Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: CHRONICLE OF A MARRIED MAN

Friday, December 29, 2023

CHRONICLE OF A MARRIED MAN

Hmmmm some neighbours are so wicked..

A BV shared how her oyinbo neighbour in America went and put electricity in her fence because of her (bv's) children, she doesn't like children.
A friend recently shared a status video of a booby trap that his neighbour put round the open space on his property.

Grasses covered these traps and as the children wandered there, they tripped and fell badly.
I watched the video several times to be sure that I watched well. "What manner of wickedness is this?" I kept muttering. If someone tries this in Nigeria, they will be labelled a witch. Haba!
According to him, they reported to the police as the injury was serious, police said the wicked neighbour had a right to secure his property against intruders, anyhow he deemed fit. End of story.

So my people who moved abroad with their kids, pull their ears very well to sit in one place. You see that thing that they used to do back home in Nigeria, where they will roam from one house to the other playing, they should not try it there o.

31 comments:

1. They are mindful of their space and you are expected to maintain your lane, except when invited. No trespassing.

2. Brings to mind that incident earlier in the year where that Nigerian woman was shot dead in Florida by her neighbor simply because the neighbor felt the Nigerian woman's kids were making a whole lot of noise.
    The United States is madness.

1. I have lived in places with a lot of noise pollution and notorious, noisy and badly behaved kids who don't listen. It is trying, when you are looking for peace and quiet to concentrate or rest. Definitely I would not kill a kid, and being here I just overlook a lot. But sometimes parents should try to curb the excesses of their kids. It is also for the kids safety. In some countries there are people who don't have kids deliberately and don't want direct contact with them. It is just their way. In Nigeria many people don't respect the boundary of others. As there are hardly any enforceable laws. One of those kids I mentioned drowned in a nearby river where they were playing without any supervision. I was always shouting and watching them when they came to fetch from the well where I was living because I was scared by how they played, very rough play. And their noise disturbing. Parents need to try to supervise their kids more. Now there are kidnappers and perverts around. You hear stories of kids locked up in freezers and cars and losing their lives in the process of play.

2. Children play into parked cars and get trapped to death in. But when the owners of the cars complain the parents of the children tag the complainants as wicked. When the children are are affected, their parents also cry ritual killing.

3. What a wicked neighbor, thank God is was not fatal.

4. She potentially has a valid tort claim against her neighbor for deliberately setting a trap that caused injury without any warning. The neighbor's actions could constitute a tort of negligence or even an intentional tort, depending on the specific circumstances. By setting a trap without warnings, the neighbor breached a duty of care owed to others, especially if the trap was set in a place where people could reasonably be expected to come across it. She should forget the police and find a personal injury attorney.

1. This may not apply in the US. Certain States give owners enhanced rights to protect their properties.

2. Yes, she needs to sue. There have been cases in which thieves get hurt in someone's house and they sued and won a settlement. Home insurance pays out

3. Traps such as the one in the story are known as "Spring traps." They are illegal in all jurisdictions in the USA. There is a difference between protecting against an intruder and setting a trap for a trespasser. I know what I am talking about because I am an attorney in the US.

4. 15.47, this poster did not say his own story happened in the US

5. Me I don't subscribe to children moving from their houses to the neighbour's without the express permission of the said neighbour. Why even allow your kids roam around the neighbourhood without supervision?Why let them enter into someone else's space without the other person's knowledge. I won't set traps for kids or harm them in any way but as parents please train your kids to avoid people's spaces and be content with their play space.

1. Exactly. No be Naija where you go just dey roam about anyhow. Even for Naija now it is dangerous.

6. Hmmmmmmm Nigeria is good if only they allow it boom. This cant be tried here

7. This one na real Broad day witchcraft..

8. What a wicked neighbor

9. You can’t set up such in America
    If you do they’ll win in court both civil and criminal

1. This poster did not say his own story happened in the US

10. Children can play anyhow in Nigeria no restriction,my neighbors children are doing there own as I am typing.

11. This is why I believe in fencing. I would never purchase or rent a property where there is no firm separation between the neighbours. I love a larger land space than I do a big house, more land and greater distance between neighbours. Unfortunately, these innocent ppl learned a harsh lesson anbout the people they call neighbours and the place they now call home. Imagine doing such wickedness to children.

Nigerians who have japa fever need to research where they are resettling. Some of them are going into notorious racist jurisdictions completely innocently and meeting living hell. Those police sound racist themselves, yet an innocent family is living in that place.

12. We should respect people who don't want to
    share their space with anyone
    No be them do am,na the thing way dey inside them.

13. Some oyibo people dey act like werey

14. Your children are your responsibility. If they want to play, afford a place big enough for them or limit them to public spaces. The neighbours paid good money for their property and want to maintain their lawn and silence. They also dont want to be liablefor any injury the child suffers on their property for which these careless parents will be eager to sue . They are not asking for a portion of the children's earnings when they grow up or any thank you and they are not under any compulsion to enjoy your child's company or excesses.

Teach your children boundaries. Adults paying their way are not "wicked" for wanting their privacy.

15. It's a mean and dangerous way to enforce boundaries but parents should teach their children boundaries as well. Neighbours deserve their peace.