Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Pidgin Post - School No Sweet For Naija Again?

Thursday, May 02, 2024

Pidgin Post - School No Sweet For Naija Again?

Dem write say total of 1,989,668 people register for JAMB exams this 2024.
and out of that number 982,393 be male and 1,007,275 of the candidates be woman......
E be like say men no too like to go school again......
Inside that figure sef wen i mention upchair, plenty people fail the exam and that is plenty parents dey rejoice if their pikin pass am.....
Which person pikin or relative fail or pass? wetin e score?No lie oh!!!

65 comments:

1. I read where person score 76

1. I read 17😳, don't know if it's true or not

2. I me heard of someone that scored 4, maybe the marker gave the person 4 for showing face at the center.

3. Isn't it Computer based now?

2. I have been trying to check my cousin's result for over 24 hours now to no avail.
    Abeg does anyone know if their system crashed or something?

1. Your cousin should use the SIM card he/she used in registering for jamb to check his/her results.

2. Yes, i guess Jamb had issue with some results, we were able to see my sister's son result around 11am today and to think some of his peers saw theirs since Tuesday. He had wanted to die, thankfully, he scored 236.

3. Justyswt, she has sent twice but no response , she said her airtime was debited both times. I don't know what's going on.

4. Use the sim card used to generate the code,during registration. My friend's daughter scored 347,my nephew 287.

3. It's the rippled effect of the decay in the educational sector. 🙄🙄🙄

1. That one dey but you see these children too ehn? They are not really willing to be attentive to their academic interests anymore. Some of them, social media especially tiktok has taken over their minds. I have them as cousins, nieces and nephews so I know. This is the time we are in now. Some even call school a scam

2. Blogbrity,

Not everything is the fault of someone else! Get some exposure please.

Parents are not parenting right. And a lot of children spend 99.99% of their time on social media!

Even abroad, last year's GCE and A Level results were bad. So much so that the management in some schools have banned the use of phones during school hours.

We have people up there with scores of 200+ and even someone wrote 300+.

3. Sorry, GCSE.

4. my pastor already told us that this year jamb was going to be tough, he said student will fail cos their questions this year was going to change format. He prayed for those writing and asked them to declare their desired scores. Till Sunday i will find out if they all did well. They should understand that no money in the country.

1. If the students had failed to study before hand,the what? Bible sef talk say man must work also.

2. My dear d overall results were not good.its not a change of format this kids just didn't prepare at all,they thought it would be a walk in d park.although a few complained their systems were faulty I wonder if anything would be done about it.kids no longer read,I remember during our days,past questions and all,we practiced and read.but now,ticktock gen z tins.a small percentage did really well.congrats to them.

3. Pastor be doing prediction for church members.
      Who doesn't know that kids of nowadays don't study like we did, social media has taken over.

5. My nephew refused to tell us his result,claiming he is yet to see it🤣🤣🤣🤣

6. My niece scored 210 while my nephew refused to show his🤣🤣🤣🤣

7. People really failed o.

I thank God my son scored 310

And my adopted son scored 220.

1. Wow!! 310 is merit list straight, congratulations.

2. His name should be Brainard! Wow! Congratulations o

3. Your sons scored this and that. Period.

I wonder why we tag someone with the word adopted!

4. 18:26, the other son might be her late brother's son vabd legally adopted.
      Congrats to them

5. Congratulations to them.

8. When they spend all their time on social media, fighting, insulting and calling people out. Wanna be activists

1. Secondary school kids are involved in yahoo?

9. Women are more than men everywhere in the world so that shouldn’t even come as a surprise

1. Women are not more than men.Use the Internet and get your fact right.

2. The men have gone into Yahoo business and apprenticeship

10. People really failed,this is serious.

11. My daughter scored 207. Her choice university cutoff 180

Ps
    I commented on a chronicle post on how she was a problematic kid until I brought her to live with me. I'm putting this out here to appreciate God!

1. Oh I remember your comment. Congratulations to her and weldone.

2. Congratulations to her,more success in Jesus name.

3. Congratulations. Her choice University cutoff is different from her choice course cutoff so followup to ensure she gets admitted into an alternative course if her first choice course has a high cutoff. The chances of the cutoff being low increases if a lot of people didn't do well).

12. My daughter scored 207. Her choice university cutoff 180

Ps
    I commented on a chronicle post on how she was a problematic kid until I brought her to live with me. I'm putting this out here to appreciate God!

