In a recent interview at a film premiere Mercy revealed that she reflected on her parenting style and realised the impact it had on her daughter.
She said
"I’ve been a single mother before I got married again. For years, I was a single mom to Michelle. Three days ago, I had to send an apology text to her for the harsh upbringing I gave her. I said
‘I am so sorry, you might think the upbringing I gave you was so hard.’ Yes, it was harsh, I can’t lie. But I raised a vessel for God.
One day, when I was calling her, she didn’t pick up my call. I had to call her friend, who later called me to call her back. When I called, I said, Michelle, I have been calling, but you didn’t pick up my call. She responded, Mommy, I’m traumatised..
I remember you hit a bucket on my head one day.
We need to start having these conversations, there are so many damaged adults around who are not properly healed from their childhood trauma. People are still stuck, and African parents, we’re too proud”
Thenation
Mercy you did the right thing by apologising to your daughter. I have not healed form the childhood trauma i experienced from my parents especially my mother. Until today I can stay a month without calling her because that bond is not there. It has really affected me in life because i don't know how to feel genuine love. Parents need to do better
ReplyDeleteMercy find a way to apologise to her for bringing in your EXs for shagging in her presence (while u thot she was too small to see or notice or REMEMBER).
DeleteWe know say Edo pipu no too send as long as money show, but this is still part of a sincere healing process.
Beautiful Mother And Daughter
ReplyDeleteMay God Help Us To Bring Up Our Kids In A Kind Way...
No Matter The Situation
So Help us God 🙏🙏
This one is just trying so hard to replicate Iyabo
ReplyDeleteMadam go and sit down
It’s the mercy of God that brings a good husband not this flaunting of your daughter up and down shoving her down peoples faces
Go and settle with your husband first wife
As you sit down for that marriage so without making peace your daughter you will carry her like billboard when you are tired that same thing you did she will experience it
It’s only mercy of God that can exempt her and give her a good husband no Dey sell am give us
The husband no go even come from you or all these gbazagbaza queen show show you Dey do
Always in competition with those you smile with
Iyabo pikin don marry now you want same
Everybody leg is different
Enter house
Protect that child from evil eye
You echoed my thoughts with your first sentence only.....I could be a wrong interpretation sha.....This is a healthy way to handle this....I believe she now wants to be her daughter's friends...That's all right....
Delete100/100, take your flowers🌷
DeleteWhy so much bitterness on top someone that doesn't even know you exist? Hian
DeletePeople can look over their life and see their wrongs and it takes a big person to admit their shortcomings. Even if it inspired by seeing other parent and child relationships. Let us practice grace and be vessels of goodness.
DeleteNawaoh...
DeleteI knew that competition would set in after that Priscy's marriage. Especially when her daughter came down from Canada. See eh... prayer is one thing but mental health is another. I hope she truly heals. Even Mercy herself needs to heal. She is quite a toxic woman.
DeleteI hope others can see and learn that there is more to life than fame, money, power or followers. Start by ridding yourself of trauma and breaking generational patterns first.
OK ma'am 🙄🙄🙄
ReplyDeleteHmmm. This message of hers can be interpreted in different ways.
ReplyDeleteSee this ur comment ba, E carry weight. I Cant speak for others but its like Mercy raised her daughter in a home where there was only STEADY PARENT.
DeleteI place this emphasis because its too looooong that we disparage females, most especially the long cloth used to generalise all female beevees here. See ehn there are so many single mothers doing what they have to do to survive regardless of the circumstances they find themselves.
Case in point is Tiwa who was married, then got seperated abi divorced, then publishing her s@x tape.
Please single mothers try your best to SHIELD your kid/s particularly when you want to move on from an unfavourable situationship!!
Shield them from your seduction moves to get them a stepdad, shield them from your l&ve m@king sessions with strangers (maybe bcos gardenplace dey overscratch you or u just wan please him, make he stay with you).
Let them have a joyfull childhood, then when they hit LATE teens, gradually dey advise them of the reality of life.
Within my small experience, i noted that People like Mercy hardly want their offsprings to turn out like them. And if that is the case here, be INTENTIONAL&SINCERE about it. Every child knows when their parent mean well and they also know when their parent chase clout with unhealthy negative competition!
Honestly that stability of childhood and controlling your emotions even as a child, regardless of gender, is very very very very very MPORTANT.
If you have missed that stage, just discuss adult to adult in a safe non judgemental space.
That aside, Mercy, you KNEW this will go viral. I hope you are ready?
There are no perfect parents! Just be intentional in nurturing and providing for your kids. Discipline them in love, not in anger. Get them involved in your daily life. Use your mouth to bless their destiny, never cause them. Talk to them and talk with them. Just do your best and leave the rest.
ReplyDeletenever curse
DeleteMay God help us the new generation parents to bridge the gap/ balance parenting.
ReplyDeleteTaking from the old and blending the new.
Cos most Genz parents in a bit not to repeat their parents mistakes, have also allowed their children to become ba.dly behaved, no character, respect or discipline.
Iyabo wanna be.🥱🥱🥱
ReplyDeleteIt's like she just suddenly acquired her daughter, she's now choking the social media with the 'my daughter' . Go and rest jare, pricilla and your daughter no carry the same head come this world, when you were stealing your friends husbands, from Gentry to adeoti you didn't remember you had a daughter.
ReplyDeleteThank you! So embarrassing as the man has children her daughter's age who would be side-eyeing her.
DeleteDo you know if suitors have come and once his parents hear the mother's name, they discourage him from going there? Her karma is about to start if she doesn't mend her ways.
Mercy when na her friends rich partners she dey follow, from 100level up till now. Advertise your daughter well. Go and ask for forgiveness from your friends.
ReplyDeleteMost Nigerian parents are on this table, some will never even apologize.
ReplyDeleteI saw a video of your daughter singing in church. He who has the Son, has eternal life. 1 John 5:12
ReplyDeleteYou have done well, it was all from a place of love. She'll realize the full extent when she becomes a mother to a girl child.
Please leave love out of it. It is from a place of ignorance and lack of control. I suffered childhood trauma from my mother. All kinds and it made me an empath. I have my daughters now and vowed never replicate that with them. It didn’t stop me from disciplining them and we have maintained our bonds. Having kids didn’t make me appreciate my mother more, it rather made me despise her more especially as she attempts to inflict trauma on my kids too . Off course that can never happen under my watch, I made it clear to her. Home should be sanctuary for both adults and children living it. How do you feel when a partner made home toxic and harsh? Do you strive? Do you guys check the mental heath of the kids you are raising? Or are you just training them like a dog to suit the Society like a step ford wife. A lot of parents are just too lazy to raise their kids. They don’t know anything else beside big rod and curse words.
DeleteBest wishes Hajia Minnah
ReplyDeleteOk ooo
ReplyDeleteI see her daughter as a reserved well behaved child cef,but who knows
ReplyDeleteYou guys should take it easy with Mercy, the husband choose to marry a second wife. He should not be left out of the blame.
ReplyDeletePeople comparing her to Iyabo are just wicked souls.
Abeg shift! Pointless defence
Delete22:41, who you be wey I go shift?
DeleteYou heat a bucket on her head? This is too harsh, why not flog her instead.?