Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Couch Convo - Myth Or Tradition Or What?

Monday, March 04, 2024

Couch Convo - Myth Or Tradition Or What?

It is said that if you want to travel with a mortar, no one will carry it unless you put money inside it.....Can someone enlighten us on why this is so? Is there some kind of meaning attached to this or just some old myth?

21 comments:

1. Not heard this before. But do people really travel with that heavy thing??

1. I wonder why toošŸ¤·šŸ½‍♀️

2. According to the popular myth it is believed that the vehicle transporting the mortar will stop along the way. My mother sells utensils including mortar and on several occasions drivers usually ask her to put monies in the mortar before the vehicle moves. And on all those occasions she refused n absolutely nothing has ever gone wrong. A business she started while I was in secondary school n I am in my husband's house now.

1. I relocated last week and carried my mortar, I'm just hearing for the first time, nothing happened on the road.

3. Someone should please enlighten us, na here I dey today

4. My Neighbor told me about it cause she just came back from benue state..she said she wanted to come back with mortar back to lagos but they did not allow her to put it in the bus..reason is that the bus will not move if they put in there. She said she have to leave it behind then called her mum to come and take it back home..

5. This is Benue people' s believe.

1. Same in Delta State. Told them to leave the mortar at my mom's home. It was a marriage item from madam's family

6. Never heard about it,about eight years ago,on our way back from Warri,we bought mortar along the road and we didn't put money inside. Thank God for food processor,correct iyan fele is ready without koko.

7. Not heard about dis before

8. Total bunkum. Have traveled with motar just after my marriage. Two of them at that and yes, from Benue. Nothing out of the ordinary.

9. it's an old myth, believed by those in the early days, some still do but it doesn't have any effect.

10. I have heard about It. it's an old myth.
    If you are travelling with a mortar,to avoid the vehicle carrying it not to stop on the way,you put Money inside the mortar..

11. Seeing this for the first time.šŸ¤”

12. I brought one all the way from my village to Lagos and nothing happened on the way.

13. So you are expected to trek with your mortar to whereveršŸ¤£šŸ¤£šŸ¤£šŸ¤£šŸ¤£

14. ChIka (hello iya boys)4 March 2024 at 19:55

I have heard ooo
    But I no believe am .
    Think Delta does this alot ..

15. I travelled with small mortar from my hometown to America. Nothing happened. Some times I use it for small stuff like grinding nutmeg, ginger . Etc . instead of running the blender.