Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: DomittilaGATE - Producer Zeb Ejiro Reveals Actress Anne Njemanze Asked For N17million To Feature In Sequel

Saturday, May 06, 2023

DomittilaGATE - Producer Zeb Ejiro Reveals Actress Anne Njemanze Asked For N17million To Feature In Sequel

Popular filmmaker, Zeb Ejiro, has expressed joy at defeating actress, Anne Njemanze, over a case of copyright infringement regarding the movie, ‘Domitilla’.

On Thursday, May 4, 2023, the Chief Registrar of The Trademark Tribunal sitting in Abuja, Shafiu Yauri, had cancelled Njemanze’s registration of ‘Domitilla’ as a trademark. He ruled that the documents issued to her were done in error.

Speaking on the genesis of the case, Ejiro told Saturday Beats, “When I shot ‘Domitilla’ in 1996, I invited Anne to act in it. She was not a star then. Some years later, I made ‘Domitilla 2’. She did not play the role of Domitilla in that sequel, but the character’s mother. When I went into partnership with FilmOne Entertainment, I called her in 2019 to say that we were shooting the movie.
“When I called her again last year (2022) that we were ready to shoot, she asked me to pay her N17m. I did not know that she had gone behind me to trademark the name as her property.
“ I petitioned the trademark office, informing them that Anne did not have any work with the name ‘Domitilla’. We were then invited to defend our submission.

“They (Anne and her lawyers) tried to get an order to restrain the movie from being released but they failed. We eventually won the case.”

Ejiro also stated that he actually reached out to Njemanze over the issue to no avail. He said, “We had finished shooting and editing the remake of the movie when we suddenly saw a court order that our office should be searched and properties seized because we were infringing on Njemanze’s right. I called her several times to ask her what was wrong, but she did not answer my calls. As an elder in the industry, I started calling people to talk to her. I wondered why she wanted to kill my business. Is that how she was supposed to pay me, whom God used to launch her into the industry?”

from Punch

29 comments:

1. This story keeps getting sadder. Ann is a horrible person! I’m still trying to make sense of it. Someone said she was smart to trademark the name! Aaaah! The trademark process is the problem, she had no right whatsoever…

What a mess, asking for 17m when we all know Nigeria hasn’t gotten to that level yet, which actor gets paid such amount? Ejiro would be lucky to gross that in the cinemas.

Karen

1. How much will the movie make in the cinemas and streaming platform that she's asking for 17million? So far the movie has gulped about 35million, so I wonder why she's demanding that amount.

2. Her two principal supporters Bvs here have been silent since fuller details and Registrar's verdict.

2. Greedy lady, good he won the case

3. This is a greedy, evil woman! I’m glad nothing went in her favour

4. Na real Domitilla gate ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ Ann should take it easy now,if only her to collect 17M how much Zeb wan come make and also pay the rest actors and crew? Na wah

5. I'm so hating Ann now,used to like her.
    How can she attempt this at Zeb?
    Thought they had a working relationship then she went ahead for a trademark, obviously it was a ruse.

You call somebody to wash hands and eat with you, she gets to your house then holds your hand from dipping spoon into the delicacy.
    What manner of greed?
    Tufiakwa!

6. Very greedy woman,does tinsel pay her that much?๐Ÿคจ

7. Na God catch am.!

The judge would have even slammed her with a huge fine for theft and infringement to teach her s lesson as well as others who may want to follow in her tread in the future.
    Yeye somebori

8. This woman has a very wicked heart, someone that brought you fame. She has spoilt market for herself bc most people will not want to give her job. See greed

9. When segun arinze parted ways with her...i thought he was mostly at fault. Now i doubt that !

1. My thoughts too

2. ..lets stick to issues please

3. This is a very wicked comment to make. He left her after her accident which many people believed had made her wheelchair bound for life. It took a lot of money and years of treatment for her to be back on her feet.

4. @17:32, what you said is NOT true. They already parted ways before she had an accident. Don't say what you don't know.

Btw, I agree with 17:18 though

5. Do they have anything to do with each other? Face the topic ahn ahn, Nigerians and speculation

10. This woman is terrible sha. What manner of greed is this? Haa!!

11. If our laws were good enough,she’s supposed to pay all his legal fees.she wanted to play smart but she was caught red handed

12. Zeb please leave God from your mouth. I think it serves you right zeb. Do you know how many young aspiring actresses who's career you cut short in the name of "sex for roles" Annienis evil but you are worse. You made my life and others a living hell sir just because we refused to to let you have your way . That your office is a sex oom and you know it

1. Clap for yourself Anne ๐Ÿฅด๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ™„๐Ÿ™„

2. Hmmm...

13. I am happy for Zeb Ejiro. Ann, see greed did not make you get anything.๐Ÿ˜œ

14. The heart of some human beings is desperately wicked

15. Wicked woman, thank God Zeb won.

16. People will never cease to amaze me what is not your own the heart of a man is desperately wicked

17. We did not know the full story, she's trying to get back at Zeb for something. Whatever it is, it's between them. *Yร gbร  Wife*

18. Anne no try