1. Thank God for her. May she continue to be a source of joy and pride to you

2. Congratulations to her

13. This gen z na only to press phone ,n social media and chat Dem Sabi, to read book na problem. You talk Dem go say they are reading online, deceiving them selves. We need to debate am o if technology has done more harm than good.

14. I also think they may fail some deliberately, cos even JAMB na business venture. That way they are assured of more than 2million candidates registering for JAMB next year.

1. 16:59,

Please don't be silly.

As long as jamb is the pathway to university, they will always have millions of people writing the exam.

15. My baby sister scored 297

16. Reminds me years back when our neighbor checked his brother's jamb, saw dat he had failed. He came back home and the jambite asked him of the latest😂😂. He just told him to go to the cafe and check himself

17. My son is in SS2,he tried and scored 230

18. I don’t think the blame for the dismal results is all social media. There was an energy shift or something that came on this year. I have never felt so restless and listless in my life. It took everything out of me to focus my mind and push through on my responsibilities. I really think there is an energy in the air, I do not live in Nigeria and I am an adult. I don’t have any real personal stress, and I still have not been able to pinpoint the reason for that feeling. I felt nothing like that last year or before. Whether it is a spiritual energy or biological/chemical energy. Folks will be put to the test of their endurance.

Tests can always be retaken. I know a few ppl who were poor students in their teen years who are doing well in life as adults. Parents should handle the situation with wisdom and love.

1. 18:48,

Please:

Take a break.
      Change careers.
      Move from your present location if it's possible.
      Do something you have never done(legal stuff please).
      See a therapist.

Depends on your age, you maybe experiencing hormonal changes. We underestimate the effects of these hormonal swings.

However, surveys, tests etc showed an academic decline especially amongst Gen alphas and Z's due to over reliance on their phones and social media.

Best of luck with discovering what is wrong with you. But please take it seriously and see a therapist or get yourself a coach.

Your second paragraph is supported 100%. But you can already see from some comments above that some are laughing at the failure of children young enough for them to show empathy. Shame!

I hope they'll read your comment and think about it. But most importantly, act it.

2. You're such a a sweet soul. Thanks for putting this out.❤️

3. Thanks 19:55, it very well could be hormonal. Did the study also factor in the effects of the three years of pandemic and lockdowns? They should remember how badly schooling was disrupted during the pandemic. Give the kids a break and encourage them. If they need to repeat a grade no big deal, an extra year isn’t going to kill anyone, especially at that age.

4. @ Castle, I dislike ugliness towards young ppl. Don’t dump on the kids because they didn’t do as well as their sibling, relative or friend. Everyone has their own capacity and some of the households are so damn stressful. The first thing needed to have high performing children is a great home life. Even if the child is living in the slums, a loving home will produce greatness at some point.

19. My son scored 251, am very proud of him

20. I remember how I scored 170 in my first attempt, I cried oh
    Second attempt I scored 249, I was overjoyed
    Don't really know what happened the first time as I was a very ardent reader

21. My niece scored 270, however, she's unhappy because she envisage over 300 and studied hard for it.

22. My niece scored 258 and cried her eyes out. She was hoping for 300 and above

23. Some of them dey TIK TOK G-z Baddos and G-z badies just dey play

24. Hmmmm,so we should be encouraging nonsense? We should hug them and throw parties for them for failing? I for one will not do dat.call a spade a spade.if they fail reprimand them,and a punishment should follow,like dia devices.let them know what will happen to them ,how this will affect them later.not cuddle them and begin to say things like stop being mean to young people,when are they going to grow?when are they going to be responsible for their behaviour and bad choices?are u going to live forever to kip cleaning up after them? encourage them to read, encourage them to understand that to get admitted into a good school and study their desired course,they need a good jamb score.there is time for everything.i wrote jamb once and didn't have a result BCOS my centre that year decided to demonstrate so ours was cancelled.i had to spend a year in remedial to get admission.my advice to parents and guardians is to help in preparing our children by telling them the good,the bad and d ugly ..take away phones during this time,or limit it to a certain time frame.tutor them,supervise them and pray for them.their results may not be d best,but let it be good enough to get admitted.abeg let's do more especially if Ur children are day students.good luckk

25. My daughter scored 339 and I'm so proud of her even though she doesn't need it for admission to a foreign university she still made us proud.

26. My niece scored 309.

27. If all these 3** scores are true then the kids are smarter now o. 300+ was very few during our time. Considering that they have access to internet and resources to understand concepts especially in physics, chemistry, math etc, I can understand how someone that is dedicated can score that high.