supported him and he is bound to fail.

2. @ Teejay, before you go forever, have you read the provisions of the new electoral act? You guys keep quoting the provisions of the old electoral act and ignore the new law signed by Buhari in 2022.
      Even Barrister Laborious Oshomah said after today's judgement that lawyers should be sued for misleading their clients.

I and mine will prosper in all that we do, the incoming regime will do great for Nigeria and Nigeria will make great progress, those that wish Nigeria evil because their preferred candidate didn't win will carry the evil on themselves and their family

3. Excerpts of the Supreme court judgment is as follows;

According to the apex court, Section 285(14)(c) of the Constitution does not permit a political party to interfere in the internal affairs of another political party. It is therefore the position of the Supreme Court that the PDP not being a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC) cannot challenge how the APC produced its candidates for an election.

The apex court also pointed out that the case of Nwosu relied upon by the appellant was not applicable because Nwosu was nominated by two different political parties while in the instant appeal, Shettima was nominated by just one political party, the APC.

4. Ignorance is a terrible thing; you can't take a wrong position in ignorance of the law and claim to be cheated or robbed when the court rules in compliance with the provisions of the law

5. Anon 13:23,

Continue. Is that all you say? Continue the insult and expression of how poorly and badly you were raised as a child.

6. 13:23, people find it difficult facing reality because the false hope being peddled actually benefits them. They keep on clinging to false hope and deceiving themselves because such words open the slim purses of those who have long read the handwriting on the wall and left but are still nursing anger against a fraction of those who jointly smoked them out of Nigeria.

People who hardship chased from their Homeland long before Buhari into calmer regions that they keep speaking against have chosen to remain pained for pay. Whether it is the thieving DJ that sold a Biafraan dream to enrich himself at the detriment of his own people's blood or a religious war by a yes man who doesn't understand the vastness of Nigeria, they are really looking for handouts from any sinking ship and not really any improvement in the system. Impromptu patriots that will still go back to their roots after whining 😆. Let them start charity at home and then, we can talk.

7. 13:23, people find it difficult facing reality because the false hope being peddled actually benefits them. They keep on clinging to false hope and deceiving themselves because such words open the slim purses of those who have long read the handwriting on the wall and left but are still nursing anger against a fraction of those who jointly smoked them out of Nigeria.

People who hardship chased from their Homeland long before Buhari into calmer regions that they keep speaking against have chosen to remain pained for pay. Whether it is the thieving DJ that sold a Biafraan dream to enrich himself at the detriment of his own people's blood or a religious war by a yes man who doesn't understand the vastness of Nigeria, they are really looking for handouts from any sinking ship and not really any improvement in the system. Impromptu patriots that will still go back to their roots after whining 😆. Let them start charity at home and then, we can talk.

2. Lol
    The final booby trap according Bayo Onanuga has been cleared with this judgement i guess

3. Wow..Jesus just come back abeg

1. You want to die because of a simple court case? The obi you want to die for has sorted himself and his family out since his first week as governor as the Pandora papers revealed and he confirmed on an arise interview when the papers dropped. Datti, who rigged his way into the Senate twice has two private universities, easily the most expensive in the North. But you want your life to end and have no hope because?

You are an adult. It's a case of Mohamed and the mountain.

4. Labour Party suit is still pending

1. Definitely! We will see if they will say Peter Obi and Labour party don't have the right as well.

5. How will LP have a case when PDP does not, are you APC members?

6. Judiciary is as good as dead in Nigeria.is quite unfortunate.

7. If men were God......